38 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

HP Pavilion Tablet PC TX series, Discussion TX 1000, TX 2000 TX 2500

demio121
post Sep 24 2007, 07:18 PM

2,084 posts

i got the care pack at RM250 only. its from a authorized retailer at low yat.

i dunno if its only my TX or all TX or IE7 or vista but i am getting a little piss with my IE not responding. I've been using IE6 on XP for 3 years now and i can hardly remember when was the last IE6 gone dead on me. Only today i got like 3 x nto responding.
Pro-MX
post Sep 25 2007, 02:47 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

i just got this laptop today and ur not alone.....my IE isnt responding for several times already....not much of a prob for me....i installed and use the opera web browser instead of the IE now
demio121
post Sep 25 2007, 11:44 AM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Sep 25 2007, 02:47 AM)
i just got this laptop today and ur not alone.....my IE isnt responding for several times already....not much of a prob for me....i installed and use the opera web browser instead of the IE now
I've been using Firefox for a few months now on my other laptop and PC. I am gonna switch to Firefox on my TX too. Juz kenot believe MS add those fancy graphic but then the product quality regress.

If oni i can manage my TX on XP, i'll move.
likkylooq
post Sep 25 2007, 01:39 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(chuan557 @ Sep 24 2007, 07:14 PM)
i also get my care pack from swiss pac,only cost me rm200,it is registered and original from HP
so, mean that the care pack is useful? ok then, great...think i shud get one too..
mm.lee
post Sep 25 2007, 03:36 PM

I actually bumped into this website when I googled ard for a Cheap Tablet PC a few days ago. After a few sessions of browsing the other reviews of TX1221au, I realised it was quite a good buy after all.. The price does the best justification of an ultraportable with 'touchscreen' capability.

Well most of features on the lappie was quite outstanding for normal office usage coz I am not a hardcore gamer. All I need was something that was light, feature packed and with some 'futuristic cosmetics' in it. I particularly like the swivel screen. It makes presentation much easier and clearer. The bright view glare was OK to me in office lighting. Tho' I wud personally my old fujitsu matte screen laptop. It does get a little hot.. Can't blame that.. Its an AMD after all..

On the extra Tablet functions, I realised since it was not a fully active Wacom enabled pc, I did not have high expectations in it. Therefore, maybe it would be similar to other PDA's in the market. But it's not even up to that standard.. Haha.. It was preety tough to learn at first. Even after calibration, it still would pose some problems. Then again, it all depends on the continously training and mindset in us.. Somehow after a 10 mins or so, I even managed to write cursive on it.. So it does take time and some real effort...

I was quoted at RM 2999 and upgraded the RAM to 2Gb for additional rm180. In addition, I got freebies like the 4cell battery, laptop bag, mouse, cooling pad, usb hub, dvd rw's and mic-headphones (preety standard tho'). Considering they accept a 0% installment via a credit card, that's even more tempting. Well, they installed everything for me inclusive those 'softwares and packs'. Suddenly, I look like an alien when it comes to Vista, MS Works and Office 2007. That was quite an interesting update.
demio121
post Sep 25 2007, 08:55 PM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(mm.lee @ Sep 25 2007, 03:36 PM)
I was quoted at RM 2999 and upgraded the RAM to 2Gb for additional rm180. In addition, I got freebies like the 4cell battery, laptop bag, mouse, cooling pad, usb hub, dvd rw's and mic-headphones (preety standard tho'). Considering they accept a 0% installment via a credit card, that's even more tempting. Well, they installed everything for me inclusive those 'softwares and packs'. Suddenly, I look like an alien when it comes to Vista, MS Works and Office 2007. That was quite an interesting update.
welcome to the TX community. The price you got plus the freebies make mine look expensive. I have switch off all the cosmetic on Vista. Its a bit faster now. IE7 is a real pain and i juz install Firefox (bye bye IE...!!!). I have OpenOffice installed. I am switching to OOO after the valuation period expire. well, if i can, i'll like to go XP.

apart from that, i am enjoying my TX.

post Sep 26 2007, 03:50 AM

Henshin
2,157 posts

jsut a hijack.. any1 still lookin for tablet? lol
can refer my sig.

thx
mm.lee
post Sep 26 2007, 12:51 PM

I have a problem with my TX. The webcam seemed not working. Sometimes, it can activate but mostly NOT. And msn and yahoo messenger cant even detect it. I suspect it's the driver issues.

Anyone encounter the same problem?
demio121
post Sep 26 2007, 05:17 PM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(mm.lee @ Sep 26 2007, 12:51 PM)
I have a problem with my TX. The webcam seemed not working. Sometimes, it can activate but mostly NOT. And msn and yahoo messenger cant even detect it. I suspect it's the driver issues.

Anyone encounter the same problem?
nope. mine work wif Yahoo and Skype fine. Look up the thread. there was a post abt the webcam driver. try that driver and see if you are OK.
mm.lee
post Sep 29 2007, 01:37 PM

I actually searched around and it seems that webcam driver was not that stable for certain machines.. In the end, installed an Acer webcam driver and it solved everything. For those who have similar problems, check this out:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=149463

One more thing abt the touchscreen, I actually found out that it's much easier to write using the secondary portrait orientation. Basically all u need to do it to press twice the shortcut key right next from the wording 'Altec Lansing'. Or u can change it in the Control Panel. Its even better in my opinion coz u wont swiping ur fingerprint reader so often and not as hot. As the notebook is being reversed, u dont burn ur hand or crotch esp on the right side of the notebook. smile.gif

Abt the WiFi range, I am equally impressed. Found only one bar of signal and I was surfing at lightning speed.

jolipoli81
post Sep 29 2007, 01:47 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

well, it seems that this tablet do have many kinds of problems too huh?
i guess we cannot expect much with that kind of price
Sphenix
post Sep 29 2007, 06:02 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

just one thing..... very hot, It can reached 80 degree. .. . . . .
iresc
post Oct 1 2007, 09:15 AM

Hi
I have been following everybodies' discussion on the tx (also reviews from outside malaysia). It seems that the tx has serious issues on heating (on the right palmrest) and glaring screen. The touch screen also seem to be another minus for this tx. I am now seriously considering changing my plan to buying the Fujitsu T2010. Do you guys have any opinion about this model? I have tried to search around for review on this model outside malaysia, but not much has been written about it. Thanks.

demio121
post Oct 1 2007, 12:14 PM

2,084 posts

this Vista is reali problematic. I have so far encounter 2 problem. I install Citirx client. The first time i run Citrix d screen went blank. Everything else kinda like hang. Its ok now.

Yesterday i install the Sony Ericsson PC Suite for Vista. I got the dreaded blue screen of death. I get error msg when i install, i get error msg when i run the PC Suite, i get error when i shut down, i get error when i un-install.

probably nothing to do with Vista but it kinda show how problematic it is when Microsoft release a major OS. All sort of compatibilities issue.

Even my Yahoo Messenger gives me error when i exit...!!!
jeff_cwk
post Oct 1 2007, 02:45 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(mm.lee @ Sep 25 2007, 03:36 PM)
I actually bumped into this website when I googled ard for a Cheap Tablet PC a few days ago. After a few sessions of browsing the other reviews of TX1221au, I realised it was quite a good buy after all.. The price does the best justification of an ultraportable with 'touchscreen' capability.

Well most of features on the lappie was quite outstanding for normal office usage coz I am not a hardcore gamer. All I need was something that was light, feature packed and with some 'futuristic cosmetics' in it. I particularly like the swivel screen. It makes presentation much easier and clearer. The bright view glare was OK to me in office lighting. Tho' I wud personally my old fujitsu matte screen laptop. It does get a little hot.. Can't blame that.. Its an AMD after all.. 

On the extra Tablet functions, I realised since it was not a fully active Wacom enabled pc, I did not have high expectations in it. Therefore, maybe it would be similar to other PDA's in the market. But it's not even up to that standard.. Haha.. It was preety tough to learn at first. Even after calibration, it still would pose some problems. Then again, it all depends on the continously training and mindset in us.. Somehow after a 10 mins or so, I even managed to write cursive on it.. So it does take time and some real effort...

erm... which credit card they accept for monthly installment? hmm.gif
williamngwl
post Oct 1 2007, 03:39 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(iresc @ Oct 1 2007, 09:15 AM)
Hi
I have been following everybodies' discussion on the tx (also reviews from outside malaysia).  It seems that the tx has serious issues on heating (on the right palmrest) and glaring screen.  The touch screen also seem to be another minus for this tx.  I am now seriously considering changing my plan to buying the Fujitsu  T2010.  Do you guys have any opinion about this model?  I have tried to search around for review on this model outside malaysia, but not much has been written about it.  Thanks.
Fujitsu Lifebook T2010 selling at RM7388 that u can get 2 of the HP Pavilion TX1221AU
mm.lee
post Oct 1 2007, 06:05 PM

Initially, I was thinking to get a T2010 coz my previous laptop was also from Fujitsu. Somehow, they gave me a good confidence in their QC. However, the pricing made me think twice. U cant compare a T2010 with a tx1000. Coz both are manufactured using different types of technology. DO note that T2010 uses a Wacom penabled digitizer, which means u get an active tablet pc while tx is similar to PDA aka touchscreen capabilities only. Thats how the pricing differs a lot.

Abt the pc running hot, I wont be suprised as this is an AMD processor. BUt u can buy some cooling pad or do a power saver adjustment when on battery mode. I fine tune the CPU usage at max 30% and this helps to keep heat low but high battery life.

Some of the problems on drivers and software may due to the incompabitlity issues with Vista. So take some time and be a little patient for the patches to be ready.

Initially when I bought this laptop, I thought it was brilliant. (To jeff_cmk: I used a Hong Leong Card.. and the dealer accepts MBB, PB, EON, AM, Citibank and quite a lot more..) Then after a day or 2, I realised it was kinda buggy here and there.. But when I browse ard the net for more solutions and tips, I realised I learnt a lot more abt MS Vista and my pc.. The last update I read was ppl are using the unit with Ubuntu now.

For me, don't expect too much on a unit worth RM 2,999 and try not compare it with those high end models. Definitely, you would see more shortcomings and weakness. Search around for some solutions and try to know more abt the tablet pc functions. It's kinda cool for me to blog in Ink now as compared the old typing way. It's kinda easy for me to learn how to adapt to the touchscreen actually.

Happy Computing smile.gif

likkylooq
post Oct 1 2007, 10:24 PM

243 posts

guys, just wanna ask u.. when i play dvd or install something from dvd/write a dvd, my dvd driver would roar very loud...do u guys laptop oso the same?
then, my lappie sometimes unstable..yesterday, i got "Blue Screen"...pretty shit coz i just bough this less than a month n oledi giving me blu screen....
demio121
post Oct 1 2007, 11:53 PM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(likkylooq @ Oct 1 2007, 10:24 PM)
guys, just wanna ask u.. when i play dvd or install something from dvd/write a dvd, my dvd driver would roar very loud...do u guys laptop oso the same?
then, my lappie sometimes unstable..yesterday, i got  "Blue Screen"...pretty shit coz i just bough this less than a month n oledi giving me blu screen....
my DVD drive is not exactly silent but the sound is not very loud either. i have another prob, when i play original region 1 DVD, i will get a warning that i am gonna change the region coding. I am allow to change 5 times. anyone have this issue either.
shirohamada
post Oct 2 2007, 04:16 AM

944 posts

ain't dual core? do not want shakehead.gif
i think there's a turion x2 version, check for it.

38 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:26 AM