[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V1, It’s a leap year.

Netto Hikari
post Oct 28 2020, 02:02 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 28 2020, 12:02 AM)
Iphone 12 buyers beware....
In a series of bullet points at the end of the document, Apple warns buyers of iPhone 12 series phones that MagSafe can:

-Increase heat build up and restrict charging, saying if your iPhone battery gets “too warm” charging will be limited to 80% capacity.

-Damage the magnetic strips and RFID chips in credit cards, security badges, passports and key fobs if they come between the back of your iPhone and the MagSafe charger. Apple sells a MagSafe Wallet, so be very careful.

-Damage leather cases used with the charger by leaving “circular imprints”. Similar damage to silicon cases has also been reported after just a few days, so questions must also be asked about what this will do to the glass backs of case-less iPhone 12 models over time.

While accidentally wiping your credit cards is clearly the standout fear for many, the last point (which Apple leaves to the very end of the support document and writes in smaller gray text) seems equally pressing.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/20...ro-upgrade/amp/
but isnt cards magnetic strips has been ages for danger around magnet?
Netto Hikari
post Oct 29 2020, 06:08 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

not getting it, save myself few thousands from it. icon_rolleyes.gif
unless unforeseen happen to my current ipse whistling.gif whistling.gif
Netto Hikari
post Oct 31 2020, 08:44 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(shazmiey @ Oct 31 2020, 08:30 PM)
still in dilemma, thinking of the size of pro max, i love the spec of the pro max, but 6.7 inch seems very large, even the current 11 pro max 6.5 inch is too big for my hand. but like many says, 12 pro is just extra telephoto and lidar and extra 2gb ram. hmm.
well, if u r still on ipx/11, can skip ip12. nothing much worth the upgrade or wait next yr to see if the 5g network is ready or not.
Netto Hikari
post Nov 1 2020, 11:05 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 1 2020, 09:36 AM)
Probably can consider the 12 instead of the 12 Pro as well. The savings is substantial if you can forego the telephoto lens, LiDAR sensor and additional 2GB RAM.
I think if you're on 11 Pro or Pro Max, it makes sense to skip but from iPhone 11 to 12, some would argue just the screen itself is worth the upgrade smile.gif
Agreed, when the 6 Plus first came out my wife said it was huge and she wouldn't want to use it, but after trying it now she wouldn't consider small screen phones anymore. For me the iPhone 12 size is probably just nice but it's a pity Apple couldn't squeeze a bigger battery into it.
well, not too sure if that really worth the upgrade but that is just personal preference smile.gif
'lucky' thing i just upgraded to SE earlier in march, else i would have also jump to ip12 bandwagon tongue.gif
Netto Hikari
post Nov 1 2020, 11:07 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 1 2020, 11:00 AM)
I'm not in need of 5G at the moment, unfortunately we have to pay premium price for this to be included in the latest phone. To me I need Apple Pay to be enabled in MY more than 5G. It was introduced since iPhone 6 and yet until this day I have yet to try this feature in MY.
sadly i am also waiting for this feature to be available in MY too. sad.gif
Netto Hikari
post Nov 1 2020, 11:10 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(mr08nobody @ Nov 1 2020, 10:22 AM)
can i know what kind of promotion apple gave in the past?
not sure if they doing early order like ipse2020, you get it before any1 can get it from physical stores (including telco)
1st time experience, purchased on Monday morning, ship from SG same day and get it in MY on Wednesday morning (during MCO period)
Netto Hikari
post Nov 1 2020, 03:27 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Nov 1 2020, 02:24 PM)
https://www.phonearena.com/news/iphone-12-p...-drain_id128135

Battery life is very bad for gamers. Even IPhone SE can last 2 hours longer than IPhone 20 Pro cry.gif
depends on game la.
i can play about >10 match ML/LoL:WR(average 25min/match) on a single charge or almost whole day FFBE/FFBE:WOTV on a single charge on my IPSE2020
Netto Hikari
post Nov 1 2020, 04:31 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 1 2020, 04:01 PM)
A lot says that iphone 12 should be the one to go but in real life iphone 12 pro sells a lot better.

but it could be the pro/promax has lower stock than then normal 1.
Netto Hikari
post Nov 1 2020, 06:27 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Nov 1 2020, 06:07 PM)
I mean XR still relevant in terms of iOS...no laggy or heating up issue...camera still almost the same as i12...

unlike me i7...heat up and lag with iOS 14..  ranting.gif so it's a must change for me liao....

I would stick with XR if you ask me unless you kenot tahan d  flex.gif
got so bad meh? im still using my ip6s too, upgrade to the latest ios14.1. dont seems to lag.
Netto Hikari
post Nov 8 2020, 04:13 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(ray2k88 @ Nov 8 2020, 01:22 AM)
Sold my fold 2 and ordered 12 pro max 256gb gold color. Hopefully this is a better choice 😜
jumping to iphone is always a better choice rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

0.0235sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:15 AM