[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V1, It’s a leap year.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 28 2020, 08:02 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 28 2020, 04:10 PM)
Good point on that but being a careful user, it hurts me to see it if it is scratched. laugh.gif Anyway, I will use a case or wrap it with transparent skin. biggrin.gif
I believe the scratch problem is with iPhone 12, not iPhone 12 Pro since iPhone 12 has aluminium bezel just like the iPhone 5S, and iPhone 5S really got a lot of complaints about build quality.

Anyway, I’ve been using my iPhone naked since iPhone 5S. The only thing I put on is a screen protector but even the screen protector is a cheap one from Daiso.

My iPhone XS has stainless steel bezel, just like the iPhone 12 Pro. 2 years later it still looks very new and this is without casing. So it should be ok.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 28 2020, 08:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Oct 28 2020, 08:13 PM)
You must have taken very good care of you phone. That’s some hard work 💪🏼
No special care for them. Just use it like normal guys LOL

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Oct 28 2020, 08:20 PM)
This is SG I suppose? I12 black look nice at the back
I think it’s either Hong Kong or Taiwan, since the wordings are all Traditional Chinese.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2020, 10:18 PM

9,301 posts

I noticed the general trend that guys using iPhone tend to go for the standard size iPhone (iPhone XS, 11 Pro and now 12 or 12 Pro) whilst many iPhone XS Max, 11 Pro Max and now 12 Pro Max users are girls.

One expects more guys to use the larger iPhone since most guys have larger hands compared to girls, similar to how most professional piano players are guys but the trend for mobile phone is reversed.

Since I spend a lot of my time on my iPhone, ideally I would prefer the iPhone with larger display - iPhone 12 Pro Max. However, as many had pointed out, the phone is simply too big and it won’t fit in our pocket, especially when you’re wearing a slim fit jeans. And this is a big problem because most guys don’t bring a bag with them all the time. So despite many guys may not struggle to operate iPhone 12 Pro Max using a single hand, many will still end up going for the iPhone 12 or 12 Pro.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 3 2020, 07:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Nov 3 2020, 07:17 PM)
Pavi got digi bo? What you want me to check?  Oh yeah mytown got
Celcom bro...go for the best for iPhone 🤓
No Digi Store inside Pavilion. Nearest one is located in the same row as McDonald’s outside Pavilion.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 4 2020, 11:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 4 2020, 09:31 PM)
Self collect at outlet on 13th or wait posmen if full payment online.

Recommend self collect if you don't want to suffer.

Postage is usually bad during festive seasons.
For mobile carrier set pre-order. I had 3 prior experiences - Maxis, Digi then the last one was with Maxis again.

Maxis year 2013 - self collection at Pavilion KL
Digi year 2015 - delivery to KK by GDex
Maxis year 2018 - delivery to KK (forgot which courier service already)

I received my iPhone from Digi and Maxis on the first day the iPhone went on sale. As a matter of fact, the courier service will make sure you can get your iPhone on the first day. The iPhone in fact was shipped out and reached KK already a few days earlier but they can’t deliver the iPhone to you yet.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 6 2020, 09:55 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Nov 6 2020, 09:53 PM)
Just done pre-order Iphone 12 256 gb for wife from machine. I may getting Pro Max but wait i switch back to celcom from maxis 1st. This bloody maxis force ppl update the plan to at least RM128 per month for pre-prder.
Maxis iPhone (Pro) package has always started from MOP128.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 6 2020, 10:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(padlie @ Nov 6 2020, 10:28 PM)
got mine at digi at 9.30pm and now they already change my plan
That was fast. Maxis will only change your plan after you’ve received your new iPhone.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 7 2020, 02:22 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 6 2020, 11:05 PM)
Yeah, that's why I said it's a twist in my decision. sweat.gif
Talked to my eldest sis and she helped me to calculate and decide, she said just take MY set and get it from Digi. sweat.gif
Then I told her about eSIM, she said can la, won't be so bad one. sweat.gif
Decision was made in split second. cry.gif

I hope I won't regret this decision. laugh.gif
QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 6 2020, 11:50 PM)
I heard the reception from eSIM is not as good as physical SIM, so I suggest you to maintain physical SIM for the one you frequently use. Like for me, my data is fetched from Celcom which the line is paid by my company, it will be maintained as physical SIM while my personal Digi line is mainly for calls and banks OTP, I use eSIM.
I used Digi eSIM during my 1 month stay in Europe late last year and another 1 month back in Malaysia before i changed it back to a physical SIM. It was good. Did not encounter any problem with Digi eSIM at all for the 2 months i used it overseas and locally. The only reason i changed it back to physical SIM after 2 months was because i'm on Digi Postpaid 150 Infinite plan i am still using it on my Huawei B618-65D modem router on ad-hoc basis. Otherwise, i will just continue to use eSIM so to free up the physical SIM card slot since i need the physical SIM card slot for another SIM card whenever i go overseas.

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Nov 6 2020, 11:18 PM)
hmm, for iphone, why like celcom and umobile plan more cheaper than maxis and digi? and only digi dont have standard plan....
Digi iPhone plan used to start at Digi Smart Plan 78 (RM78). Not anymore unfortunately and for current pre-order, they are doing Phone Freedom contract only. Normal contract may only be released after pre-order is closed. Not sure what's the rational behind this decision though since you don't really save any money with Digi Phone Freedom contract.

By the way guys, it looks like Maxis iPhone 12 Pro is sold out!

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 7 2020, 02:26 AM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 7 2020, 03:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 7 2020, 12:33 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience.

Actually by getting from Digi does have savings, for my plan I get RM 25 discount. So it's RM 190-25 and RM 192 for the phone. I converted my Digi Infinite as I have checked my usage, never exceeded 200GB every month. Also Digi Freedom 365 RM 190 plan comes with 200GB whereas standalone plan is 100GB only.

Maybe my math sucks but it seems only 192*24 for the phone? I ordered 256GB Pro Max. 
Thanks for this!
I just had a proper look at Digi Phone Freedom 365 plan again and yes. You are correct. Previously Digi Phone Freedom 365 worked the same as Maxis Zerolution and did not give you any saving.

I looked at the iPhone 12 Pro 128GB which has a RRP of RM4,899. I signed up for Maxis Postpaid 128 that comes with 60GB of data and paid only RM3,532 for the iPhone. But since the number i signed up is on MaxisONE Prime, it will get unlimited data regardless of the Maxis Postpaid plan i choose. The only limitation is how many supplementary lines one can sign-up.

Under Digi Phone Freedom 365 plan with Digi Postpaid 120, the same iPhone 12 Pro 128GB cost RM4,152 (RM173 x 24 months). Deduct RM15/month for 24 months (RM360 total), so the final cost of iPhone is RM4,019.52 after factoring in 6% SST. So the subsidy is RM879.48 which is not too bad. Besides, Digi Postpaid 120 under Digi Phone Freedom 365 plan comes with 120GB data versus Maxis Postpaid 128 that comes with only 60GB data.

So basically if one is using MaxisONE Prime, Maxis iPhone offering is definitely cheaper since the subsidy is higher and you get unlimited data. But if one is using a standalone postpaid plan and needs a lot of mobile data, Digi is better since the cheapest iPhone plan gives you 120GB data. However, if one is using Digi Postpaid 50(S) that comes with 70GB data and the data is more than enough for you, making an outright purchase of the iPhone is more worthwhile because you are paying RM74.20 less a month compared to buying the iPhone 12 Pro 128GB with Digi Postpaid 120, that is RM1,780.80 less for your postpaid phone bill over a period of 2 years.

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Nov 7 2020, 03:25 PM)
Anyone got confirmation on date of collection from their telco purchase d?
I opted for delivery and the delivery date stated in email is 13th November 2020. This is Maxis, by the way.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 7 2020, 03:46 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 7 2020, 07:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Nov 7 2020, 01:58 PM)
oh yeah for those who haven't buy the power adapter... today shopee got cashback (1.6k coins) for eletronics... so can consider to get the power adapter and other accessories from senQ shopee  brows.gif (don't say i bojio)
https://shopee.com.my/product/300442079/6759618908
Need a minimum spending of RM150 to qualify to get 10% Shopee Coins. So anyone intends to buy just this Apple 20W power adapter won’t qualify for this offer.

A few days ago there was another Shopee Coins voucher. I bought the Apple 20W power adapter from Switch Shopee Mall and received 800 Shopee Coins. I also redeemed 1,800+ Shopee Coins. So the cost of the power adapter I bought was RM70+ only.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 9 2020, 01:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hvaly87 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:15 PM)
Maxis from 13/11 to 20/11😡😡😡
I spoke to Maxis and was advised to ignore the new preferred delivery date. They are aware of this issue as many have called in since this morning. I was assured that I will still receive the iPhone by this Friday.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 9 2020, 01:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Marcus95 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:19 PM)
im just curious if its fake how they get Apple Warranty
I believe the product serial number is true. But if you really send it in for repair, that is when you will find out it’s OEM, aka fake AirPods Pro because the price is simply too good to be true.

If you read up the reviews, everyone rated it 5 stars. Quite a number of buyers even posted the warranty page. However, if you look closely, something about the warranty dates do not check out (see below).

Anyone who’s familiar with buying from Shopee knows that you are given a window to leave your review after confirming you have received your purchased good which is around 2 weeks if I’m not mistaken. But if you see the expiry date of the limited warranty versus the date the review was posted, those dates are simply too far apart.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 9 2020, 01:43 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 9 2020, 02:00 PM

9,301 posts

Or you guys can consider this Aukey wireless earphone with Active Noice Cancelling (ANC). It is also sweat proof so you can wear it during workout. Selling for just RM195 this Wednesday. This particular mode has been covered by a few reviewers including CNET and the reviews are quite favourable.

0.1491sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:36 PM