Is yard important for own stay, for Apartment/Condominium?

TSnarutodude
post Oct 22 2020, 10:36 PM, updated 6y ago

Hi sifus, what do you think if a unit without a yard and with balcony only? Is it good for own stay? Because I couldn’t find any info on both disadvantages and advantages on having a yard. As i know yard is a place where people put their washing machine, dry their clothes.

So if a unit that is around 1000sqft without a yard but comes with a large kitchen, how do you think ya? Because i’m comparing the advantage and disadvantage of having a yard in a unit. (especially for service apartment)

This post has been edited by narutodude: Oct 22 2020, 10:37 PM
jaspreettttt
post Oct 22 2020, 10:39 PM

104 posts

It's to bring the boys out.

So yes. 🙂
mini orchard
post Oct 23 2020, 06:30 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(narutodude @ Oct 22 2020, 10:36 PM)
Hi sifus, what do you think if a unit without a yard and with balcony only? Is it good for own stay? Because I couldn’t find any info on both disadvantages and advantages on having a yard. As i know yard is a place where people put their washing machine, dry their clothes.

So if a unit that is around 1000sqft without a yard but comes with a large kitchen, how do you think ya? Because i’m comparing the advantage and disadvantage of having a yard in a unit. (especially for service apartment)
Every "extra' space has it advantages and disadvantages depending on what are your needs. Different space layout are designed to suit various buyers.

Buy what you need ... pro than con are how you use it.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 23 2020, 06:53 AM
infernape772
post Oct 23 2020, 10:02 AM

296 posts

One thing to note, usually a yard space if on a different level to whatever the room is attached to, so that in the case of a leakage from the washing machine, only your yard will be affected.

Also, usually yards have a drainage hole, which make it convenient to move and position your washing machine as long as your water out hose can reach it. If in the kitchen, your washing machine has to be stuck in 1 location only. Also usually yard has plug points that are higher than normal to allow easy access for washing machines.

Most people with units without balcony would also greatly appreciate yard space as it is usually uncovered (add grills for safety), so that you can dry your clothes.

For smaller units as well, some use the extra space in the yard to keep their utility items/soaps/detergents/tools/ladder. If not it has to be kept somewhere inside in your bedroom or somewhere unsightly.
Aldo-Kirosu
post Dec 23 2023, 09:43 AM

662 posts

Now a day a lot people start enjoying the cloth drying mechine, so a lot of condo design start terminate the yard space.

But for my living experience with the condo with yard and balcony.

Currently I used my yard space as a store, all the huge item like staircase some big stuff was putting at there. But myself hanging the cloth at the balcony (feel better the cloth can explore to sunlight).

Beside that, my yard space also can be design as the wet kitchen (if I not make its as a store), the space is ready sufficient.

But from my view for ownstay condo design, it better have 3 design 1. Yard 2. Balcony 3. entranceway
Cavatzu
post Jan 3 2024, 08:16 PM

2,832 posts

Condos already have so little space for storage so a space to put your odds and ends is a win. So many of the photos on property portals with buckets and mops strewn about looks so untidy. A dedicated space for these things is very handy.

Also air drying your clothes is almost always better for their longevity on top of not incurring additional appliance and energy costs.

0.0150sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:39 AM