Apple Price Comparison, Over price

TSsupermassive
post Aug 13 2007, 12:06 PM, updated 19y ago

46 posts

Was doing some survey, found this results. It's based on APPLE (US) , (SG), and Malaysia price. Check it out its quite interesting. Do update the list if you think it's not accurate. All are at RETAIL price.

All pricing are converted to MYR Ringgit

1 SGD = 2.28926 MYR
1 USD = 3.47350 MYR

-http://www.xe.com-

Mac Pro
(basic model)
=================================
APPLE - Rm 8,677 // USD 2,499
SINGAPORE- Rm 10,233 // SG 4,471
MALAYSIA - Rm 9,999 //

Imac
20inch 2.0 ghz
APPLE - Rm 4,164 // USD 1,199
SINGAPORE- Rm 4,688 // SG 2,048
MALAYSIA - Rm 4,999 // from CG

Imac
20inch 2.4 ghz
APPLE - Rm 5,205 // USD 1,499
SINGAPORE- Rm 5,694 // SG 2,488
MALAYSIA - Rm 5,999 // from CG

Mac mini
(1.83ghz)
APPLE - Rm 2,080 // USD 599
SINGAPORE- Rm 2,398 // SG 1,048
MALAYSIA - Rm 2,399 //

Mac Mini
(2 ghz)
APPLE - Rm 2,774 // USD 799
SINGAPORE- Rm 3,085 // SG 1,348
MALAYSIA - Rm 3,199 //

Macbook Pro
15inch 2.2 ghz
APPLE - Rm 6,941 // USD 1,999
SINGAPORE- Rm 7,902 // SG 3,452
MALAYSIA - Rm 7,499 //

Macbook Pro
15inch 2.4 ghz
APPLE - Rm 8,680 // USD 2,499
SINGAPORE- Rm 9,765 // SG 4,267
MALAYSIA - Rm 9,299 //

Macbook Pro
17inch 2.4 ghz
APPLE - Rm 9,722 // USD 2,799
SINGAPORE- Rm 10,933// SG 4,777
MALAYSIA - Rm 10,499 //

Macbook
USD 1,099 13inch 2.0 ghz
APPLE - Rm 3,817 // USD 1,099
SINGAPORE- Rm 4,171 // SG 1,822
MALAYSIA - Rm 4,199 //

Macbook
13inch 2.16 ghz
APPLE - Rm 4,512 // USD 1,299
SINGAPORE- Rm 5,102 // SG 2,229
MALAYSIA - Rm 4,999 //

Macbook
13inch 2.16 ghz
APPLE - Rm 5,206 // USD 1,499
SINGAPORE- Rm 5,803// SG 2,535
MALAYSIA - Rm 5,699 //

Added on August 13, 2007, 12:09 pmI would say Malaysia sells cheaper then SG.

This post has been edited by supermassive: Aug 13 2007, 12:09 PM
tishaban
post Aug 13 2007, 01:44 PM

3,615 posts

Your iMac and Mac Mini prices are different from CG's own website or even the pinned thread on LYN's Apple Byte.

I notice that Apple Malaysia is lowering the prices for the new stock of computers coming in due to the lower exchange rate. The distributors are not willing to take a loss on the existing stock I guess.... biggrin.gif

jdreamer
post Aug 13 2007, 01:55 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Who wants to take a loss anyway? tongue.gif
xaw5126
post Aug 13 2007, 02:34 PM

3,488 posts

i'm repeating myself.
you guys want to see a change? write an official letter to Apple Malaysia as Mac users and protest the pricing.

I can't do this, because of who i am smile.gif
hairol83
post Aug 13 2007, 03:51 PM

344 posts

off topic..

@xaw5126
i can see u switch from iBook G4 to MacBook, nice! thumbup.gif
cRazYee
post Aug 13 2007, 09:34 PM

2,642 posts

the price is wrong for iMac and Mac mini
i just sold 1 Macmini 1.83 Core 2 duo on saturday, it is RM2299

iMac 20" 2.0"Ghz RM4799 (not RM4999)
iMac 20" 2.4 Ghz RM5799 (not RM5999)
http://www.cgcomputers.com/apple_iMac.htm

Macmini 1.83 Ghz RM2299 (not RM2399)
Macmini 2.0 Ghz RM2999 (not RM3199)
http://www.cgcomputers.com/apple_macmini.htm

and for the Macpro
i not sure which "Basic Model" are u refering to
but see this
http://www.cgcomputers.com/apple_PMG5.htm
Starting from RM 8699...

Added on August 13, 2007, 9:37 pmu know wat
u can get better price in japan compare to us (not every model)

for example Macbook pro 2.2Ghz 120GB
http://kakaku.com/ksearch/search.asp?Query...pro&C1=&C2=&L=l

then wat can u say
?

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Aug 13 2007, 09:42 PM
chizzu
post Aug 13 2007, 09:56 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

IINM US price doesn't include tax. So that is not the final price.

civic98
post Aug 13 2007, 10:11 PM

1,255 posts

I dont see a point in comparing these prices with overseas, not that we would actually travel to get it. The price difference is really not much, and very much reasonable looking at the cost needed to ship here.

If anyone wants to justify the prices, then compare with China, most (I'm not sure if all) are manufactured in China, shouldn't it be much cheaper there?

This post has been edited by civic98: Aug 13 2007, 10:13 PM
cRazYee
post Aug 14 2007, 03:13 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Aug 13 2007, 10:11 PM)
I dont see a point in comparing these prices with overseas, not that we would actually travel to get it. The price difference is really not much, and very much reasonable looking at the cost needed to ship here.

If anyone wants to justify the prices, then compare with China, most (I'm not sure if all) are manufactured in China, shouldn't it be much cheaper there?
good point u saying
rajulkabir
post Aug 14 2007, 03:16 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Aug 13 2007, 09:56 PM)
IINM US price doesn't include tax. So that is not the final price.
Not necessary to pay tax when you buy in US. Just buy mail-order from a retailer in another state. Or buy in a state with no tax.
cRazYee
post Aug 14 2007, 03:26 PM

2,642 posts

then easy for u
u order over US retail store
ask them to send it here

dont need to argue over here

maybe u guys have to check wat is VAT tax

i have a customer bought apple tv from us the price is just Rm 50 different (include VAT tax)

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Aug 14 2007, 03:28 PM
darkcurse
post Aug 14 2007, 07:11 PM

64 posts

Most states in the US have VAT tax, so the prices you see on the Apple store is not the final one as someone already has pointed out. The US is a very big place. "Going to a state with no tax" for them is not like "us going to Langkawi to buy cheap beer". Its too far and too much of a hassle. And do you know how much it'd cost for them to ship it here! Singapore also has VAT, but as foreigner's we don't need to pay the VAT so technically if you went down to Sg, bought the thing and carried it back without the packaging it'd be cheaper. You don't get to keep the packaging though haha

This post has been edited by darkcurse: Aug 14 2007, 07:12 PM
xaw5126
post Aug 14 2007, 08:06 PM

3,488 posts

post the box to your home address smile.gif
Bad Cyborg
post Aug 14 2007, 08:27 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(darkcurse @ Aug 14 2007, 07:11 PM)
technically if you went down to Sg, bought the thing and carried it back without the packaging it'd be cheaper. You don't get to keep the packaging though haha
Why don't you get to keep the box? My friend did that a couple of times, no problem at the gate whatsoever. But these days without a new round of battle between Singtel and Starhub, there are no discounted MacBooks, so there's really no point of going down there. After changing your currency to SGD + GST + petrol + expensive meals, you more or less end up with the same price.

This post has been edited by Bad Cyborg: Aug 14 2007, 08:29 PM
darkcurse
post Aug 14 2007, 08:37 PM

64 posts

Well to be on the safe side. Because if the customs officer's stopped you, you could say that you brought it over and didn't buy it from Sg. Without the box it'd be much more convincing tongue.gif Well, your friend is quite lucky then biggrin.gif
hellgirl
post Aug 15 2007, 10:48 AM

What about Hong Kong Pricing?....I think is much cheaper there!!

This post has been edited by hellgirl: Aug 15 2007, 10:48 AM
macball
post Aug 15 2007, 01:20 PM

259 posts

U guys should know that our sales tax is very high too.
cRazYee
post Aug 15 2007, 02:12 PM

2,642 posts

good point macball

actually, computer stuffs are already excluded some tax from our government. (not sure what's the name of tax)

maybe u can check the price at aussie, even pricey

Added on August 16, 2007, 8:41 pmjust check the price from apple store UK, US
actually the price stated on the website (US apple store) are excluded tax yet. u have to key in area code then will calculate the how much the tax is for u.

Price in UK is even bloody....
1st spec of Macbook pro is 1,299.00

i think this topic should be lock, it's pointess the argue over here.

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Aug 16 2007, 08:41 PM

0.0246sec    1.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:10 AM