Oculus Quest 2 [VR Headset]
FatalExe
Nov 1 2021, 02:20 AM
QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Oct 29 2021, 11:20 PM) For those who wear glasses (short sightedness etc..), do you take off your glasses and wear your Oculus Quest 2 or not? I haven't bought Quest 2 yet and see some people use spacer only, but some buy extra prescription lens caps to protect even though with spacer. Just wondering how do you guys do it You will need your glasses in VR if you're short sighted. For bestconfort get a prescription lense.
FatalExe
Nov 1 2021, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Nov 1 2021, 08:15 AM) You mean prescription lens for oculus quest ? or the usual contact lens? I read that they use the 'spacer' provided in the box, and some buy this in the link below (AMVR Lens Anti-Scratch Ring Protecting Myopia Glasses from Scratching) https://www.amazon.com/AMVR-Anti-Scratch-Pr...e/dp/B089FB5W1NJust not sure if they use spacer and this Anti-scratch ring together if they decide to wear their normal glasses? If you want to wear normal glasses, then the best method is using the spacers provided, and the protective rings for added safety. For me and many others who use VR on daily basis, we buy prescription lens that can be attached to the headset. Not only it protects the original lens, it also means we get max field of view. I got mine from VR Optician Germany, but I'm pretty sure Liang VR sells them with a local partner in Malaysia at shopee and on garage sales
FatalExe
Nov 1 2021, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Nov 1 2021, 12:02 PM) Thanks. Since my astigmatism is bad, way worse than my myopia (short sightedness), will see if there is one for astigmatism. In the meantime, will wear normal glasses and use both Spacer + Protective rings (The amazon one) together. Check out https://shopee.com.my/product/21892184/6513...24-1635746002.9https://vroptician.com/prescription-lens-in.../oculus-quest2/QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 1 2021, 12:22 PM) I was thinking getting the frame only without the lens, and get my local optician to cut and fit their exact prescription lens with my own preferred coatings to the frame wonder will this work?  People on Reddit use their own 3D printed frame and get their optician to cut, so it's certainly possible. Not sure if it's worth the hassle and time.
FatalExe
Nov 1 2021, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 1 2021, 02:11 PM) I think I'll get few empty frames from Taoboa, and get the lens from my friend also is an optician I'm kinda very particular about my lenses, I estimate the cost is much cheaper than buying those premade one, with much better quality too  Oh, if got cable then ok lah. QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Nov 1 2021, 02:58 PM) 2 Questions. 1) Do you guys use Link cable, Air Link or Virtual Desktop? (as a desktop PC user) 2) Regarding 128GB vs 256GB of Oculus, if I were to play most Steam VR games, are they stored on my PC's HDD or the headset? Like if I buy Beat Saber on Steam VR, I assume it is stored on my PC's HDD right? 1. Air Link for PCVR games, VD for flatscreen desktop games. Note that you should have a dedicated router for best performance. 2. On your PC
FatalExe
Nov 2 2021, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Nov 2 2021, 08:06 AM) You paid RM31 for Virtual Desktop on Steam right? Another thing is that, does GPU affect the gaming performance? I assume only Steam games depend on GPU right? For example, Beat Saber PCVR depends on GPU, but if I buy Beat Saber on Oculus, then GPU doesn't matter? (Currently using GTX 1660 Super right now, might upgrade to RTX 3080 in near future.) Virtual Desktop on the Quest store is the one you would want. Try out Link / Air Link first since it's free. PCVR games are PC games. Your PC does the work. Quest store games run on the Quest