hi, i wanna ask for the opinion about SPC flooring. is it recommended? what is the normal thickness of SPC should i go? the contractor recommends 3.7mm with underlay 1mm.
SPC flooring
Sep 14 2020, 05:23 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
98 posts Joined: May 2019 |
hi, i wanna ask for the opinion about SPC flooring. is it recommended? what is the normal thickness of SPC should i go? the contractor recommends 3.7mm with underlay 1mm.
Sep 25 2020, 12:00 PM
96 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(Noobmaster.69 @ Sep 14 2020, 05:23 PM) hi, i wanna ask for the opinion about SPC flooring. is it recommended? what is the normal thickness of SPC should i go? the contractor recommends 3.7mm with underlay 1mm. SPC FlooringStrength:- i. Water resistant i. Compared to laminate flooring - Water resistant ii. Compared to luxury vinyl plank (e.g. Allure Flooring) - Allure flooring is better in terms of water as vinyl is water proof ii. Dent resistant compared to wood as SPC = stone plastic composite iii. Thermite-proof (stone and plastic) Weakness: i. Malaysia market has a lot of cheap low quality 4mm SPC with no attached underlayment. (Made from China e.g. RM4-6 per sqft) ii. Feels quite hard compared to wood. It feels almost the same hardness as ceramic tiles. ______________________________________________________________________ How do you consider one as low quality? i. Not Virgin material (can google) ii. SPC composition (Stone more than plastic), very stiff, if bend then pecah; higher quality ones are more flexible iii. body thickness: 4mm is the thinnest (3.7mm i would avoid this at all cost). I would go for 5mm at least. iv. Wear layer thickness: 0.3mm is the thinnest; i would go for 0.5mm. v. Lack of UV layer (e.g. near window or door, color fade easily) vi. The click and lock easy pecah if you use your finger to bend vii. Wood pattern lacks variant, repeats a lot As for underlay (PE foam), normally 4mm body, they wont use >1mm thickness underlay because the body is thin, any uneven surface, the click will break easily. If 5mm, possible to use 2mm thickness underlay. If you want better, can go for EVA foam. ________________________________ Brands in malaysia i. China SPC with no brand/ Protex (I would avoid these, most likely your contractor is supplying you this to save cost) ii. Teraflor/ Genflor (Malaysia brand i think) iii. Shaw Contract (US Brand) iv. Aqua SPC I would advise you to google and visit SPC suppliers nearby your area, touch and feel the SPC samples, then make a decision. ___________________________________________________________________________ |
Sep 25 2020, 06:16 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
995 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Jan 31 2021, 10:47 AM
367 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(mrvex @ Sep 25 2020, 12:00 PM) SPC Flooring sorry to bring up old topic, in your opinion, is Aqua SPC good?Strength:- i. Water resistant i. Compared to laminate flooring - Water resistant ii. Compared to luxury vinyl plank (e.g. Allure Flooring) - Allure flooring is better in terms of water as vinyl is water proof ii. Dent resistant compared to wood as SPC = stone plastic composite iii. Thermite-proof (stone and plastic) Weakness: i. Malaysia market has a lot of cheap low quality 4mm SPC with no attached underlayment. (Made from China e.g. RM4-6 per sqft) ii. Feels quite hard compared to wood. It feels almost the same hardness as ceramic tiles. ______________________________________________________________________ How do you consider one as low quality? i. Not Virgin material (can google) ii. SPC composition (Stone more than plastic), very stiff, if bend then pecah; higher quality ones are more flexible iii. body thickness: 4mm is the thinnest (3.7mm i would avoid this at all cost). I would go for 5mm at least. iv. Wear layer thickness: 0.3mm is the thinnest; i would go for 0.5mm. v. Lack of UV layer (e.g. near window or door, color fade easily) vi. The click and lock easy pecah if you use your finger to bend vii. Wood pattern lacks variant, repeats a lot As for underlay (PE foam), normally 4mm body, they wont use >1mm thickness underlay because the body is thin, any uneven surface, the click will break easily. If 5mm, possible to use 2mm thickness underlay. If you want better, can go for EVA foam. ________________________________ Brands in malaysia i. China SPC with no brand/ Protex (I would avoid these, most likely your contractor is supplying you this to save cost) ii. Teraflor/ Genflor (Malaysia brand i think) iii. Shaw Contract (US Brand) iv. Aqua SPC I would advise you to google and visit SPC suppliers nearby your area, touch and feel the SPC samples, then make a decision. ___________________________________________________________________________ |
Jan 31 2021, 11:01 AM
2,289 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Stairway to Heaven |
What is the difference between spc and vinyl flooring?
Jan 31 2021, 11:09 AM
367 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
Jan 31 2021, 05:50 PM
1,152 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Go for WPC. It feels more natural when you step your foot on it.
And go for 8mm WPC, it's very good for heavy traffic area such as dining hall and living hall. It's water proof and termite proof too. |
Jan 31 2021, 06:27 PM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
QUOTE(fun_feng @ Jan 31 2021, 11:01 AM) spc not wood, so can kena water. My showroom using it 1 year++ d, so far so good. i got it from Nii Flooringck 012-8832362 price reasonable and fast response. previously surveyed he was the cheapest for the spec provided la, now tak tau so better check also This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jan 31 2021, 06:29 PM |
Mar 2 2021, 10:13 PM
107 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jan 31 2021, 05:50 PM) Go for WPC. It feels more natural when you step your foot on it. Any shop recommendations? I dun mind either SPC or WPC, just looking for honest and good workmanshipAnd go for 8mm WPC, it's very good for heavy traffic area such as dining hall and living hall. It's water proof and termite proof too. |
Mar 3 2021, 08:21 AM
Mar 5 2021, 09:51 PM
107 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Mar 7 2021, 02:14 PM
Feb 10 2022, 09:02 AM
17 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
Feb 10 2022, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(IAmLejen @ Jan 31 2021, 11:09 AM) Hello, we ourselves are a 22 year old running flooring company, let us explain to you the types of flooring in the simplest way possible Laminate Flooring - 8mm to 12mm - Made out of high density fibreboard (HDF) - LAYERS: Melamin Resin (protective coating) > Printing Decor > HDF Core > Back Layer - Locking System - water & termite resistant (not proof) - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 4+ to RM 8+ Vinyl Gluedown - 1.5mm to 3mm - Made out of RECYCLED VINYL - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.1mm to 0.3mm) > Printing Decor > Recycled Vinyl Core - Gluedown System - water & termite proof - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 4+ to RM 6+ Vinyl Locking - 4mm to 5mm - made out of VIRGIN VINYL - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.3mm to 0.5mm) > Printing Decor > Virgin Vinyl Core - Locking System - water & termite proof - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 7+ to RM 10+ SPC Locking - 4mm to 6mm - made out of VIRGIN VINYL or RECYCLED VINYL + STONE COMPOSITE (SPC) - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.3mm to 0.5mm) > Printing Decor > SPC Core > IXPE (Optional) - Locking System - water & termite proof - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 6+ to RM 9+ WPC Locking - 5mm to 7mm - made out of VIRGIN VINYL + WOOD COMPOSITE (WPC) - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.3mm to 0.5mm) > Printing Decor > WPC Core - Locking System - High water & termite resistant (many sell as water/termiteproof) - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 7+ to RM 10+ This post has been edited by Andy Loh: Feb 10 2022, 09:33 AM |
Feb 10 2022, 09:35 AM
Quality wise: Vinyl Locking (4mm-5mm) > SPC Locking > WPC Locking > Laminate Flooring > Vinyl Gluedown In my opinion, based on durability, feeling of the flooring etc. Generally the thicker the better if you're comparing apple to apple, lets say 5mm SPC is better than 4mm SPC. neorackle, rockstone31, and 1 other liked this post
Feb 14 2022, 08:23 AM
343 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(Andy Loh @ Feb 10 2022, 09:02 AM) More and more of these SPC have issues. As a flooring seller myself, please check the background of your company and whether they are experienced / sourced the good factories or not. We sell SPC too. Hi, may I know what are those issues?We have received more than 15 enquiries of fixing other brand SPC products until date. ![]() |
Apr 6 2022, 02:11 PM
Probation
14 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
SPC floor or porcelain tile better for living room ( double storey)?
Quality wise and pet friendly Any spc user can give feedback?thx |
Apr 30 2022, 08:08 AM
153 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Hi all, would like to ask this silly question. Im planning to do flooring for my new house but wondering whether i should do flooring first then carpentry (eg build in wardrobe)? Or carpentry first then flooring?
I have checked with different supplier, some said carpentry first, and some said wardrobe first. 😅 kindly advise |
Apr 30 2022, 09:54 AM
318 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Apr 30 2022, 08:08 AM) Hi all, would like to ask this silly question. Im planning to do flooring for my new house but wondering whether i should do flooring first then carpentry (eg build in wardrobe)? Or carpentry first then flooring? i would say flooring first.I have checked with different supplier, some said carpentry first, and some said wardrobe first. 😅 kindly advise |
May 2 2022, 09:30 AM
227 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Penang |
There are so many brands in the market nowdays. How do we know which brand of SPC are the good quality ones?
May 8 2022, 02:41 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,688 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Outer Space |
QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Apr 30 2022, 08:08 AM) Hi all, would like to ask this silly question. Im planning to do flooring for my new house but wondering whether i should do flooring first then carpentry (eg build in wardrobe)? Or carpentry first then flooring? Flooring first then cabinets sit on top. Just that some contractors will not want to be responsible if got scratches on the flooring afterwards. I have checked with different supplier, some said carpentry first, and some said wardrobe first. 😅 kindly advise If cabinets first, then will have some joint connection in between the flooring and cabinet spaces. Doesnt look that nice. |
May 8 2022, 03:30 AM
51 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
QUOTE(Andy Loh @ Feb 10 2022, 09:32 AM) Hello, we ourselves are a 22 year old running flooring company, let us explain to you the types of flooring in the simplest way possible Laminate Flooring - 8mm to 12mm - Made out of high density fibreboard (HDF) - LAYERS: Melamin Resin (protective coating) > Printing Decor > HDF Core > Back Layer - Locking System - water & termite resistant (not proof) - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 4+ to RM 8+ Vinyl Gluedown - 1.5mm to 3mm - Made out of RECYCLED VINYL - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.1mm to 0.3mm) > Printing Decor > Recycled Vinyl Core - Gluedown System - water & termite proof - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 4+ to RM 6+ Vinyl Locking - 4mm to 5mm - made out of VIRGIN VINYL - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.3mm to 0.5mm) > Printing Decor > Virgin Vinyl Core - Locking System - water & termite proof - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 7+ to RM 10+ SPC Locking - 4mm to 6mm - made out of VIRGIN VINYL or RECYCLED VINYL + STONE COMPOSITE (SPC) - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.3mm to 0.5mm) > Printing Decor > SPC Core > IXPE (Optional) - Locking System - water & termite proof - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 6+ to RM 9+ WPC Locking - 5mm to 7mm - made out of VIRGIN VINYL + WOOD COMPOSITE (WPC) - LAYERS: protective wear layer (usually 0.3mm to 0.5mm) > Printing Decor > WPC Core - Locking System - High water & termite resistant (many sell as water/termiteproof) - design is printing, repeated every 4-5 patterns - installed priced range (exclude skirting) RM 7+ to RM 10+ |
Jul 2 2022, 11:38 PM
57 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Hi all,
I am currently having issues with my SPC flooring. Around 1.5 years ago, I engaged a flooring shop to install SPC for the master bedroom of my property. If I recalled correctly the SPC flooring was made in Korea and it cost RM5 per piece. The property was for rental and it has been empty for a year. Only recently I got a tenant, he only stayed for 1 month, and when he moved out I noticed that the SPC flooring was damaged quite badly. I can confirm that the tenant did not spill any water, and upon inspection by the shop it was confirmed that this was due to SPC expansion that already happened for quite some time; due to expansion the flooring popping up and the edges easily chipped off especially when people walked/stepped on it. Does anyone ever have this problem? I find this as material quality or installation issue, but the shop so far claims that SPC expansion is expected and I should have told them when it started to happen in the 1 year installation warranty so that they could do adjustments (they mentioned that adjustments are quite common). I find this as an excuse; I was not informed that this expansion problem might arise and adjustments might be needed, and I am not a flooring expert; it is difficult for me to know whether there is expansion unless it is very obvious. I am currently looking for settlement from the shop; but so far the shop is only trying to get replacement material from the supplier which will take time, and other than that they suggest to quote me based on the full material amount, then they will dismantle and check the flooring one-by-one and check which ones still can be used and which one need to be replaced, and refund me based on the actual flooring replacement. I still need to see their quotation, but if the cost is too high it does not make sense to spend on the same material that might give me the same problem in the future. Do you have any suggestion on a good / reliable flooring shop with cheaper price ( not like Home Depot or Inovar which are typically very expensive). Thanks! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jul 3 2022, 10:39 PM
323 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(hoera75 @ Jul 2 2022, 11:38 PM) Hi all, I thought nowadays most SPC claim dimensionally stable and can withstand temp +-40C?I am currently having issues with my SPC flooring. Around 1.5 years ago, I engaged a flooring shop to install SPC for the master bedroom of my property. If I recalled correctly the SPC flooring was made in Korea and it cost RM5 per piece. The property was for rental and it has been empty for a year. Only recently I got a tenant, he only stayed for 1 month, and when he moved out I noticed that the SPC flooring was damaged quite badly. I can confirm that the tenant did not spill any water, and upon inspection by the shop it was confirmed that this was due to SPC expansion that already happened for quite some time; due to expansion the flooring popping up and the edges easily chipped off especially when people walked/stepped on it. Does anyone ever have this problem? I find this as material quality or installation issue, but the shop so far claims that SPC expansion is expected and I should have told them when it started to happen in the 1 year installation warranty so that they could do adjustments (they mentioned that adjustments are quite common). I find this as an excuse; I was not informed that this expansion problem might arise and adjustments might be needed, and I am not a flooring expert; it is difficult for me to know whether there is expansion unless it is very obvious. I am currently looking for settlement from the shop; but so far the shop is only trying to get replacement material from the supplier which will take time, and other than that they suggest to quote me based on the full material amount, then they will dismantle and check the flooring one-by-one and check which ones still can be used and which one need to be replaced, and refund me based on the actual flooring replacement. I still need to see their quotation, but if the cost is too high it does not make sense to spend on the same material that might give me the same problem in the future. Do you have any suggestion on a good / reliable flooring shop with cheaper price ( not like Home Depot or Inovar which are typically very expensive). Thanks! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jul 3 2022, 10:59 PM
453 posts Joined: Mar 2020 |
QUOTE(hoera75 @ Jul 2 2022, 11:38 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I don't think you mean Home Depot but another Depot. I got mine from them. |
Jul 3 2022, 11:01 PM
Jul 3 2022, 11:09 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
so many problem with SPC flooring? i got quote for korea spc brand as well 4mm..
Jul 3 2022, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(hoera75 @ Jul 2 2022, 11:38 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I am currently looking for settlement from the shop; but so far the shop is only trying to get replacement material from the supplier which will take time, and other than that they suggest to quote me based on the full material amount, then they will dismantle and check the flooring one-by-one and check which ones still can be used and which one need to be replaced, and refund me based on the actual flooring replacement. I still need to see their quotation, but if the cost is too high it does not make sense to spend on the same material that might give me the same problem in the future. Do you have any suggestion on a good / reliable flooring shop with cheaper price ( not like Home Depot or Inovar which are typically very expensive). Thanks! |
Jul 3 2022, 11:13 PM
Jul 3 2022, 11:58 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Jul 4 2022, 02:19 PM
599 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Apr 30 2022, 08:08 AM) Hi all, would like to ask this silly question. Im planning to do flooring for my new house but wondering whether i should do flooring first then carpentry (eg build in wardrobe)? Or carpentry first then flooring? What kind of flooring? If it is SPC, appearance wise it would look nicer if flooring is done before your built-in wardrobe. However, based on what I learned from a flooring shop, it is actually better to do the built-in wardrobe first. The reason is that SPC relies on the skirting to leave gap for expansion. If your built-in wardrobe sits on top of the SPC, the floor may not be able to expand properly and issues may arise.I have checked with different supplier, some said carpentry first, and some said wardrobe first. 😅 kindly advise |
Jul 4 2022, 02:22 PM
599 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Does anyone have experience with hacking your tile skirting in order to do SPC flooring? Currently I am considering doing SPC flooring but I will need to remove the existing tile skirting, level it with the wall and paint it before SPC can be done. I am afraid the color will look different from the existing wall paint even though it is white.
Jul 4 2022, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 3 2022, 10:59 PM) At least yours lasted 1yr plus, mine not even 3 months start giving problems, now less than 6 months after installation have cracks, and feel the floor have places that the board sinks in. Now calling them in - this is the 2nd time (excluding the time we have issues that we caught when they were installing the flooring) calling them in to fix problems with the SPC flooring. What I mean was Floor Depot. Wow, you bought from Floor Depot and within 3 months got issues??I don't think you mean Home Depot but another Depot. I got mine from them. |
Jul 4 2022, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 3 2022, 11:09 PM) Hi, the shop have any warranty period, is it 1 year? I was thinking of going to small claims court for my own SPC issues but the cost of my flooring is above RM5k, so I think that's above small claims court, but yours if for bedroom only maybe is within the RM5k limit? I was actually not aware that there was 1 year warranty, and because that 1 year period already passed, the shop used it as a reason not to take any responsibility. They admitted that the floor had expanded within that warranty period but put the fault on me for not noticing it and reporting to them. I asked them for help to solve this quality issue for me, I am not looking for a free solution, I am willing to pay as long as still reasonable. Last time it cost me Rm 3.3k to buy and install this SPC flooring, and now they quoted me Rm 1.6k based on the assumption that 50% of existing floorings need to be replaced, with possibility that I have to pay more in case more floorings are damaged. So basically I have to pay the same amount of money like the first time I bought it, they even did not want to absorb 2 days of labor cost. They said this is their good will, not their fault, and I have to bear this problem myself. The most ridiculous thing is that even if I agree to proceed, I wont get the installation warranty! So if the this same material expands again, I need to pay for it myself again!. When I asked the shop owner whether she would accept this offer if she were in my shoes, she could not answer. She could only say "Why do you worry too much?". Ridiculous.. I have decided to dismantle everything and go with other flooring shop, and I will expose this shop, but theshop owner offered inspection by the manufacturer inspector; they will measure the moisture level in my room, if it is below 8% they can consider the material as defective and get replacement. i will just wait for this last attempt and see how it goes. Should I need to go for another shop for sure I will reveal the shop details here so that everyone takes precaution of it. |
Jul 4 2022, 09:23 PM
Jul 4 2022, 11:14 PM
Jul 4 2022, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(hoera75 @ Jul 4 2022, 09:21 PM) I was actually not aware that there was 1 year warranty, and because that 1 year period already passed, the shop used it as a reason not to take any responsibility. They admitted that the floor had expanded within that warranty period but put the fault on me for not noticing it and reporting to them. Yeah will be difficult to claim, I think even if you complain within 1 yr warranty period also they will try to wiggle their way out of it.I asked them for help to solve this quality issue for me, I am not looking for a free solution, I am willing to pay as long as still reasonable. Last time it cost me Rm 3.3k to buy and install this SPC flooring, and now they quoted me Rm 1.6k based on the assumption that 50% of existing floorings need to be replaced, with possibility that I have to pay more in case more floorings are damaged. So basically I have to pay the same amount of money like the first time I bought it, they even did not want to absorb 2 days of labor cost. They said this is their good will, not their fault, and I have to bear this problem myself. The most ridiculous thing is that even if I agree to proceed, I wont get the installation warranty! So if the this same material expands again, I need to pay for it myself again!. When I asked the shop owner whether she would accept this offer if she were in my shoes, she could not answer. She could only say "Why do you worry too much?". Ridiculous.. I have decided to dismantle everything and go with other flooring shop, and I will expose this shop, but theshop owner offered inspection by the manufacturer inspector; they will measure the moisture level in my room, if it is below 8% they can consider the material as defective and get replacement. i will just wait for this last attempt and see how it goes. Should I need to go for another shop for sure I will reveal the shop details here so that everyone takes precaution of it. |
Feb 21 2023, 06:33 AM
296 posts Joined: May 2020 |
Looking for SPC tiles installer with hacking job. Any contractor to recommend?
This post has been edited by Acoen: Feb 21 2023, 06:35 AM |
Feb 24 2023, 08:59 AM
1,282 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
Feb 26 2023, 11:40 AM
Feb 26 2023, 11:49 AM
9,037 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I have experimented SPC installation with 3mm rubber carpet underlay recently. The feeling is firm and zero bouncy. Also, carpet underlay is fire retardant and so is SPC unlike the default 3mm PE foam. Costwise, slightly higher than PE foam and movable. U can recover at least 80% of the underlay and about 70% of the SPC should u decided to move 1 day. This post has been edited by acbc: Feb 26 2023, 11:49 AM fishmango liked this post
Apr 18 2023, 10:25 AM
74 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hi, i plan to do new SPC flooring for my house. Currently it is a ceramic tiled floor.
Is it advisable to lay the new spc over the tiles or better to hack off the old tiles? Some contractors say better to hack but will be costly? |
Apr 18 2023, 06:30 PM
12,411 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
QUOTE(bobiq @ Apr 18 2023, 10:25 AM) Hi, i plan to do new SPC flooring for my house. Currently it is a ceramic tiled floor. hacking off the old tiles is really only needed if the floor is very uneven..... or you have the extra budget to go for a perfect solutionIs it advisable to lay the new spc over the tiles or better to hack off the old tiles? Some contractors say better to hack but will be costly? This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Apr 18 2023, 06:31 PM |
Jul 1 2023, 02:43 PM
796 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(hoera75 @ Jul 2 2022, 11:38 PM) Hi all, Hi, is the issue solved? How? Is the defective spc korean brand also a famous korean paint brand?I am currently having issues with my SPC flooring. Around 1.5 years ago, I engaged a flooring shop to install SPC for the master bedroom of my property. If I recalled correctly the SPC flooring was made in Korea and it cost RM5 per piece. The property was for rental and it has been empty for a year. Only recently I got a tenant, he only stayed for 1 month, and when he moved out I noticed that the SPC flooring was damaged quite badly. I can confirm that the tenant did not spill any water, and upon inspection by the shop it was confirmed that this was due to SPC expansion that already happened for quite some time; due to expansion the flooring popping up and the edges easily chipped off especially when people walked/stepped on it. Does anyone ever have this problem? I find this as material quality or installation issue, but the shop so far claims that SPC expansion is expected and I should have told them when it started to happen in the 1 year installation warranty so that they could do adjustments (they mentioned that adjustments are quite common). I find this as an excuse; I was not informed that this expansion problem might arise and adjustments might be needed, and I am not a flooring expert; it is difficult for me to know whether there is expansion unless it is very obvious. I am currently looking for settlement from the shop; but so far the shop is only trying to get replacement material from the supplier which will take time, and other than that they suggest to quote me based on the full material amount, then they will dismantle and check the flooring one-by-one and check which ones still can be used and which one need to be replaced, and refund me based on the actual flooring replacement. I still need to see their quotation, but if the cost is too high it does not make sense to spend on the same material that might give me the same problem in the future. Do you have any suggestion on a good / reliable flooring shop with cheaper price ( not like Home Depot or Inovar which are typically very expensive). Thanks! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sep 18 2023, 11:48 PM
2,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Looking to hack all my existing tiles (Popped) and resurface and do a SPC flooring on a condo
Any good provider/contractor recommend? |
Sep 20 2023, 08:33 AM
1,210 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: penang |
How do we properly clean SPC flooring surface?
I'm seeing dust like fade, but can't remove it using water |
Sep 24 2023, 05:23 PM
Anyone has experience with Floorbit local brand? It is Luxury vinyl plank 5mm
This post has been edited by frequency: Oct 6 2023, 12:53 AM |
Mar 7 2024, 08:04 AM
394 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
What cleaner do you guys use to clean/mop SPC flooring?
Mar 25 2024, 08:35 PM
3,351 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Apr 5 2024, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 25 2024, 08:35 PM) Yup, done and satisfied with https://www.facebook.com/straitsfloor.mysFloorbit hybrid 5mm, workmanships is good and fast |
Apr 5 2024, 09:31 PM
3,351 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(frequency @ Apr 5 2024, 08:59 PM) Yup, done and satisfied with https://www.facebook.com/straitsfloor.mys Tq got your PM. Floorbit hybrid 5mm, workmanships is good and fast This post has been edited by adamw: Apr 5 2024, 09:38 PM |
May 19 2024, 02:41 PM
601 posts Joined: May 2013 |
I'm using PE foam 2mm as underlay for my laminate flooring.
Want to ask can I lay 2 pieces PE foam instead of 1 piece? |
May 19 2024, 07:30 PM
889 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Seremban |
My contractor installed the spc flooring without foam cause they claimed that my floor is even. Is this correct or they are just trying to cut cost?
May 29 2024, 11:06 AM
685 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
| Change to: | 0.0376sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:33 PM |