Medical card premium increased

SUSAllnGap
post Oct 29 2020, 10:45 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(Hardcore Leveling Warrior @ Oct 29 2020, 10:26 AM)
my biggest regret is spending money on takaful/insurance.

i came from a very healthy family, low risk lifestyle, but paid so much for medical card which every 5 years will increase. plus the ILP is outright scam. i will get better return if i invest the money somewhere else.

the bonus part is the agent ran away and ask me to settle with his previous supervisor.

now i'm advocating ppl to not get medical card + ILP, enough with life/hibah takaful.
you buy insurance for old age.

medical fees inflation is about 7% a year.
so it's best to buy it when you're young so that it can pay off by itself

but dont get involved into stupid investment linked that BS.
you probably wont make more than 7% a year
SUSAllnGap
post Oct 29 2020, 03:04 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(hahakat88 @ Oct 29 2020, 12:06 PM)
I used to think this way,  but this is another alternative thinking, at 30 years old ----->

a 150medical + 150 investment = total RM300 per month

don't count the first 150 because it's supposed to be "utilized"

"invest" at 10% compounding annually over 35 years, u get 518K

at 120th months (40 years old, 10 years later) your own investment portfolio value is RM30kish

if you get sick or get into motor accident, stay private 1 week, use 15k? half of your investment gone. worse, if major operation.

sure, there are public hospital and sometimes they are better in terms of equipment, but can you wait the queue? if motor tumbang, now covid time go in, feeling worry? family members come to take care or visit still need to rampas parking. Penang GH situation.

remember, at 10th years, u paid a total 300 X 120 = 36k premium, half of it is in your investment. and you already get to utilize rm500k minimum medical or even more if u are young, I don't know

outside agent will use second year kena accident to scare you.. but I think my example is moderate..

at 150 per month, "invest in yourself" in out in out bursa how many supermx only can cover 1 time sick ? insurance is not to earn money leh.. the Investment link policy here is also not for earning, is to cover shortfall or times when policy increase price like TS mentioned.

just my opinion. tq bro
edit : my 518k is derived from financial calculator app or online webpage, you may find it to calculate..
Don't increase investment portion at all.

Medical inflation is about 7-15% per annum
Whatever investment can't guarantee you more figure forever. Let alone interest rate is going lower and lower thus safe investment like bond yields is getting lower.
Even the best UT performance probably 5% for a few years then will go negative region. Balance out 10year performance probably around 20-30%.

There's no such thing as 10% compounded because you'll be hit with economic downturn like now, wiping off more than half of the gains

You cannot make more money via investment as compared to medical inflation
These plans are meant for insurance companies to earn more commissions for the investments you've done.

Again I emphasize this. Investment go invest yourself.

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Oct 29 2020, 03:05 PM

0.0126sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:14 AM