Orthopaedic surgeons doctor for knee

sailou
post Sep 29 2020, 09:30 AM

594 posts

Want reasonable price go to Tung Shin. Look for Dr Low Eu Huat. He is very famous there already.

Be prepared to wait for 2 hours and incase if you really want to do it there, try to get the better private room cos the wards are abit rundown.
desmond2020
post Sep 29 2020, 09:32 AM

797 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Sep 29 2020, 09:30 AM)
Want reasonable price go to Tung Shin. Look for Dr Low Eu Huat. He is very famous there already.

Be prepared to wait for 2 hours and incase if you really want to do it there, try to get the better private room cos the wards are abit rundown.
There are at least 3 other ortho surgeon there, worth to wait 2 hours meh?
cloudwin
post Sep 29 2020, 09:42 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 29 2020, 09:08 AM)
need to take for how long to see the effect. i think last time i took but didn't see much difference.
supplement is a continuous course probably whole life, it is not a medicine that take now then the problem gone tomorrow. Even if you confirmed to have arthritis, Dr will still advice you to take glucosamine constantly to ensure you are healthy.

Do note that you need supplement with Glucosamine+Chondroitin together, not the glucosamine alone coz chondroitin is the 1 deal with your pain. Normal adult consumption is Glucosamine (1000mg) + Chondroitin (800mg), you could just increase the dosage initially if needed. The wonder of supplement is you could just drop it if you feel your body react differently on it
TSngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2020, 09:43 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Sep 29 2020, 10:30 AM)

Tung Shin how much around?
TSngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2020, 09:44 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Sep 29 2020, 10:42 AM)
supplement is a continuous course probably whole life, it is not a medicine that take now then the problem gone tomorrow. Even if you confirmed to have arthritis, Dr will still advice you to take glucosamine constantly to ensure you are healthy.

Do note that you need supplement with Glucosamine+Chondroitin together, not the glucosamine alone coz chondroitin is the 1 deal with your pain. Normal adult consumption is Glucosamine (1000mg) + Chondroitin (800mg), you could just increase the dosage initially if needed. The wonder of supplement is you could just drop it if you feel your body react differently on it
Thanks for the info thumbup.gif
jepakazoid_82
post Sep 29 2020, 09:47 AM

829 posts

Pls spend some time also deciding on the proper orthopedics expert for your knee. You have to understand what are the near term solution vs long term effect for any decision taken.
mushigen
post Sep 29 2020, 09:47 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Sep 29 2020, 08:33 AM)
while looking for Dr, have you taken Glucosamine+Chondroitin supplement? if No, suggest to get from pharmacy soonest as you can as the supplement make a lot of differences in easing your inflammation and replacing your soft tissue.
A few pharmacists I spoke to now recommend collagen (can't recall which type) instead of glucosamine.
cloudwin
post Sep 29 2020, 10:05 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 29 2020, 09:47 AM)
A few pharmacists I spoke to now recommend collagen (can't recall which type) instead of glucosamine.
Depends on your interest bro as both targeted on replenishing your soft cartilage tissue. Sorry to tell i have no right to compare because I'm not a Dr but only a consumer laugh.gif

Glucosamine/chondroitin is a well known formula whereas collagen still new and not many pharmaceutical company has the product. So, it turn out glucosamine/chondroitin is more cost effective and favor.

Previously i tried a product made out of chicken feet collagen and the results doesn't seems 'better' aside the cost is x3 more expensive than normal Glucosamin/chondroitin. So, after taken for 4-5 months i dropped it tongue.gif

TSngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2020, 10:12 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

What about the the injection? Some of my friends who runs a lot went for some kind of injection. Are they injecting collagen?
agent1trans
post Sep 29 2020, 10:36 AM

18 posts

I had mine done at Ara damansara hospital. Under Dr Tai for rm15k, thankfully for the medical card.

Did the MRI scan at KPJ and was told it was a torn acl, then was recommended to see Dr Tai and he examine my knee and the mri result. Then he did the endoscopy for me instead of following the scan recommendation, coz he mentioned that my knee doesn't exhibit the typical ACL injury. A huge relief for me as I avoided 6months of recovery agony if I went with the ACL, instead, I was able to walk with crutches the next day after the surgery. It was a torn meniscus instead of ACL. Makes me wonder how many doc had removed the ACL by blindly following the MRI scan. The doc that attended me at KPJ too agree with the scan and wanted to perform the ACL surgery on me.

Dr Tai had done knee replacement surgery for my mum and several relatives b4 me. He come as a highly recommended doc. My mum chose him after several years of research for the right doc.

Besides, do note that, not all doc will be able to take ur medical card. 1 of the doc that attended me at KPJ was deemed as blacklisted by my Medical card, I had to pay myself for the consultation, spend an additional night after the MRI scan with another doctor to use my medical card.
pillage2001
post Sep 29 2020, 11:03 AM

1,894 posts

Above all......pay and get a MRI done and analyzed then you know what are your next steps.
MrBaba
post Sep 29 2020, 11:04 AM

2,123 posts

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Sep 29 2020, 08:33 AM)
while looking for Dr, have you taken Glucosamine+Chondroitin supplement? if No, suggest to get from pharmacy soonest as you can as the supplement make a lot of differences in easing your inflammation and replacing your soft tissue.
Depend on ppl one some okay some no effect at all.
sailou
post Sep 29 2020, 11:08 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Sep 29 2020, 09:32 AM)
There are at least 3 other ortho surgeon there, worth to wait 2 hours meh?
Isn't it obvious this ortho is famous there everyone needs to wait 2 hours?

He has been there for quite a long time and.
dogbert_chew
post Sep 29 2020, 11:15 AM

1,126 posts

QUOTE(agent1trans @ Sep 29 2020, 10:36 AM)
. Makes me wonder how many doc had removed the ACL by blindly following the MRI scan. The doc that attended me at KPJ too agree with the scan and wanted to perform the ACL surgery on me.

My mum chose him after several years of research for the right doc.

1 of the doc that attended me at KPJ was deemed as blacklisted by my Medical card,
Blacklisted by Insurance is usually a clear sign of excessive medical procedures.

Need to be wary of doctors performing unnecessary ones for financial needs, one very common one is Caesarean delivery, fast and expensive surgery cutting through the womb tissues and muscles compared to normal one which may take very long (doctor need to wait)
oldman
post Sep 29 2020, 11:18 AM

[VERY] senior member
956 posts

Hello TS, I think this thread is a good read

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1707146&hl=knee

But if you're just feeling pain at the knee, just go for check up with specialist first.

Personally, I went with Dr. Khoo at Columbia Asia Hospital in Puchong, by recommendation. Mine was meniscus tear, and was in hospital for 3 days. Bill was around 20k, by company insurance.

Dr. Gan at KPJ Damansara is quite famous, and the last time I tried, there was like a month waiting list for the appointment.
TSngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2020, 11:37 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

X-ray can see the problem?
tankerbell12345
post Sep 29 2020, 11:54 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 29 2020, 10:12 AM)
What about the the injection? Some of my friends who runs a lot went for  some kind of injection. Are they injecting collagen?
take glucosamine sulfate or dhea or dhea cream.

if u want to do injection go for stem cells. dr ranjit singh gill

Loki666
post Sep 29 2020, 12:19 PM

I had 2 ACL ops. First one at a private hospital that I shall not name. Ortho surgeon placed graft improperly and caused me a limp as range of movement was impeded by the badly placed graft. After 1 year post surgery with physio not helping went to consult Dr Saw Khay Yong at KL Sports Medicine Center. Had to remove graft, 6 months physio to regain full range and then redo the ACL op. So long story short important to pick a good surgeon.

Ps. I ended up suing the 1st ortho as at KLSMC during phyio met 2 other ppl who had their surgeries screwed up by the 1st surgeon.
notadupe999
post Sep 29 2020, 03:58 PM

188 posts

I met one who wanted to operate on my frozen shoulder without any proper scans as soon as he heard I had company insurance. Fortunately, I backed off. Stretching seems to have cured it.

Just wanted to tell you to be careful and seek second opinions. These guys can be unscrupulous, even with nice sounding titles and awards in front of the "Dr" in their names.
Kilohertz
post Sep 29 2020, 08:18 PM

2,172 posts

Dr. Ezlan Merican - Pantai Ampang Hosp

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0136sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:23 AM