Q&A Why hotel/resort nowadays late check in?
TSThe Residences
Sep 23 2020, 04:53 PM, updated 6y ago

Last time I still remembered if we went for a holiday, we can check in hotel as early as 1PM, but after that they start delay to 2pm, and now they delay it until 3PM. Why hotel/resorts nowadays required customer to late check in to hotel? Last week went to vacation at PD, check in 3pm, now I book again to for holiday at Perak, check in at 3pm. Book a hotel for 2 days 1 night stay is not worth anymore due to late check in to hotel This post has been edited by The Residences: Sep 23 2020, 04:57 PM
ClericKilla
Sep 23 2020, 04:56 PM
They don’t need to rush since there is no demand.
If you book nice hotels also they can accommodate your check out time until 3pm max.
That’s why hotel ask you what time your expected arrival time.
This post has been edited by ClericKilla: Sep 23 2020, 04:57 PM
TSThe Residences
Sep 23 2020, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Sep 23 2020, 04:56 PM) They don’t need to rush since there is no demand. If you book nice hotels also they can accommodate your check out time until 3pm max. That’s why hotel ask you what time your expected arrival time. Let say if I book a hotel stay at Agoda and mention I will arrive around 2pm, they will allow me to check in at 2pm? Haven't used Agoda for quite long time, can't remember much
knives.
Sep 23 2020, 04:59 PM

You can leave your bags and go out in the meantime, for lunch perhaps idk.
Then when it’s time, comfortably come and check in.
This post has been edited by knives.: Sep 23 2020, 05:02 PM
knives.
Sep 23 2020, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(The Residences @ Sep 23 2020, 04:58 PM) Let say if I book a hotel stay at Agoda and mention I will arrive around 2pm, they will allow me to check in at 2pm? Haven't used Agoda for quite long time, can't remember much Call the hotel and ask them what time is check in. Then obviously you can check in.
Maxxone88
Sep 23 2020, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(knives. @ Sep 23 2020, 04:59 PM) You can leave your bags and go out in the meantime, for lunch perhaps idk. Then when it’s time, comfortable come and check in. Yup. This applies to most hotels not only in Malaysia. But abroad as well.
slaveone
Sep 23 2020, 05:01 PM
less income = lesser staff for house cleaning. so they just increase their buffer time.
tvcat
Sep 23 2020, 05:03 PM
plan ur trip accordingly to the check in/out time la, wat so hard? u tak sukak u ask for early/late check in
This post has been edited by tvcat: Sep 23 2020, 05:03 PM
yeezai
Sep 23 2020, 05:03 PM
Staff malas lettew ...check out kena 12 but check in 3
zstan
Sep 23 2020, 05:04 PM
just ask la if can check in earlier. some allow. especially now with so little occupancy.
BronzePlate
Sep 23 2020, 05:05 PM
So that they can provide option of early check-in for a small fee.
jibpek
Sep 23 2020, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(yeezai @ Sep 23 2020, 05:03 PM) Staff malas lettew ...check out kena 12 but check in 3 They need time for cleaning. They can't promise you can check in early.
BuKeYi
Sep 23 2020, 05:07 PM
u can check in earlier la, provided if still got rooms then will help u check in directly. otherwise u can leave ur luggage with them, when u're back they will give u the card key.
fireballs
Sep 23 2020, 05:08 PM
because people check out late? also because not enough staff to clear room
cedyy
perhaps due to longer time to do housekeeping due to covid. have to sanitise here and there
TSThe Residences

QUOTE(tvcat @ Sep 23 2020, 05:03 PM) plan ur trip accordingly to the check in/out time la, wat so hard? u tak sukak u ask for early/late check in People usually have lunch around 12.30 or 1pm. So by 2pm, many people want to check in to rest for a while, take a shower and so on. I understand it's just delay for 1 hour, but still it's kinda waste of time waiting tbh.
ClericKilla
QUOTE(The Residences @ Sep 23 2020, 04:58 PM) Let say if I book a hotel stay at Agoda and mention I will arrive around 2pm, they will allow me to check in at 2pm? Haven't used Agoda for quite long time, can't remember much Technically they should let you check in by 2pm but sometimes due to the previous guest that occupy the room you have they may have take longer time to clean. An instance whereby I arrive Aman Tokyo at 2pm but my check in time was pushed to later 4. It happens sometimes but as guest you surely don’t feel nice to get this message. They offered something as gratitude of patience but it’s all good.
JimbeamofNRT
Sep 23 2020, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(The Residences @ Sep 23 2020, 04:58 PM) Let say if I book a hotel stay at Agoda and mention I will arrive around 2pm, they will allow me to check in at 2pm? Haven't used Agoda for quite long time, can't remember much standard check in is 3PM and above and yes, if u book using 3rd party like agoda/booking.com/any apps basically you are at their mercy since u are somewhat labelled as cheapskate which basically chances u will get the farthest room from the elevator/room without window/haunted room is real best thing is u should call them in advance, ask nicely for published rate, and ask the PIC if he/she is around during check in so that you can mentioned his/her name to the management for the excellent service and yes, give some good tips. the front desk will take a good care of you. true story This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Sep 23 2020, 05:12 PM
tvcat
Sep 23 2020, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(The Residences @ Sep 23 2020, 05:08 PM) People usually have lunch around 12.30 or 1pm. So by 2pm, many people want to check in to rest for a while, take a shower and so on. I understand it's just delay for 1 hour, but still it's kinda waste of time waiting tbh. dat y i say plan accordingly la bro, tak kan u eat eraly or late sikit can die wat, adoi
Juan86
Sep 23 2020, 05:12 PM
3pm is latest