Kitchen Hood

TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 12:01 AM, updated 6y ago

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

hey /k, i'm clueless on this topic, so please advise. Don't trollan me.

Which kitchen hood that don't need to cut/core hole on the wall (for asap keluar)? How to know? My budget around rm700-1k for this. I'm currently looking at both ELBA EH-E9122ST & Teka Linea LDA-TC hoods, but dunno which type are they.

Looking to confirm and buy maybe within this week.

Teka: https://shopee.com.my/product/270719351/374...17-1602518421.9

Elba: https://shopee.com.my/product/24764316/2328...17-1602518474.9

This post has been edited by hirano: Oct 13 2020, 12:02 AM
SupremeAbode
post Oct 13 2020, 12:07 AM

kopitiam

dont troll

choose 1
lorrydriverrocks
post Oct 13 2020, 12:11 AM

268 posts

Island hood no need, u can check Fotile brand

This post has been edited by lorrydriverrocks: Oct 13 2020, 12:11 AM
fireballs
post Oct 13 2020, 12:13 AM

5,650 posts

They are called ductless or recirculating type
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.1RRA0

Frankly I think they are not very useful.
tkh_1001
post Oct 13 2020, 12:16 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 13 2020, 12:13 AM)

Seconded. Kalau nak ni baik takyah pasang.

Kalau nak effective mesti ventilate keluar.
lambsauce
post Oct 13 2020, 12:21 AM

311 posts

if ductless, might as well dun install
ayam serious coz ayam used before
djandrew
post Oct 13 2020, 12:28 AM

236 posts

effectiveness = using a fan blow the air out facing balcony more better effective
marketing strategy = u believe kaw kaw
daily usage vs heavy duty = unless u everyday use for only boiling water or cook maggi mee maybe can but if cooking conlanfirm full of oils on the surface and filter is useless cause overloaded with dirts in no time

my house installed 20 years ago and only used for 1 year then abandon for 19 years until now fully dusty and full of spider wax, functions included with lights and 3 speed fan levels to choose (brand elba model EB 2905 grey colour)

This post has been edited by djandrew: Oct 13 2020, 12:32 AM
TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 12:35 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Oct 13 2020, 12:28 AM)
effectiveness = using a fan blow the air out facing balcony more better effective
marketing strategy = u believe kaw kaw
daily usage vs heavy duty = unless u everyday use for only boiling water or cook maggi mee maybe can but if cooking conlanfirm full of oils on the surface and filter is useless cause overloaded with dirts in no time

my house installed 20 years ago and only used for 1 year then abandon for 19 years until now fully dusty and full of spider wax, included with lights and 3 speed fan levels to choose
Yes i do cook almost daily if work isn't that busy. Malay food, western food, all cook. Previously i use when in serviced apartment when i was working in philippines, that time feel macam ok.

patienceGNR

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

For one that isn't gonna vent the gases out, might as well you don't install. Serious.
SUSbisobona

66 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Oct 13 2020, 12:16 AM)
Seconded. Kalau nak ni baik takyah pasang.

Kalau nak effective mesti ventilate keluar.
This. Must use ventilation keluar. Baru effective.
alfiejr
post Oct 13 2020, 12:38 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

U can have a look at fotile brand. They do offer smokeless cooker hood on some of their models. My parents house has one. But the charcoal carbon filter needed replacement maybe once a year if you are heavy user.
fireballs
post Oct 13 2020, 12:39 AM

5,650 posts

There is a new type. Suck into the cabinet under stove.

Mostly guailou brand. Check taobao maybe got.
That type should work.
Maybe combine with filtering with water

This post has been edited by fireballs: Oct 13 2020, 12:40 AM
SUSpot-8-O's
post Oct 13 2020, 12:42 AM

P O T A T O E S
662 posts

Hehe
djandrew
post Oct 13 2020, 12:43 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 13 2020, 12:39 AM)
There is a new type. Suck into the cabinet under stove.

Mostly guailou brand. Check taobao maybe got.
That type should work.
Maybe combine with filtering with water
i guess TS don't understand what "guailou" means cause he mentioned mostly cook malay food

by the way TS "guailou" means mat salleh aka orang putih in cantonese
djandrew
post Oct 13 2020, 12:47 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 12:35 AM)
Yes i do cook almost daily if work isn't that busy. Malay food, western food, all cook. Previously i use when in serviced apartment when i was working in philippines, that time feel macam ok.
ermm not sure about the tech now for this thing, maybe im outdated cause owning it 20 years ago hence have very bad impression about it laugh.gif

might need some ktards share some modern young lights experienced it
MrBaba
post Oct 13 2020, 12:48 AM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 12:01 AM)

Which kitchen hood that don't need to cut/core hole on the wall (for asap keluar)? How to know? My budget around rm700-1k for this. I'm currently looking at both ELBA EH-E9122ST & Teka Linea LDA-TC hoods, but dunno which type are they.

Yr looking for the hob with filter, the filter need chage every 6 month. The effectiveness of filter hob is really low take a stand fan blow out window maybe better then this lol. Seriously dont get the filter one not worth it , u see in commeny also got ppl mention this.
fireballs
post Oct 13 2020, 12:50 AM

5,650 posts

https://search.suning.com/%E7%81%B6%E5%8F%B...B8%80%E4%BD%93/

This post has been edited by fireballs: Oct 13 2020, 01:11 AM
SUSAsquith
post Oct 13 2020, 01:08 AM

647 posts

Cannot core a hole due to no yard or layout of kitchen?

I would suggest the better one to get is the telescopic hood by Teka, Rinnai or Pacifica with the charcoal filter.

Effectiveness? It will work for as long as you do not expect there to be completely no smell and you do not place a fan or blower that would interfere with the air flow.
tellmewhy
post Oct 13 2020, 01:09 AM

893 posts

Hi, also recently got the same question but ended up going with recirculation one as my new house doesn't have an outgoing hood - so with recirculation the air will get back into your kitchen without any smell with the carbon filter ; the carbon filter needs to be replaced every 6 months else your kitchen will bau

Secondly, pls get a dehumidifier for the kitchen as the air masuk balik your kitchen unless you got windows nearby la, hope this helps

TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 01:14 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Oct 13 2020, 12:43 AM)
i guess TS don't understand what "guailou" means cause he mentioned mostly cook malay food

by the way TS "guailou" means mat salleh aka orang putih in cantonese
U underestimated me. /k rojak language are widely used here in my 10 years posting. I know the word.
Sizty
post Oct 13 2020, 01:16 AM

159 posts

Malaysian type of cooking, no matter malay cina india all fried. Better use vent out type for long term.
TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 01:16 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(Asquith @ Oct 13 2020, 01:08 AM)
Cannot core a hole due to no yard or layout of kitchen?

I would suggest the better one to get is the telescopic hood by Teka, Rinnai or Pacifica with the charcoal filter.

Effectiveness? It will work for as long as you do not expect there to be completely no smell and you do not place a fan or blower that would interfere with the air flow.
Got small yard. But coring, only specific contractor got the coring machine. This one i dont know yet how much they'll charge. Do u know?

Telescopic hood? Got any example within my smol budget?
TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 01:18 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Oct 13 2020, 01:09 AM)
Hi, also recently got the same question but ended up going with recirculation one as my new house doesn't have an outgoing hood - so with recirculation the air will get back into your kitchen without any smell with the carbon filter ; the carbon filter needs to be replaced every 6 months else your kitchen will bau

Secondly, pls get a dehumidifier for the kitchen as the air masuk balik your kitchen unless you got windows nearby la, hope this helps
So which model did you end up with?
SUSAsquith
post Oct 13 2020, 01:39 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 01:16 AM)
Got small yard. But coring, only specific contractor got the coring machine. This one i dont know yet how much they'll charge. Do u know?

Rinnai

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ready-st...Xu68Fi&search=1

Teka
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/authoriz...AyaKnm&search=1

Both available in 60 and 90 cm width.

If you are interested in saving some money, look out on Mudah or Carousel, many of these Teka hoods are available there as many developers provide it especially if it is a Sime Darby property and many people remove them to replace it with more powerful ones.

Cost to make a hole for the duct? Depends if it is a reinforced concrete wall or brick wall. Best to check with your management office if this is something that you are allowed to do.
SUSsonark
post Oct 13 2020, 01:41 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 01:16 AM)

Cuba check dengan dia

Her company, alpha s studio

TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 03:48 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(sonark @ Oct 13 2020, 01:41 AM)
Cuba check dengan dia

Her company, alpha s studio
U dealt with her before?
tellmewhy
post Oct 13 2020, 06:10 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 01:18 AM)
So which model did you end up with?
Leisure Patricia Urquiola PCWB9752BP 90 cm
SUSsonark
post Oct 13 2020, 06:36 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 03:48 PM)
U dealt with her before?
I contacted her quite sometime ago when I was helping my sister to look for a contractor for some reno work that she was doing at her place. Not sure if my sis did end up taking her service but i still had her number on my phone and recently saw her share on her ws status, a photo of her staff working with the said machinery. Anyway, she was courteous and professional.

NaGeNaZ
post Oct 13 2020, 06:55 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

I bought SENZ invisible hood (recirculating) for dry kitchen and normal duct out hood for wet kitchen where real cooking take place.

Initially wanted to buy two duct out hood but the contractor said they can’t share the same exhaust route via T join otherwise if you open one at wet kitchen, it will suck the air and exhaust back to dry kitchen. Solution was to do two holes for exhaust out but I don’t want that because mine is strata landed, looks ugly if neighbours see my kitchen wall got two duct holes for exhaust.

SUSLampazhi
post Oct 13 2020, 06:58 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 13 2020, 01:14 AM)
U underestimated me. /k rojak language are widely used here in my 10 years posting. I know the word.
What is panchat wuying mean then?
DarkNite
post Oct 13 2020, 06:58 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 13 2020, 12:13 AM)

Yup, useless for asian type of cooking.
Good for fry eggs & masak one pkt of maggi mee only.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 13 2020, 06:59 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

u cook using this ah now?

U REEALLLY CAN COOK EH? cool2.gif
fireballs
post Oct 13 2020, 07:11 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 13 2020, 06:59 PM)
u cook using this ah now?

U REEALLLY CAN COOK EH?  cool2.gif
if so, please upgrade to rocket stove. smokless

Cendol_Pulut90
post Oct 13 2020, 07:19 PM

260 posts

Use the vent out / tebuk dinding for more effective. my living room ceiling became yellowish oil because the kitchen hood not really trap the oily gas.

After repaint my ceiling and tebuk dinding and equipped with 10 inch ventilation fan, no more problem.
viole
post Oct 13 2020, 07:22 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

parking.

i like kitchen deco. more drills please.
NormalName
post Oct 13 2020, 07:23 PM

82 posts

dont buy = save 700-1000
mr_geforce
post Oct 13 2020, 07:34 PM

267 posts

for newly bought new house? where? sendayan?
SUSahter
post Oct 13 2020, 07:54 PM

266 posts

For long term better do coring or ask contractor drill holes and plaster to touch up. Otherwise no point install kitchen hood. Just make sure the hood is installed not more than 2.5 feet from kitchen hob, if not the suction will be less effective.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 13 2020, 10:19 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 13 2020, 07:11 PM)
if so, please upgrade to rocket stove. smokless

I prefer this man

can kung kang kung kang at home!

I miss this!

tvcat
post Oct 13 2020, 10:21 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,923 posts

just cook outside
ry8128
post Oct 13 2020, 10:27 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Coming in to bash ts cos where got hood that no nid to have hole one, thinking takkan the asap/minyak suddenly can hilang without ventilation.

Ended up ayam is surprised there is after going through the tered.

But ayam still wont buy those. For me simple je, whatever in must have out. Meaning if u produce something while cooking, there must be an outlet to release it.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 13 2020, 10:50 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2020, 10:27 PM)
Coming in to bash ts cos where got hood that no nid to have hole one, thinking takkan the asap/minyak suddenly can hilang without ventilation.

Ended up ayam is surprised there is after going through the tered.

But ayam still wont buy those. For me simple je, whatever in must have out. Meaning if u produce something while cooking, there must be an outlet to release it.
ze best

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 13 2020, 10:52 PM
fireballs
post Oct 13 2020, 11:30 PM

5,650 posts

must have the compressed air mix with gas.
baru ada wok hei (errr. duno how to translate)
TShirano
post Oct 13 2020, 11:47 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 13 2020, 11:30 PM)
must have the compressed air mix with gas.
baru ada wok hei  (errr. duno how to translate)
I know wok hei, no worries
kevyeoh
post May 16 2022, 10:57 AM

4,720 posts

I got question here about brand... Electrolux vs Bosch... which one better choice? As i have shortlisted these two due to availability and budget and also I know these 2 brands better than some unknown brands to me... thanks
chinti
post May 16 2022, 11:10 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 16 2022, 10:57 AM)
I got question here about brand... Electrolux vs Bosch... which one better choice? As i have shortlisted these two due to availability and budget and also I know these 2 brands better than some unknown brands to me... thanks
both sama goody but bosch more mahal

0.0284sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:41 PM