Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 Official V3 Thread], It's what computers have become

ViRaViRa
post Sep 6 2007, 05:44 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(ei8ht @ Sep 6 2007, 05:41 PM)
Anyone knows what is the NSS product code for N95 Malaysia?
There is no specific firmware for Malaysia.

Use APAC product code if you wanted chinese language support. The code is 0536085

Added on September 6, 2007, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(ei8ht @ Sep 6 2007, 05:41 PM)
Anyone knows what is the NSS product code for N95 Malaysia?
How to check the product code from the phone? *#???
Look for the code under the battery compartment. Or best is to use NSS & press read

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Sep 6 2007, 05:45 PM
ViRaViRa
post Sep 6 2007, 08:09 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Sep 6 2007, 07:49 PM)
everybody is waiting n95 8GB...
if the price not really different sure i will get another 1
I heard that it fully depends on internal memory & does not have memory card slot.
Afraid that the storage will give problem like N91
ViRaViRa
post Sep 7 2007, 12:39 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Sep 7 2007, 12:26 PM)
can anyone tells me the main difference between N95 & N95 8gb? I plan to get one N95..zitron..how much now?

Or u guys I should wait until W960i come out..
Wait wait....the longer the better nod.gif

At least wait till N95 8GB is released. Then you can see huge fall in N95 normal price...
ViRaViRa
post Sep 7 2007, 04:25 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 7 2007, 03:38 PM)
I just got my AP set final choice N95 yesterday. If you want an honest answer, I don't think the N95 is that grand after all or maybe I am still not used to all the features/customization available as yet despite being an ex-7610 user.

I have a few questions/doubts which I hope you N95 experts can help me with:

1. 6630 can customize the active display on whether we want it to be on top, middle or bottom. Can we do the same on N95?

2. I had birthdays on my contacts but it doesnt show up in active display. Do I need to install something extra?

3. I read the guide on changing the fonts but can't get it working right even I had it place under my memory card \resource\fonts. Anyone knows how or can guide me?

4. How do I make my Internet connection to default to Maxis 3G instead of selecting it everytime?

Thanks a lot for the great help smile.gif
1. 6630? You mean the icons when the phone is at standby? Huh, 6630 have this function? rclxub.gif

2. Some occasions may show up few days earlier but some will only show on that particular day.

3. AFAIK, it's not possible to change the font if you are using chinese supported firmware. Not sure true or not. Someone ws telling in N70 discussion thread long long time ago. sweat.gif
Well, you may give another try. Here is a site where they tell you exactly on how to change the font...

4. you have to change the setting, from 'ask for connection' to your preferred one.

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 7 2007, 04:03 PM)
It has internal memory and memory card up to 2GB if I'm not mistaken.
Nop. N95 8GB does not have external memory slot. It's only 8GB internal memory

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Sep 7 2007, 04:28 PM
ViRaViRa
post Sep 7 2007, 04:46 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 7 2007, 04:38 PM)
Thanks ViRaViRa biggrin.gif

1. Sorry, was a typo. I was referring to Nokia 6300 and yes, we can specify which part of the screen to have the icons.

2. Is it by default or I have to enable? I tried setting a birthday reminder but it doesn't show up. I thought it's suppose to integrate from the address book sad.gif

3. I tried that site but it doesn't work. I had all the fonts in my memory card but after restarting, it's still the same font. Anyone else tried doing it with success? Maybe I missed out something.

4. Where can I find the "ask for connection"? I'm totally lost, lol.
1. N95 is not able to do that sweat.gif

2. U mean the bday that you set at the contact? That will not show up. Another bug for Symbian sweat.gif
You have to set it again separately in your calendar

4. Once you connect to your browser, press option > settings > access point & you will be able to change it there.
ViRaViRa
post Sep 7 2007, 04:57 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 7 2007, 04:53 PM)
I can't believe a RM2000+ phone can't even put birthday reminders on the active display. If I remember correctly, 6300 is able to do so. This is really disappointing sad.gif

Did you upgrade your firmware to v12? Any improvements?
Can put bday reminders. It's only that the bday that you set in your contacts are not shown. You have to set it in calendar in order for it to show...

V12 has the 3.5G icon shown when you are at HSDPA area + got assisted GPS (AGPS) thing. smile.gif
ViRaViRa
post Sep 7 2007, 07:36 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(yaosiang @ Sep 7 2007, 07:05 PM)
Well, I Think There's 1 Reason Why The Birthday Is Not Working As What You Guys Expected... First Of All, I Am Not Sure Whether This Applies To Windows As Well... But Everytime When I Sync My N95 With iSync (Mac OS X), iCal With Somehow Work With Address Book To Automatically Create Entries For Those Contacts With Birthday... So, There Will Be Duplicated Entries If Both Calender And Contacts Showing The Same Thing.. Actually It's Not Only The N95, It's The Same Case For My N90 Too.. So I Assume All With Symbian OS Work This Way?  unsure.gif
Yup, all symbian phone (Nokia) that have the bday entry option have this problem. Not sure abt Symbian UIQ from SE.

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 7 2007, 07:29 PM)
Hmm, that's weird and I've just updated to v12. Maybe it'll work? I don't know, lol.

Anyway, it's disappointing cos a phone of this price doesn't even have such features. If Symbian OS can't do all these, it wouldn't make a difference with the non-Symbian phones. Worse still, a Nokia 6300 has such features but our top model N95 doesn't sad.gif
Nop, the contact thing will not change at all, even at V12.

ViRaViRa
post Sep 7 2007, 11:08 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(yaosiang @ Sep 7 2007, 10:31 PM)
But The Contacts Search Option Is Fixed In V12...  smile.gif
hmm.gif I mentioned abt the birthday thing in contact laugh.gif

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 7 2007, 10:54 PM)
I agree that, but just too bad, the sound can't be disabled. sad.gif
Yeah, can't disable even if the phone in silent mode.
ViRaViRa
post Sep 8 2007, 11:26 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Sep 8 2007, 08:53 AM)
hey , my dictionary says that some word database not found ask me to reinstall . where do i reinstall it ? i cant seem to find it in the nokia website.
The dictionary is preinstalled for N95. Maybe you can go to other 3rd edition phones like N73, N93 from nokia website etc to get it...

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 8 2007, 11:13 AM)
Thanks everyone smile.gif Ok, the trick now would be - anyone knows what software I can download so that it will publish all my birthday in contacts into calendar?
No software like that at the moment. sweat.gif
ViRaViRa
post Sep 8 2007, 11:35 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Sep 8 2007, 11:22 PM)
I wonder why some ppl gps can connect withing 30seconds but some others like mine have to use 10minutes++ to connect it?? Im also on the newest firmware with AGPS too..
It depends on your connectivity as well if you are using AGPS. BTW, is your AGPS enabled?

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 8 2007, 11:23 PM)
I've never used GPS as yet but maybe you're using GPRS instead of 3G?

Added on September 8, 2007, 11:24 pmBtw, is the E series suppose to be higher spec compared to the N series?
Some N-Series have lower specs than E-Series. Some have better specs. It depends on the phone.
Anyway, N-Series are supposed to have better specs in multimedia, camera, music etc & E-Series shd have better specs in business features, blackberry & connectivity...
ViRaViRa
post Sep 8 2007, 11:47 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(qintian @ Sep 8 2007, 11:44 PM)
any 1? helping me?? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  chinese dictionary software!!
I think you should refer to Minde. He was having the same problem too. I suggest him to download N73 dictionary but u said that it didnt work.

Added on September 8, 2007, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(shanelai @ Sep 8 2007, 11:47 PM)
Ya, by default it is already enabled.. BTW, im not connect using gprs or 3gas it cost me $$. I just use it as foc without any network connection..
And when i checked the satelite info, there is 4 or 5 signal.. But still take long time to catch the GPS
if your AGPS is enabled & your server is set properly. It should connect to your network & cost some $$.

I think when you connect to your GPS, you should see whether the wap/3G connection thing appears below your signal bar or not. Second option is to check balance before & after using GPS (if using prepaid)....

If your credit is not deducted, it means you are not using AGPS & it will take much more longer to lock satellites.

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Sep 8 2007, 11:52 PM
ViRaViRa
post Sep 9 2007, 12:11 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Sep 8 2007, 11:57 PM)
Oh in orther word, using agps to connect gps is cost money?? I tot it is free.. Bcoz im currently in uk and im not going to use any network usage s it cost 7times compare to RM.. Thats the problem..
Anyway, how much doesit cost to ock the satelite using agps?? Can we disconnect the connection from network provider after we lock onto the satelite??
It takes abt RM 0.06-0.07 to lock satellite. I dont think you can disable it. Not sure though. Maybe after locking satellite, you can go & disable AGPS. Don't know it works or not...
ViRaViRa
post Sep 9 2007, 02:02 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 9 2007, 01:33 AM)
I think u are not so smart buyer..  after buying the phone with RM2K++  and complaint about the small little thinggy..  u should spend ur money on a SE phone indeed since u prefer them..  and they don't even hang....

those small little function you require.. I serious think u should sell ur N95 and get a PDA...  at the first place actually you should already buy a PDA phone instead of Nokia..

we spend much more than a "normal" phone here.. the reason is obvious..  N95 with GPS function and a 5MP camera..  if you don't need this two thing.. which I read u don't even use the GPS, you should save half of your money to go for a N73 or even a K810i which u prefer more..  it never hang.. SE.. 

To me.. those extra application can install in Symbian are extremely important and I don't think a Java Enable phone can do so..  I having NES/SNES emulator that run on my phone which support easily more than few thousand of games and turn my phone to be a portable gaming mechine to me..    I do install extra Video player on my phone becoz my phone now support divX file which the Original real software doens't support....  I also use my phone to record VGA resolution video which give me a very good playback when I having training sometime..  not those silly 3gp QVGA 15 frame pre second video....  I use my phone as a portable Instant Messanger and again I do install extra application on it..  redundant?? why I do so?? simply becoz the original IM doens't support Wi-Fi..  I play IM on my phone just through Wifi so I don't have to pay anything extra...  I also turn my phone become a portable Dictionary.. A dictionary which give me more words than a 3 inches thick conventional dictionary...  Beside that.. when there is no laptop with me.. just with wifi.. I can do tone and tone of things with my phone..  nokia .. which having one of the best mobile internet browser in the market now...  and etc etc etc... 

just the first 2-3 points already make me feel all my single cent worth spending on this phone... 

conclusion..  U really shouldn't buy an N95 or even a Nokia phone maybe..  u should spend ur money on other phone...
QUOTE(satur9 @ Sep 9 2007, 01:46 AM)
@clawhammer

I completely agree with BuFung. Been reading your posts and it has been nothing but childish whining. If you did your homework before buying the N95, then you would have spared yourself this "disappointment" you speak of.

And btw, fonts on the N95 are 100% customisable. Just because YOU haven't been able to do this successfully is not a failing of the phone. Blame your lack of skills.

Please do us all a favour by selling off the N95 and buy an SE phone as soon as possible.
Wow, relax sweat.gif

Maybe because he is so used to SE & he is not used to Nokia yet. Give some time & he will appreciate it more.
ViRaViRa
post Sep 9 2007, 09:46 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(noobs @ Sep 9 2007, 09:26 PM)
err..
got little problem with my n95 here..
my n95 sometime will restart itself when i receive sms..
anyone else facing this problem??
Never had this problem before sweat.gif
ViRaViRa
post Sep 9 2007, 11:37 PM

4,625 posts

Alright guys, take it easy....

@clawhammer

The bday option in contacts are only recently implemented on 3rd edition phone. If you have checked in your 7610, this option is not there right? So, Nokia will come up with something to fix this 'bug' sooner or later thumbup.gif

@BuFung

Take it easy bro. Clawhammer is just pointing out his personal view. We have a reason to like the phone & he has a reason not to like the phone. No one to be blamed. Cheers thumbup.gif

@Clawhammer
Is this something that you are looking for?
Best Birthday

But it's not a freeware sweat.gif

ViRaViRa
post Sep 14 2007, 12:02 PM

4,625 posts

Hi, those who bought AP sets....did you guys got 1GB Micro SD or only 256mb?

There's 1 guy in garage sales telling 'full set as shop' but when I asked him, he said AP only gives 256MB...

I wonder if he would have changed the accessories.... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Sep 14 2007, 12:02 PM
ViRaViRa
post Sep 19 2007, 08:45 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 19 2007, 06:41 PM)
What kind of problems? The only problem I had is a loose slider sad.gif
I have a creaking sound when i press the c, green (call) or red (end) buttons
ViRaViRa
post Sep 26 2007, 05:12 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(wkho555 @ Sep 26 2007, 04:37 PM)
yaya..... lucky buy ori..... if AP repair how many time also no change 1.....
BTW. ori nokia from zitron hv gv memory card?
They will give 1GB micro SD.
ViRaViRa
post Sep 26 2007, 09:21 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(elfyong @ Sep 26 2007, 08:01 PM)
walao!! I hope that my N95 will spoil when N95 8Gb comes out and cannot be repair... and they upgrade, haha...
Huh? Good dream rclxms.gif

They agree to change the phone coz N93 is no longer in production.

Maybe you can hope that N95 is no longer in production too
ViRaViRa
post Oct 3 2007, 01:10 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(antho1 @ Oct 3 2007, 01:01 AM)
guys ..i have a problem here ..my comp cant detected my n95 when i wanna updated the newest firmware ..in pc suite mode also cant ..wats wrong with my comp or my n95 ?
Besides, anyone do offer to help me updated my n95 ..i can go his/her house to let him /her updated ..presonal help for rm 10 to rm 15 hehe <still a student , cant effort to pay more than that , in fact go his/her house need petrol also >
haha... thanks alots guys .. biggrin.gif
It totally doesn't detect?

try different USB port.

Or try to restart your phone

or try to format your phone 1st (*#7370#)
- before that, your phone can be read in other mode? e.g. mass storage etc?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0647sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:15 PM