Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 Official V3 Thread], It's what computers have become

yaosiang
post Oct 21 2007, 09:13 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Oct 20 2007, 11:16 PM)
My set has been restarting out of no reason lately. Even when I leave it idle. Any suggestions? My firmware is 12.0.014. I didn't not install anything. So, can consider it pretty 'clean' smile.gif

EDIT : typo
Since You Did Not Install Anything And It's Pretty 'Clean', Why Not Reflash Your Current Firmware With Nokia Software Updater? tongue.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 21 2007, 10:02 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Oct 21 2007, 04:01 PM)
You mean hard reset and reinstall the firmware?
Yes.. Choose Either One.. But I Would Prefer The Latter...
yaosiang
post Oct 21 2007, 11:55 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Oct 21 2007, 11:31 PM)
When i'm making the update for firmware version... If someone calling me... Iz tat will b affect it?
Well, Before It Flashes The Firmware, Your Phone Will Reboot.. So Don't Worry About Incoming Calls Or SMS As You Will Never Get To Receive Them.. During The Download Of The Firmware, Feel Free To Play Around With The Phone, Receive Calls Or Type SMS.. Just Stop Doing So When The Download Is Almost Done.. That's Where The Flashing Process Will Start.. tongue.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 23 2007, 09:59 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Oct 22 2007, 11:17 PM)
[attachmentid=315929]

I kena dis...  doh.gif
Well, This Is Nothing Related To The Error On The Screenshot, But Next Time, Select Malaysia Only Instead Of The Whole Asia Maps.. smile.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 24 2007, 11:29 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(kvys2000 @ Oct 23 2007, 07:11 PM)
no one has answered my qs again.. haha.. does anyone know how to silent the camera shutter sound? hehe
In Landscape Mode, Just Use Your Fingers To Cover The Speakers.. Easy And Effective.. I Always Do That.. smile.gif

QUOTE(Raja Utara @ Oct 24 2007, 11:07 AM)
guys..i'm facing a problem here. I usually use my N95 to connect to the web. I'll use the USB port of course. But last night something weird happened. Whenever I connect my N95 via USB it doesnt detect anything, furthermore a message pops up "Power Surge on Hub Port. A USB device has exceeded the power limit of its hub port"
Mine is AP. Firmware is V 11.0.026  blush.gif
Help me fix this. How to upgrade firmware again? If I go to Nokia Service Centre will it void my warranty? Mine is under COMSAT....please help..
Try To Reboot Your Phone And Try Different USB Ports....
To Update Your Firmware, Download Nokia Software Updater.. Just Follow The Wizard.. It's Simple..
You Can Update Your Firmware At Nokia Service Centre But You Will Be Charged RM 30.00 (If I Can Remember Well).. Alternatively, You Can Send Your Phone To "COMSAT" And Ask If They Do Give Their Customers Free Firmware Update (They Should)...

As For The Warranty Issues, I'm Not Very Sure..
yaosiang
post Oct 24 2007, 11:45 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(Raja Utara @ Oct 24 2007, 11:42 AM)
do u download the nokia software updater via phone? how?
Nope.. You Need To Download And Install It Into Your PC...

Nokia Software Updater Can Be Found At:
http://europe.nokia.com/A4579163
yaosiang
post Oct 26 2007, 10:36 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(elfyong @ Oct 26 2007, 06:03 PM)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
How can I know how long I've been talking using my N95... it seems like no call time counter ler...
To Show It During A Call,
Menu -> Tools -> Settings -> Phone -> Call -> Show Call Duration -> Yes

To Show It After A Call,
Menu -> Tools -> Settings -> Phone -> Call -> Summary After Call -> Yes

I Guess This Is What You Wanted, Right? smile.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 27 2007, 08:10 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(dinodegil @ Oct 27 2007, 02:21 AM)
any idea where i can download a nice theme for my N95  whistling.gif

Added on October 27, 2007, 2:43 ami install theme into my Phone...but appear the msg "Certificate Expired!"..

What The problem This?
For "Certificate Expired!" Error, Just Go To Settings And Change The Date Of Your N95 To Year 2006.. Install, Then Change It Back To 2007.. That Will Do.. smile.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 27 2007, 09:37 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Oct 27 2007, 06:59 PM)
Anyone can tell me, N95 can install the ori dictionary or not?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
You Mean The Dictionary That Comes With The N95?

QUOTE(kaylong @ Oct 27 2007, 08:35 PM)
haih..
later i try to reinstall the firmware back...
aiyak

p/s: did the memory card have to remove during the upgrading firmware process
I Don't Remove My Memory Card When I Update Firmware.. It's Up To You Actually As The Flashing Process Will Not Do Anything To Your Memory Card.. smile.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 28 2007, 02:31 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Oct 28 2007, 04:18 AM)
Yups... The ori one...  nod.gif
QUOTE(oHkereD @ Oct 28 2007, 01:19 PM)
yea, where can we get the database? it's not in the phone after formatting it, or flash. weirdo.
Here You Go.. http://www.nokia-asia.com/A4429895
It's Compatible With N93i Too As Far As I Have Tested.. tongue.gif
yaosiang
post Oct 31 2007, 12:08 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(WaytoDawn @ Oct 29 2007, 03:15 PM)
In that case, what maps do you suggest is the best at the moment? User-friendly obviously. Cause it REALLY gets on my nerves everytime nokia maps gives me ZERO results almost evertime i search for something. I type in the keywords, then it almost immediately gives me zero results. Its like its too lazy to even search for anything!
If Searching For A Location Or Road Is Very Important For You, Then You Should Try Asia Maps.. It's Very Hardworking To Search... laugh.gif But The Navigation Part Is Not That Nice Compared To Nokia Maps And MapKing... For MapKing With Malaysia Maps, Don't Know Why It Cannot Search Road Names.. POIs Is Fine Though...
yaosiang
post Oct 31 2007, 08:15 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(WaytoDawn @ Oct 31 2007, 02:32 PM)
Haha, Asia Maps...I usually use it, but the fact is, it is now expired. I heard of a trick to get it back. What is it again? I need to use the maps in Hong Kong, not Malaysia.
Ah, I Have Posted In This Thread Before.. I Don't Wish To Repeat Myself For The Third Time... sad.gif
yaosiang
post Nov 1 2007, 11:35 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Oct 31 2007, 10:49 PM)
I luk on Nokia Website is say 2GB is the max adi...  rclxub.gif
It Has Been Verified By Some Reliable Websites That N95 And N76 Can Support Up To 8GB... smile.gif Google It If You Want To See The Screenshots..

QUOTE(ape @ Oct 31 2007, 11:02 PM)
pls tell 1 more time lah, bro. i flip through n95 thread ver. 1 & 2 oso cant find yr post.
Go Into Your Memory Card, Look For A Folder That Starts With 2000... Enter The Folder And You Should See 2 Files.. One Is LOAD.INI And The Other Is NAVFONE.EXP... Delete Them (You Might Want To Save It Somewhere In Case Anything Goes Wrong Later..)... The Next Time You Enter Asia Maps, They Will Prompt You To Choose Which City To Activate (Exact Same Screen Like What You See After You Flash Your Phone To The Latest Firmware)... After That You Will Be Able To Load The Map And Use It With Voice Navigation... So The Next Time You Want To Change Maps, Just Repeat The Steps Above..

QUOTE(paulmassang @ Oct 31 2007, 11:49 PM)
Having problem with my N95. I don't see my missed calls, received calls or dialled calls up to 20 numbers as stated in the specs. Sometimes I just see 5 or 6 numbers. And this will disappear after a few days.

I don't know why my call history disapears? Anyone having this problem?
Just A Question, Did You Swap Your SIM Card? As Far As I Know, The Call Logs Will Be Erased Whenever You Swap SIM Cards... smile.gif
yaosiang
post Nov 4 2007, 12:32 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Nov 3 2007, 11:32 PM)
anyone using the new nokiamaps?
it seems that they removed the feature known as 'tracking' after calculating route. Now I am only able to select 1)Show on Map, 2)Navigation and 3) Simulation. Used to be able to do this with the old version whereby the map will chart a blue route for me and the gps will track my movement. The only thing missing is the voice navigation.

Anyone managed to find this feature in the new Nokia Maps?

Thanx
It's Confirmed That The Tracking Feature Is Not Available In The New Nokia Maps.. smile.gif
yaosiang
post Nov 4 2007, 02:29 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(yaosiang @ Nov 1 2007, 11:35 AM)
Go Into Your Memory Card, Look For A Folder That Starts With 2000... Enter The Folder And You Should See 2 Files.. One Is LOAD.INI And The Other Is NAVFONE.EXP... Delete Them (You Might Want To Save It Somewhere In Case Anything Goes Wrong Later..)... The Next Time You Enter Asia Maps, They Will Prompt You To Choose Which City To Activate (Exact Same Screen Like What You See After You Flash Your Phone To The Latest Firmware)... After That You Will Be Able To Load The Map And Use It With Voice Navigation... So The Next Time You Want To Change Maps, Just Repeat The Steps Above..
There's A Mistake There.. It's Supposed To Be Phone Memory Instead Of The Memory Card... No One Notice That? doh.gif
yaosiang
post Nov 6 2007, 01:56 PM

2,494 posts

Step-By-Step Guide To Install MapKing 2007 On Nokia N95 For Noobs
Written by yaosiang

1) Go To http://www2.mapking.com/en/s60/s60_Dowload_Eng.htm

2) Download MapKing2007_S60 Version (MapKing Application) And Malaysia(S60 English) (MapKing Maps)

3) Open The 2 Downloaded Files, And Click Unzip

4) Connect Your N95 To Your Computer Via USB And Select Mass Storage

5) Go To My Computer, Then Navigate To C:\Mapking\Download\MapKing2007_S60\SD, You Should See A Folder And A File...

6) Copy Both The Folder And The File To Your Memory Card...

7) Now Navigate To C:\Mapking\Download\Malaysia_S60_Eng\SD\MapKing\Maps And Copy The Folder To Memory Card\MapKing\Maps

8) Disconnect The N95 From Your Computer By Selecting Safety Remove From The Taskbar..

9) On Your N95, Go To Menu -> Tools -> File Mgr. -> Memory Card -> MapKing2007_S60.sis

10) Select Yes And Follow The Instruction On The Screen To Install MapKing 2007 Into Your N95...

11) After The Installation Is Completed, Go To Menu -> Applications -> MapKing 2007...

12) MapKing 2007 Will Notify You Have 3 Days Left For The Trial.. Select Cancel
Screenshot At http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/4918/screenshot0023vm5.jpg

13) Enjoy Using Your New MapKing 2007 smile.gif

After 3 Days...
Screenshot At http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/1709/sc...shot0016ru8.jpg
You Will See This Message.. And Not Able To Use MapKing 2007...

To Reset The Trial Period, Simply Access To Your Memory Card Either With Your Computer, Y-Browser Or FExplorer.. Delete The File Named map4321pi.dat Under Memory Card/System
Screenshot At http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/3406/sc...0017copyhg9.jpg
yaosiang
post Nov 7 2007, 10:06 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Nov 7 2007, 12:01 PM)
O_O""""" my n95 contacts names are all backwards!!! what is this....

I tried to change the last name , 1st name in settings but it doesn't change anything...
Hmm... I Just Tested It With My N95.. I Can Choose Either To Display:

Perhaps There's Something Wrong With Your Phone? BTW, My Firmware Is V 12.0.014...

QUOTE(saiya @ Nov 7 2007, 12:21 PM)
Wow.. this is cool bro.. TS can u put this info at 1st page.. also all the compiled info and such to page 1.. hehe
Thanks.. I Do Hope My Effort Will Not Go To Waste And People Will Make Use Of It.. smile.gif

QUOTE(SKtan @ Nov 7 2007, 02:21 PM)
ANY ONE WHERE WHERE CAN DOWNLOAD MALAYSIA MAP BUT NO NEED TO PAY ONE ???

i buy my n95 from over sea no come with malaysia map...i go nokia center ask for update but have to pay  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

if anyone know plsss teach me~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

can pm me?
MapKing Is "Free".. Check The Guide That I Have Written A Few Pages Back.. And Please Do Not Use Cap Lock..

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Nov 7 2007, 04:28 PM)
yea... was using w900i  cool.gif

I was kinda dissappointed when N95 music can't win over my love for w900i  cry.gif
The hissing sound is the spoiler for my N95... if not it will be the best phone i've ever had
I Just Tried And Tested It Thoroughly With My N95.. My Unit Here Doesn't Have Such Problem.. The Sound Output On The Headphone (Original Nokia Headphone) Is Just Like Those From MP3 Players.. Even With Keypad Tone Set To Level 3, There's No Hissing Sound Or Whatsoever When I Browse Through The Menu.. To Further Confirm It, I Tested It With My Apple iPhone Headphone.. Again, No Hissing Sound... Although N95 Recognize The Headphone From Apple iPhone As TV-Output Cable... Any Other Users Here With Hissing Sound? Firmware V 12.0.014 Here..
yaosiang
post Nov 8 2007, 09:29 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Nov 7 2007, 10:44 PM)
The hissing sound is something like a radio waves that you can hear
For example , turning on your Pc's speaker to a high volume and try to hear it closely , there will be a very mile hissing-like sound.

It happens when i plug my earphones , E2G , Sony HPM-80 and even the nokia earphones when listening to the music.

http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1170056

This are some of the people that experiences the same problem as me.
Is this most probably hardware problem?

Besides when im using the nokia software update it says that my phone's firmware is the latest... v12.0.013 when it should be 014
I Just Tested It With The Nokia Original Earphones And My Desktop Speaker.. No Hissing Sound (Even If There's, It's Not Audible To Me At 90% Volume Level).. And I'm Quite Sure My N95 Does Not Have This Issue.. wink.gif

There Are Few Other Issues Too.. Example..
Click Here
Like You Said, It's Some Of The People.. Not All.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yaosiang: Nov 8 2007, 09:40 AM
yaosiang
post Nov 11 2007, 09:03 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(freyria182 @ Nov 11 2007, 08:54 AM)
Hi,im having problem deleting themes for my n95..can i know how 2 delete it?
Tools -> Application Manager, There's Where You Delete Your Themes.. smile.gif
yaosiang
post Nov 15 2007, 09:45 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(chyuan @ Nov 15 2007, 09:43 PM)
Is it N95 8GB has also the accelerometer function?
Yes.. N95 8GB Has It Too... smile.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0403sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:19 AM