Is the BMW X1 sDrive20i worth the money?

TSb0uld3r3r
post Oct 6 2020, 07:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Oct 5 2020, 08:56 AM)
X1 price range seems don't have much choices, a bit higher would be XC40, a bit lower will be CX5-T.
Why TS already owned a CRV still need another SUV?
Wife is driving the CR-V.
I have been jimat all of my working life.
Now only can afford some luxuries.

steven789
post Oct 6 2020, 07:52 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Oct 4 2020, 11:27 PM)
X50 only tapao the s18i, not the s20i. Considering in that race the X50 was only ahead the s18i by the tiniest margin, the s20i would smoke the X50.
Ya, my bad. S20i definitely more powerful.

But overall I think X1 is outdated. Don't even have AEB, right?
budang
post Oct 6 2020, 08:22 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ Oct 6 2020, 07:52 PM)
Ya, my bad. S20i definitely more powerful.

But overall I think X1 is outdated. Don't even have AEB, right?
It does, they have just included AEB like 2 months back.
constant_weight
post Oct 6 2020, 09:04 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(b0uld3r3r @ Oct 6 2020, 07:32 PM)
Wife is driving the CR-V.
I have been jimat all of my working life.
Now only can afford some luxuries.
Go to showroom see and touch the cars first. Touch them physically is different than seeing the pictures online.

After you touch the interior of Volvo, BMW, Audi, Lexus, old Mercedes, even new Mazda... you will get WTF moment you touch the new Mercedes that feels cheap, flimsy, fragile.

The door handles, seat belt buckles, air-cond vents, electric seat switches are just the same a eco Japanese car. The door hinges are so loose, I flung the door completely wide open on a W205 C300 AMG the first time I try that car.

What you get is fancy screen and interior mood light. No longer the old Mercedes we used to know, maybe except the S-Class.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Oct 6 2020, 09:06 PM
TSb0uld3r3r
post Oct 6 2020, 10:34 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Oct 6 2020, 09:04 PM)
Go to showroom see and touch the cars first. Touch them physically is different than seeing the pictures online.

After you touch the interior of Volvo, BMW, Audi, Lexus, old Mercedes, even new Mazda... you will get WTF moment you touch the new Mercedes that feels cheap, flimsy, fragile.

The door handles, seat belt buckles, air-cond vents, electric seat switches are just the same a eco Japanese car. The door hinges are so loose, I flung the door completely wide open on a W205 C300 AMG the first time I try that car.

What you get is fancy screen and interior mood light. No longer the old Mercedes we used to know, maybe except the S-Class.
What car do you recommend?

ksafimova P
post Oct 6 2020, 10:34 PM

Probation

I think it's definitely worth it. I myself drive a Mazda and am very happy with my purchase. The only difficulties with this car were only at the very beginning. I just work so hard that I didn't even have time to drive to get my new car. I then thought "how much does it cost to ship a car across the us". But I turned to the guys who were advised by my friends and I quickly solved this problem. That is, I am completely satisfied with everything. I have been driving for only two years, so far I cannot say any significant minuses. The only thing is that in winter it is sometimes cold to drive in the car, but this is not at all critical.
constant_weight
post Oct 6 2020, 10:50 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(b0uld3r3r @ Oct 6 2020, 10:34 PM)
What car do you recommend?
between XC40 and X1
jflee169
post Oct 7 2020, 10:39 AM

74 posts

It is best to test the shortlisted model and brand, do the test drive for each car. And also read the car review (though don't entirely trust the reviewer)
Find out the long term maintenance cost, i.e. after warranty and continue with SC.
What is the common issue of the shortlisted car.
It is always excited and emotional to get the first conti-car in our life. But, sit down and think long term about cost of maintaining it and resale value.
Talking about resale value, Volvo and BMW are not having good resale value. For instance, recently there were few company cars ( 2 F30 328i and 3 W205 C200, all same year 2015) for sale to car dealers. Merc has 30% higher value than BMW offered by the car dealer. Some car dealer reluctant to quote the value for BMW.
The nice for BMW is free 5 years maintenance. But, according to friend owned BMW during the 5 year free maintenance, each time complaint and inspection sure no issue. After 5 years, the SC will tell this and that need to replace and repair, that's where the bill kicks in.

In addition, X1 is definitely smaller than GLC, either from exterior size or interior size (leg room, head room and bonnet).

At the end of the day, it is your decision based on your own judgement.

Happy motoring!
trapezohedron13
post Oct 7 2020, 03:56 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Oct 6 2020, 10:50 PM)
between XC40 and X1
Ya, good shortlist there bro
dwRK
post Oct 7 2020, 04:40 PM

the consummate chartist
5,117 posts

x1 more fun to drive than glc

not yet driven the xc40...
littlefire
post Oct 7 2020, 04:46 PM

2,146 posts

If want SUV from BMW, the best is either X3, X5 & X6.
The best handling is the latest X3 G01 series and if you go google it is one of the best handling & value premium SUV. If you cant affort new 1, go get a used or recond (I believe started since 2018). The 2.0 turbo engine in the latest gen X3 B48 engine is one of the much improved engine and even used in the Toyota Supra selling in Japan & certain Europe market. It is RWD or AWD version.
You will need to get to know BMW handling by getting the RWD version, if not buying a FWD is like purchasing any other common cars.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 7 2020, 04:47 PM
tpleong
post Oct 8 2020, 08:05 AM

795 posts

2019 - X3 pre-owned frpm BMW premium selection is around RM235k . Better value for money
romuluz777
post Oct 8 2020, 10:18 AM

1,447 posts

The GLC is a competitor to the G01 X3, not the current X1.
jflee169
post Oct 8 2020, 12:56 PM

74 posts

A basic spec of new X1 sDrive20i F48 costs RM 220,010.80 (that was 2019 price) and before discount. You probably get a 6% discount or extra. Then, the optional add-on of M BMW M Performance Kit which price at RM 21,872.15. The dealer may give FOC Tinting, Coating and BMW Dash Cam.
And not forgetting 5 years / 100k mileage BSI / Unlimited Mileage Warranty.

The above information was from August 2019.
littlefire
post Oct 8 2020, 01:35 PM

2,146 posts

QUOTE(jflee169 @ Oct 8 2020, 01:56 PM)
A basic spec of new X1 sDrive20i F48 costs RM 220,010.80 (that was 2019 price) and before discount. You probably get a 6% discount or extra. Then, the optional add-on of M BMW M Performance Kit which price at RM 21,872.15. The dealer may give FOC Tinting, Coating and BMW Dash Cam.
And not forgetting 5 years / 100k mileage BSI / Unlimited Mileage Warranty.

The above information was from August 2019.
With that kind of money i would rather get a pre-own 2019 X3 which expensive around 10k only and get RWD... icon_idea.gif
romuluz777
post Oct 8 2020, 02:05 PM

1,447 posts

If budget allows, you should top up a bit to get a BPS pre-reg 2019 X3 with all wheel drive, Lux spec.

As an example :-
https://www.bmwpremiumselection.com.my/buy-...mw/x3/2290.html

Not to say that the F48 is a bad car, it isn't.
But as most Malaysians will go for the biggest bang for the buck.
An X3 is the way to go...boxy shape aside.

jflee169
post Oct 8 2020, 02:52 PM

74 posts

The mentioned information was for company car. Actually, I didn't add the Wheelset package which cost 18k. Hahaha..

Agreed to get the pre-owned 2019 X3.

Too bad home minister don't like BMW, I have to get the 2019 pre-owned GLC 250 at 260k with mileage less than 1k km.

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 8 2020, 01:35 PM)
With that kind of money i would rather get a pre-own 2019 X3 which expensive around 10k only and get RWD...  icon_idea.gif
mitkey06
post Oct 8 2020, 02:56 PM

95 posts

toyota harrier premium with the all the highend feature make the cut ?
jflee169
post Oct 8 2020, 03:34 PM

74 posts

I like the Harrier Turbo by UMW Toyota, but the price almost same as GLC. From brand perspective, later win. But from comfort perspective, Harrier may be better than GLC. GLC come with 20" rim and run flat tire.

QUOTE(mitkey06 @ Oct 8 2020, 02:56 PM)
toyota harrier premium with the all the highend feature make the cut ?
aperturef1
post Oct 9 2020, 08:07 AM

102 posts

Better don’t compare X1 to GLC

X1 X2 rival to GLA
X3 X4 rival to GLC
X5 X6 rival to GLE

Don’t you agree?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top