Best wireless broadband without contract?

TSBlueForce
post Oct 1 2020, 11:44 PM, updated 6y ago

I have a 2nd home in Puchong (condo) and is currently using Maxis phone data. Maxis service have been very bad as of late and my internet connection is very bad & unstable.

I come to stay here once in awhile and thinking of not signing a 2-year contract if possible because no one else lives here, it would be a waste. However, signing up fast internet like Time is tempting...

Any recommendations?

I am also thinking of switching my Maxis line to Celcom line as it's more stable and faster...

Open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance!! smile.gif
alextan99
post Oct 1 2020, 11:56 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

if you don't mind on the cost then its Digi Infinite but depends on the coverage on your place
TSBlueForce
post Oct 1 2020, 11:58 PM

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Oct 1 2020, 11:56 PM)
if you don't mind on the cost then its Digi Infinite but depends on the coverage on your place
Thanks for your reply. I am not too sure how good is Digi here but I will take a look at the plan. Thanks
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 2 2020, 10:43 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

As a budget-conscious and casual home-single-user, I have been a satisfied postpaid U Mobile GX50 subscriber since Jan 2019. My home location has strong 4G signal = good 4G network coverage. YMMV.
....... Affordable postpaid GX50 = RM50 per month for "unlimited"-data, unlimited calls, 5GB of hotspot data, 5Mbps, video-streaming limited to 1080p/FHD/3Mbps, no monthly FUP limit atm, etc - should not be used with 4G modems.

Also check out the other prepaid and postpaid GX phone plans, eg prepaid GX38 = unlimited speed, 6GB hotspot data, etc.

Also, ....... https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4977151/+680#bottom - > Prepaid Unlimited Data & Call Price War 2020, Who will be the winner
Left4Dead2
post Oct 2 2020, 11:39 AM

1,103 posts

Eh Bro, im same situation with one and condo in Puchong too

I need some internet for surfing internet and gaming

Currently using umobile but not stable at night

What people suggestion ?
Left4Dead2
post Oct 2 2020, 11:49 AM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 2 2020, 10:43 AM)
As a budget-conscious and casual home-single-user, I have been a satisfied postpaid U Mobile GX50 subscriber since Jan 2019. My home location has strong 4G signal = good 4G network coverage. YMMV.
....... Affordable postpaid GX50 = RM50 per month for "unlimited"-data, unlimited calls, 5GB of hotspot data, 5Mbps, video-streaming limited to 1080p/FHD/3Mbps, no monthly FUP limit atm, etc - should not be used with 4G modems.

Also check out the other prepaid and postpaid GX phone plans, eg prepaid GX38 = unlimited speed, 6GB hotspot data, etc.

Also, ....... https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4977151/+680#bottom - > Prepaid Unlimited Data & Call Price War 2020, Who will be the winner
Where is your area ?

And if i connect to my laptop with phone as hotspot, then i will be limited to 5GB instead of unlimited ?

Does laptop youtube count as unlimited video streaming or 5GB hotspot ?
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 2 2020, 12:18 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Oct 2 2020, 11:49 AM)
Where is your area ?

And if i connect to my laptop with phone as hotspot, then i will be limited to 5GB instead of unlimited ?

Does laptop youtube count as unlimited video streaming or 5GB hotspot ?
See my avatar info for my rough location.

To find out, test and monitor your hotspot data usage with laptop youtube via the MyUMobile app = should be limited to 5GB per month and hotspot video-streaming Youtube should be unlimited up to 5Mbps(= 4k/2160p.?).

Online gaming requires a latency/ping of <50ms = the game server must be located <1,000 miles from your location, eg in Singapore, not in China, SKorea, Japan, Europe or USA. I believe Mobile Legend, PUBG Mobile and COD Mobile have servers located in Singapore. But certain celcos give better latency/ping = eg test the Big 3 celcos by buying their prepaid Starter packs = about RM10 each.
TSBlueForce
post Oct 2 2020, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 2 2020, 10:43 AM)

GREAT info! thanks for your help

yea I am not too sure how good, I live nearby Koi Kinrara area. Currently I have Maxis and Celcom.. Maxis is pretty bad but Celcom is decent. Need to try out digi and also U Mobile.

how does the 'hotspot' data work? when I use Maxis/Celcom, I just tether as I like without having this hotspot data plan, etc.

5Mbps isn't it a bit slow?

thanks!
TSBlueForce
post Oct 2 2020, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Oct 2 2020, 11:39 AM)
Eh Bro, im same situation with one and condo in Puchong too

I need some internet for surfing internet and gaming

Currently using umobile but not stable at night

What people suggestion ?
hahaha ya, we do need help... gotta seek for advise

SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 2 2020, 04:59 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BlueForce @ Oct 2 2020, 03:09 PM)
GREAT info! thanks for your help

yea I am not too sure how good, I live nearby Koi Kinrara area. Currently I have Maxis and Celcom.. Maxis is pretty bad but Celcom is decent. Need to try out digi and also U Mobile.

how does the 'hotspot' data work? when I use Maxis/Celcom, I just tether as I like without having this hotspot data plan, etc.

5Mbps isn't it a bit slow?

thanks!
Correction on the prepaid GX38 phone plan = 6Mbps. Postpaid GX68 is unlimited speed.

5Mbps is sufficient for single-user for most online activities, except video-streaming at 4k/2160p/UHD on TV >54" in size(= needs at least 8Mbps; if live-streaming = 32Mbps) or downloading large files of >10GB in size. .......
https://shopee.com.my/Vention-WiFi-Display-...6286.4105427517 - Vention WiFi Display Dongle 4K Wireless HDMI Adapter Airplay Miracast for TV Stick - Compatible with iOS Mac Windows - RM79 - RM119

Hotspot is when we use the built-in 4G modem-router of the smartphone to share 4G Internet data with other devices(= hotspot data), either via Wifi or wired/USB cable = tethering.
....... Only high-end phone plans like postpaid Digi Infinite 150 and (GLC)TM Unifi Mobile prepaid Bebas Weekly/Monthly give unlimited hotspot data. YES phone plans do not give any monthly hotspot data. Why limited hotspot data per month.? = to minimize network congestion.

TSBlueForce
post Oct 3 2020, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 2 2020, 04:59 PM)
Correction on the prepaid GX38 phone plan = 6Mbps. Postpaid GX68 is unlimited speed.

5Mbps is sufficient for single-user for most online activities, except video-streaming at 4k/2160p/UHD on TV >54" in size(= needs at least 8Mbps; if live-streaming = 32Mbps) or downloading large files of >10GB in size. .......
https://shopee.com.my/Vention-WiFi-Display-...6286.4105427517 - Vention WiFi Display Dongle 4K Wireless HDMI Adapter Airplay Miracast for TV Stick - Compatible with iOS Mac Windows - RM79 - RM119

Hotspot is when we use the built-in 4G modem-router of the smartphone to share 4G Internet data with other devices(= hotspot data), either via Wifi or wired/USB cable = tethering.
....... Only high-end phone plans like postpaid Digi Infinite 150 and (GLC)TM Unifi Mobile prepaid Bebas Weekly/Monthly give unlimited hotspot data. YES phone plans do not give any monthly hotspot data. Why limited hotspot data per month.? = to minimize network congestion.
Thanks for your recommendation. Today I went to the mall to try out U-Mobile for 1 month. The GX68.

At the IOI City Mall Puchong, I am getting 40 to 55Mbps, but when I get back to my place nearby Koi Kinrara, it's between 1 to 10Mbps, along with 1 bar signal for phone most of the time...

This area too much traffic and signal is very congested I guess :/

SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 3 2020, 11:32 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BlueForce @ Oct 3 2020, 11:11 PM)
Thanks for your recommendation. Today I went to the mall to try out U-Mobile for 1 month. The GX68.

At the IOI City Mall Puchong, I am getting 40 to 55Mbps, but when I get back to my place nearby Koi Kinrara, it's between 1 to 10Mbps, along with 1 bar signal for phone most of the time...

This area too much traffic and signal is very congested I guess :/
I just checked Google Map. Koi Kinrara condo is at a high elevation. 4G cell signals are line-of-sight and do not reach high elevation or condo floors above 20 storey - afaik. IOW, 4G/3G cell towers serve mostly those around ground level. Which floor are you staying.? Have you tested the speed at the ground floor.?

Maybe you can try this gadget, .......

https://shopee.com.my/2G-3G-4G-Signal-Boost...ASABEgI50fD_BwE - 2G 3G 4G Signal Booster Tri Band Amplifier LTE Repeater GSM DCS UMTS B8 900MHz B3 1800MHz B1 2100MHz - RM315

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U_Mobile = Band 7/2600MHz, Band 1/2100MHz and Band 3/1800MHz.

https://opencellid.org/#zoom=17&lat=3.06291&lon=101.62633 ... shows that Jalan Nuri 10 has a U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower quite near Koi Kinrara.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 4 2020, 12:12 AM
TSBlueForce
post Oct 4 2020, 01:31 AM

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 3 2020, 11:32 PM)
I just checked Google Map. Koi Kinrara condo is at a high elevation. 4G cell signals are line-of-sight and do not reach high elevation or condo floors above 20 storey - afaik. IOW, 4G/3G cell towers serve mostly those around ground level. Which floor are you staying.? Have you tested the speed at the ground floor.?

Maybe you can try this gadget, .......

https://shopee.com.my/2G-3G-4G-Signal-Boost...ASABEgI50fD_BwE - 2G 3G 4G Signal Booster Tri Band Amplifier LTE Repeater GSM DCS UMTS B8 900MHz B3 1800MHz B1 2100MHz - RM315

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U_Mobile = Band 7/2600MHz, Band 1/2100MHz and Band 3/1800MHz.

https://opencellid.org/#zoom=17&lat=3.06291&lon=101.62633  ... shows that Jalan Nuri 10 has a U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower quite near Koi Kinrara.
Thanks for helping.

Yes I do live on top of the hill. But my floor not too high, 8th floor only. Ground floor kinda the same but I think is slightly better.

I stay higher up the hill, Impian Height condo.

I saw orange U and blue L, what does that mean?

SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 4 2020, 08:52 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BlueForce @ Oct 4 2020, 01:31 AM)
Thanks for helping.

Yes I do live on top of the hill. But my floor not too high, 8th floor only. Ground floor kinda the same but I think is slightly better.

I stay higher up the hill, Impian Height condo.

I saw orange U and blue L, what does that mean?

blue L = 4G LTE; orange U = UMTS/HSDPA/H+ or 3G; red G = GSM = 2G.

Looks like your nearest 4G LTE cell tower is Digi(= at Jln Pipit 1 = MNC 16) and Celcom(MNC 19) = you should go for either of these two celcos because of your location's high elevation, ie on top of a hill plus 8th floor.

If you stick with U Mobile, then you should shop for the 4G LTE cell signal booster, eg single LTE Band 7/2600MHz ones cost about RM150 each.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 4 2020, 08:55 AM
TSBlueForce
post Oct 4 2020, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 4 2020, 08:52 AM)
blue L = 4G LTE; orange U = UMTS/HSDPA/H+ or 3G; red G = GSM = 2G.

Looks like your nearest 4G LTE cell tower is Digi(= at Jln Pipit 1 = MNC 16) and Celcom(MNC 19) = you should go for either of these two celcos because of your location's high elevation, ie on top of a hill plus 8th floor.

If you stick with U Mobile, then you should shop for the 4G LTE cell signal booster, eg single LTE Band 7/2600MHz ones cost about RM150 each.
WOW! nice thank you very much

can you tell me more about MNC codes in Malaysia?
12?
153?
18?

SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 4 2020, 10:27 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BlueForce @ Oct 4 2020, 10:08 AM)
WOW! nice thank you very much

can you tell me more about MNC codes in Malaysia?
12?
153?
18?

https://mcc-mnc-list.com/list = type Malaysia in the Search box.

TSBlueForce
post Oct 4 2020, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 4 2020, 10:27 AM)
https://mcc-mnc-list.com/list = type Malaysia in the Search box.
Thanks for all your help.

Ground floor U-mobile I can get 100 plus actually wow but 8th floor I can only have 1 bar signal with less than 10Mbps sadly :/
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 4 2020, 11:55 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BlueForce @ Oct 4 2020, 11:41 PM)
Thanks for all your help.

Ground floor U-mobile I can get 100 plus actually wow but 8th floor I can only have 1 bar signal with less than 10Mbps sadly :/
You are welcome.
100+Mbps means your smartphone is receiving 4G+ or Carrier Aggregation cell signals from the U Mobile cell tower. CA or 4G+ combines the use of 2 or more 4G LTE Bands to give >30Mbps(up to 30Mbps is a single LTE Band being used) when there is no network congestion. Only mobile devices specified as LTE Cat 6 or above supports CA/4G+.

Low to mid-end 4G phones, 4G modem-routers and 4G cell signal boosters usually do not support CA/4G+.

Note that 3G/4G cell signals are line-of-sight and the higher frequency Bands are easily blocked by walls, eg U Mobile Band 7/2600MHz = our mobile devices should face towards outside into the open air. You should note the position of the nearby cell towers wrt your condo-facing location, ie whether got direct line-of-sight to the cell tower or not.

Please let us know which celco you will be settling on.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 5 2020, 12:05 AM
TSBlueForce
post Oct 5 2020, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 4 2020, 11:55 PM)
You are welcome.
100+Mbps means your smartphone is receiving 4G+ or Carrier Aggregation cell signals from the U Mobile cell tower. CA or 4G+ combines the use of 2 or more 4G LTE Bands to give >30Mbps(up to 30Mbps is a single LTE Band being used) when there is no network congestion. Only mobile devices specified as LTE Cat 6 or above supports CA/4G+.

Low to mid-end  4G phones, 4G modem-routers and 4G cell signal boosters usually do not support CA/4G+.

Note that 3G/4G cell signals are line-of-sight and the higher frequency Bands are easily blocked by walls, eg U Mobile Band 7/2600MHz = our mobile devices should face towards outside into the open air. You should note the position of the nearby cell towers wrt your condo-facing location, ie whether got direct line-of-sight to the cell tower or not.

Please let us know which celco you will be settling on.
The closest L to me is 153, unifi webe. Thinking if I should try out the unifi bebas... but heard it's capped at 8Mbps so it's a bit meh...

worst come to the worst I should just sign up with times, the 100Mbps cheapest package at RM99 :/
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 5 2020, 10:51 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BlueForce @ Oct 5 2020, 12:38 AM)
The closest L to me is 153, unifi webe. Thinking if I should try out the unifi bebas... but heard it's capped at 8Mbps so it's a bit meh...

worst come to the worst I should just sign up with times, the 100Mbps cheapest package at RM99 :/
I do not see any Unifi Webe LTE cell tower near you. I only see Digi(= MNC 16) and Celcom(= MNC 19) LTE cell towers near you. Maybe you are confused by the LAC 153 of the Celcom cell tower. Note that for 3G/4G, TM Unifi Mobile ride-shares or piggy-backs on Celcom's 3G/4G network when it has no coverage of its own since both companies are owned by Khazanah Nasional.

So, if you try Unifi Bebas at your location, you are actually using Celcom's 4G/3G, ie not Unifi Webe 4G LTE. TM Unifi Mobile has no 3G network.

Note that 4G LTE is fast mobile Internet only, while 3G is voice calls/SMS and slower mobile Internet; and 2G is only voice calls/SMS.
....... 4G VoLTE is voice over LTE Internet(similar to VoIP) = much shorter range of 1km to 5km/3miles than pure 3G/2G voice calls which can reach up to 20 miles/36km in range.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 5 2020, 10:52 AM

0.0219sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:39 PM