285 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V1, It’s a leap year.

curaptz
post Oct 14 2020, 11:02 AM

568 posts

QUOTE(daimon @ Oct 14 2020, 11:00 AM)
i a Iphone user since iphone 4s

then change to Iphone 6

plan to buy this new iphone

but the CHARGER really confuse me

cos the cable seems different already is it?

i read online what usb c and lightning which i dont understand sad.gif

my iphone 6 cable + adaptor still the one which is universal, which a big squarish usb hole

but this new iphone seems different design sad.gif

is there any kind people explain to me  with photo pleasee ?
you need to buy 3rd party adaptor or iphone adaptor with USB-C hole.

the box come with the USB-C to lightning cable.
attw
post Oct 14 2020, 11:05 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 14 2020, 10:53 AM)
Not really, bro. If you take into account the costs of the two missing items from this year’s package, at best, it’s of similar value. But that’s left to be seen since we do not have the actual prices yet of the accessories.
I think the charger and earphones are probably worth RM300 at most based on RRP. I'll take twice the storage over the charger and earphones but ya, it's not the point, I know smile.gif
brian81st
post Oct 14 2020, 11:06 AM

46 posts

then change to Iphone 6

my iphone 6 cable + adaptor still the one which is universal, which a big squarish usb hole

means the cable given is one side type usb type c and one side lighting . all power brick for iphone now is using type c hole
de_ghost
post Oct 14 2020, 11:08 AM

424 posts

then change to Iphone 6

Yes you need to buy a 3rd party one if you dont have a usb-C adapter. same for me also IP4 then IP6. so need to buy Adapter with USB-C

attw
post Oct 14 2020, 11:09 AM

32,468 posts

See this

https://www.apple.com/my/shop/product/MKQ42...tning-cable-1-m
daimon
post Oct 14 2020, 11:09 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(de_ghost @ Oct 14 2020, 11:08 AM)
Yes you need to buy a 3rd party one if you dont have a usb-C adapter. same for me also IP4 then IP6. so need to buy Adapter with USB-C
but you wont consider buy Apple USB C adapter?

just thinking 3rd party one might spoiled iphone hmm.gif
louis198920
post Oct 14 2020, 11:11 AM

476 posts

guys, the iPhone is still charged by Lightning. if you have an iPad charger + USB-A to Lightning, can continue to use that.
attw
post Oct 14 2020, 11:12 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(daimon @ Oct 14 2020, 11:09 AM)
but you wont consider buy Apple USB C adapter?

just thinking 3rd party one might spoiled iphone  hmm.gif
Been charging my iPhones and iPad Pro with third party cables and adapters over the years. No issues.

But if you want to buy the original Apple one, it'll cost RM149

https://www.machines.com.my/products/18w-usb-c-power-adapter
louis198920
post Oct 14 2020, 11:13 AM

476 posts

then change to Iphone 6

you can still re-use your iPhone 6 charger + cable for iPhone 12, just that charging time will be a bit slow. If charging time not a problem for you, then I would suggest to continue to use that
curaptz

568 posts

QUOTE(louis198920 @ Oct 14 2020, 11:11 AM)
guys, the iPhone is still charged by Lightning. if you have an iPad charger + USB-A to Lightning, can continue to use that.
yea! youre right..
just ignore the new cable.. use your old adaptor and cable.
de_ghost

424 posts

QUOTE(louis198920 @ Oct 14 2020, 11:11 AM)
yes of course this also biggrin.gif
vez
post Oct 14 2020, 11:14 AM

4,622 posts

then change to Iphone 6

the c to lightning cable support fast charge, you can use back your old iPhone 6 cable... if your charger adapter can output 5V 2-3A, by using back iPhone 6 cable able to draw 10-12W as well... not really fast, but is faster than 5V1A 5W

the cable usb c to lightning support Power Delivery (PD), by spec it suppose can let newer generation iPhone draw ~18W, thus, Apple call it fast charge sweat.gif you might notice a lot other Android maker mentioning charger they will stated Watt, e.g. 30W, 50W... fast charge

this year iPhone 12 lineup seems able to fast charge at 20W, probably 9V ~2.2A or 12V xA maybe...

Apple fast charge is miles behind many android maker which uses proprietary charging method because Apple is using USB PD... which use commonly in modern laptop

conclusion is, if you buy new iPhone 12 any model, without buying a USB C Power Delivery support charger, it wont fast charge your iPhone 12 laugh.gif
USB PD charger nowadays reliable brand is cheap, <RM50, some can get RM25-35
andrewtho

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

I was secretly wishing for the Magsafe to be compatible with the Apple Watch, so when I travel - I dont have to carry 2 wireless charger puck.
daimon

611 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 14 2020, 11:09 AM)
thanks sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

thought of using my original Iphone 6 adaptor and cable but cannot , kena buy new one

haishh this apple
louis198920
post Oct 14 2020, 11:15 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 14 2020, 11:12 AM)
Been charging my iPhones and iPad Pro with third party cables and adapters over the years. No issues.

But if you want to buy the original Apple one, it'll cost RM149

https://www.machines.com.my/products/18w-usb-c-power-adapter
bro, can get this 20W USB-C power brick, RM99

Link
TongCN
post Oct 14 2020, 11:15 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,643 posts

There are so many famous 3rd party with PD adapter and cable:

1) Aukey
2) Anker
3) Ugreen
4) Baseus
attw
post Oct 14 2020, 11:16 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(louis198920 @ Oct 14 2020, 11:15 AM)
bro, can get this 20W USB-C power brick, RM99

Link
Whoa, nice! Even cheaper too smile.gif
andrewtho

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 14 2020, 11:14 AM)
the c to lightning cable support fast charge, you can use back your old iPhone 6 cable... if your charger adapter can output 5V 2-3A, by using back iPhone 6 cable able to draw 10-12W as well... not really fast, but is faster than 5V1A 5W

the cable usb c to lightning support Power Delivery (PD), by spec it suppose can let newer generation iPhone draw ~18W, thus, Apple call it fast charge sweat.gif you might notice a lot other Android maker mentioning charger they will stated Watt, e.g. 30W, 50W... fast charge

this year iPhone 12 lineup seems able to fast charge at 20W, probably 9V ~2.2A or 12V xA maybe...

Apple fast charge is miles behind many android maker which uses proprietary charging method because Apple is using USB PD... which use commonly in modern laptop

conclusion is, if you buy new iPhone 12 any model, without buying a USB C Power Delivery support charger, it wont fast charge your iPhone 12 laugh.gif
For Pro devices, should move to USB C chargers instead of Lightning - how can they not thought of this man. iPad Pros already moved to USB C since 2018, why not the iPhones.
daimon

611 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 14 2020, 11:14 AM)

thank you for the explanation

my iphone 6 cable is USB A to lightning rclxs0.gif sweat.gif
louis198920
post Oct 14 2020, 11:17 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(daimon @ Oct 14 2020, 11:14 AM)
thanks  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

thought of using my original Iphone 6 adaptor and cable but cannot , kena buy new one

haishh this apple
bro, that's just the cable supplied together with the phone. The USB-C part goes to the charger and the lightning end goes to your iPhone. So yes, you can continue to use your iPhone 6 charger + adapter, with a slower charging time (which is not a bad thing actually).

285 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:34 PM