Buying Advice Need adivce here, which model is the best!

TSjhan_ong
post Aug 15 2007, 05:58 PM, updated 19y ago

44 posts

icon_question.gif

i am newbie in digital camera. currently thinking to buy my first digital camera.

so need some professional advice here to choose a good quality digital camera.

thank for those sparing your time for giving advice.

do appreciate... thank

This post has been edited by jhan_ong: Aug 15 2007, 06:01 PM
fantagero
post Aug 15 2007, 06:06 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

i'm not expert in this field.. at least state ur BUDGET and ur usage...

TSjhan_ong
post Aug 15 2007, 06:18 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 15 2007, 06:06 PM)
i'm not expert in this field.. at least state ur BUDGET and ur usage...
My budget is around RM1500

orenzai
post Aug 15 2007, 06:31 PM

3,114 posts

hm...i think this should be in trading section?
aceejay
post Aug 15 2007, 06:46 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

Rm1500 can choose many type of digi cam that u wanted..
a pro-sumer camera also can put up for grab on ur list..

this are the list i think u shud do some servey..
1. Nikon P5000
2. Canon S5 IS

this are a good model on ur budget..there's alot more models but i didnt see the quality is good..unless u wanna go for DSLR cam ..
TSjhan_ong
post Aug 15 2007, 08:18 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(aceejay @ Aug 15 2007, 06:46 PM)
Rm1500 can choose many type of digi cam that u wanted..
a pro-sumer camera also can put up for grab on ur list..

this are the list i think u shud do some servey..
1. Nikon P5000
2. Canon S5 IS

this are a good model on ur budget..there's alot more models but i didnt see the quality is good..unless u wanna go for DSLR cam ..
thank for your suggestion
but as i know that Nikon Capturing speed is very slow, is that true ?
i went to a shop and the promotor show me the quality of Nikon Coolpix S10, seem not bad the quality
altot the model is a little bit old.

wat do you think ?

sinister
post Aug 15 2007, 09:12 PM

963 posts

go to www.dpreview.com and read abt d camera review...
SUSdgrebel
post Aug 15 2007, 09:17 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

go get 2nd hand dslr... wise choice, wont regret!
post Aug 15 2007, 09:30 PM

736 posts

For RM1.5k, you can go for the Pana FZ-8
aceejay
post Aug 15 2007, 09:34 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

im not sure bout the coolpix series..but if u wanna grab nikon digital cam .. then P5000 is the answer .. the quality are 10mpx quite same as SLR cam and u just carried around ur pocket instead carrying side bag with u hehe

check this out http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/502620
nikon P5000 quality that has been taken from this dude
really impressive for a digi cam thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aceejay: Aug 15 2007, 09:42 PM
calvin_gsc
post Aug 15 2007, 10:01 PM

10,261 posts

What about the Fujifilm Finepix F31d.
TSjhan_ong
post Aug 16 2007, 09:25 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(aceejay @ Aug 15 2007, 09:34 PM)
im not sure bout the coolpix series..but if u wanna grab nikon digital cam .. then P5000 is the answer .. the quality are 10mpx quite same as SLR cam and u just carried around ur pocket instead carrying side bag with u hehe

hm ... i agree with you, the quality of the images really look great to me. sharp and clear.

i think i have the decision in my mind.
anyway thank for everyone who trying to help me !!!!

thank a million for your kindness laugh.gif
yawhong
post Aug 16 2007, 05:12 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

1. fujifilm f31fd
2. fujifilm f50fd
3. panasonic lumix lx2

personally i own f31fd
zahar
post Aug 20 2007, 02:11 PM

38 posts

Ricoh R6. Sleeper hit camera.
cutun1217
post Aug 21 2007, 08:50 PM

200 posts

what about lumix series? im interested to get one, but not sure waht model is the best?
my budget is around rm1000 only biggrin.gif
xiong91
post Aug 21 2007, 10:42 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

grab Sony Cybershot slim series lah..forgot model name.. veri hot one..gt artist Lin Yu Zhong dai yan..i think not bad lah...at least gt touch screen and high megapixel..
onnchai
post Aug 22 2007, 01:40 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(aceejay @ Aug 15 2007, 09:34 PM)

The pics arent so impressive to me. Noise is high, but then again i shouldnt be complaining about noise as it is compact cam, not slr. The thing is, this kind of pics, any cam also can take. To look better all you need is some editing which i believe the user did.

Tryout the panasonic FZ series, maybe 5 or 8 or 10 ( i dun really follow the model), but found they can take satisfaction pic. If you opt for prosumer la. Not sure about compact ones.

Another option would be Fujifilm S series..maybe 5000, 5500 or 6000 (again, i dun follow the model, so not sure if i listed the model correctly). Fuji has been specializing in film, and because of that expertise and knowledge, they are able to come out with great technology thro finetuning ISO, sensor, optical, etc. Downside is, everything is sharp till you wont get swallow depth of field. Good side is, you can capture in RAW instead of JPEG.

For super sharp pic, try out Olympus. With your budget of 1.5K, any Olympus around that price range will never go wrong. Optically nice and good features with underwater capability in few models. But dun expect optically good from those underwater capability (so called all weather)

Canon and Nikon, no need to say as they are optically superb. But still get high noise at higher ISO. Great features, esp Canon with movie mode (plus stereo sound recording). Not sure if can get S5IS with 1.5K, maybe just S3IS.

If you cant decide on these features, just think simple. You need additional batteries (AA) or longer battery life (the manufacturer made). Storage card, opt for those cam with SD as they are cheap. Hahaha. Good luck

0.0192sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:39 PM