Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

gatevalve
post Oct 29 2008, 11:14 AM

160 posts

I have onkyo 606 that come with built in power cord.
Is that possible to change to aftermarket power cord like supra , transparent etc?
I never open the casing i have no idea how the stock power cord connected to the unit, using screw or plug-in.
gatevalve
post Jan 5 2009, 07:10 PM

160 posts

i'm using onkyo 606 receiver.
calibration on speaker using calibration mic and happy with it.
here is my problem.
when using sony bdp 350 bluray player it will show the word tru dts or master hd on receiver display.
when using pioneer 50fd bluray player no sign/word of tru dts or master on receiver display.

why?

it only show word like pcm, dts, neo cinema and audyssey only.
both blu ray player give good audio and video quality.

what should i do to get those tru dts and master hd back on receiver display?

i want to ensure that the receiver outputting both format since i'm using bluray disc most of the time.
btw i'm using 2 pcs of qed performance hdmi cable.one, from source to avr and other one from avr to display.

thank you in advance friends.

gatevalve
post Jan 5 2009, 09:01 PM

160 posts

will check now and let you know soon.
err...how to check the bitstream setting?
picture quality almost the same.
audio quality pioneer wins.
gatevalve
post Jan 5 2009, 11:54 PM

160 posts

sorry, typo error
51 FD model .
problem still there... only pcm, dts, hdmi, neo.6 and audyssey appear on the screen of avr.
dunno what to do now.....help.
gatevalve
post Jan 6 2009, 10:44 AM

160 posts

Yeah, you are right.
the problems is setting on pioneer.
i put back the everything back on factory setting on pioneer and i get back all the missing display(true hd and master hd).
i believe onkyo doing the decoding in this way.
will try again so that pioneer do the decoding job.
gatevalve
post Jan 6 2009, 12:29 PM

160 posts

tried out just now.almost no difference whether avr or bluray player do the decoding job.use sony bdp 350 and pioneer 51FD as source.

btw, my biggest mistake was to set the audio output in analog digital wheras i'm using hdmi cabe.

so put back all output( video/audio) on hdmi mode on pioneer 51FD.
on hdmi mode....firstly 606 will dispaly pcm multichannel , hdmi on panel. after play the disc on 51FD i get back those lovely words "true hd" or "master hd".
try out by analog digital on audio output,no lovely words appear on 606 panel but dts, hdmi,neo:6.
picture quality don't change only audio quality better on hdmi.....again my ears only.
my 2 rupiah conclusion......enjoy the sound and don't bother about who doing the decoding job.

gatevalve
post Jan 6 2009, 04:13 PM

160 posts

gents,
my point is apple to apple only.
never try with high end one.(no plan to get any blue ray player more than rm2.5k in near future)

just now, try out again sony bdp 350(sold to robin) and pioneer 51FD with robin( LYN forum member) we still can't find any difference in picture quality.since we feed both them to onkyo 606 via hdmi cable ,audio quality ,yes some difference, onkyo 606 does the job(decoding) and my ears telling me pioneer better in this section. robin says he can't hear any difference.different people , different tools.....he he
the good point here is trust yourself (eyes & ears).

again, i believe it will be better to get a good avr with better capability of decoding and upscaling rather than to invest the money into source.
pioneer 51FD is my third bluray player in this 2 months after sony bdp 350 and samsung 1400) picture quality(these player) not much difference on my panny plasma 42" pv 8.(my eyes do the comparison)

review on magazine / internet just a guideline.any players which do not do the onboard( true dts/master hd) decoding will loose some rating.
for me these feature not really important since good avr will do the job.

again, trust your eyes, ears and budget.

my 2 kupang.

gatevalve
post Jan 6 2009, 09:50 PM

160 posts

check with cmy (sunway pyramid, one utama, sg wang plaza) or desa lowyat.
i got mine from cmy sunway 4 months back at rm 2.7k. desa offer me yamaha rv 1800 for rm 3250......tempting offer.
gatevalve
post Jan 6 2009, 10:36 PM

160 posts

don't forget to let us know the price they quote for you.
gatevalve
post Jan 6 2009, 11:56 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(jeffbong @ Jan 7 2009, 12:44 AM)
nobody can beat DESA home theater!!!! smile.gif
or hifi4sale.blogspot.com

desa is good in price but can't trade in even with the stuff you purchased from them before cry.gif
i got my first av gears from them and new bluray player as well.

gatevalve
post Jan 11 2009, 07:59 AM

160 posts

rm 1.6k for 4 months old stuff.gave him my mordaunt short 5 center speaker as a free gift as i'm not using it anymore.....kef iq6 in place now.
now i'm using pioneer lx 60 avr to match with my pioneer 51FD blue ray player.same color (black).
gatevalve
post Jan 11 2009, 04:15 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Jan 11 2009, 02:58 PM)
hehehhe...wahhh already taken pioneer lx 60 kaa? I bought front speaker Q acoustics to match with ms center speaker. Waiting budget to get subwoofer pulak.
pioneer lx 60 good with the price i paid for.
i guess q accoustic will be a good match for ms front speaker.
for set up/tuning i suggest you do the manual with spl meter. should explore the hidden capability of 606.you could get the best gears but if the tuning and set up cikai one than you will start to upgrade your equipment.try to get a good installer with really can help you. rclxms.gif
gatevalve
post Jan 11 2009, 06:34 PM

160 posts

rm 3.7 including tuning etc, by av designs.
gatevalve
post Jan 11 2009, 06:39 PM

160 posts

u better tune ur system kaw2 otherwise you will end up like me......
3 avrs in one year.......dunno how to tune and always blame the equipment.
try to maximise all the features in your equipment since 606 is really goo avr is sub rm 2k price bracket.
gatevalve
post Jan 11 2009, 06:57 PM

160 posts

not rich, but i got no sifu to guide me and also always follow review by magazine.review is just a revie always trust our ears and wallet.

some shop they will not help you for fine tuning (after sales service) because they try to squeeze the customer.when we tell them that we are not happy with our system they always say "you need new, amp speaker, player, cable, bla bla etc."

only a few will say " i will help you to tune your system".

i've been in a lot of shops (more than 10 in kl).somehow i knew which one is good or not so good.......especially after sales service.

Added on January 11, 2009, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Jan 11 2009, 07:38 PM)
woot! seriously damn good price! i tot market price around rm5.xk  sweat.gif cool looking avr.. thumbup.gif anyway hows the sound quality?
i'm lucky to get that price...sound quality very good/dynamic, good separation and a bit on bright side which suit to my ears .initially i wanted to get yamaha rv 1800 (at RM 3.2k).but this one very good looking, black colour and match with my pioneer 51FD player.during, set up and tuning asked the installer to do it properly no rushing, reposition again my existing speakers, tested with true hd/master hd bluray disc, ori dvd, pirated dvd, astro, cd and also radio.it took almost 2 hours. rclxms.gif
i think that spl meter is really good aid man. thumbup.gif
now still kenot sleep properly because the eco sound...................kuuuurooo,kuro,kuuuurooo. drool.gif

This post has been edited by gatevalve: Jan 11 2009, 07:09 PM
gatevalve
post Jan 11 2009, 10:29 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Jan 11 2009, 09:04 PM)
whoaa good to know you r happy with ur system now..i guess i shd get a spl meter in future to callibrate my system..for now i am happy with my noob tuning but i am sure it can be better..initially i was aiming for lx50 but finally go for rxv1800 with the same price and better specs..anyway lx60 at rm3.6k is definitely a good buy..mind posting ur set up pics to share share..hehe
specs is another thing that make one amp more expensive than other.btw we should ask ourself...do we really need those features.
eg; ipod,multiroom channel, i don't need need these actually.all i need ...upscaling,decoding and good dynamic sound. biggrin.gif
will take picture and post it later after i do some housekeeping on the cable.

Added on January 11, 2009, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(baretta @ Jan 11 2009, 10:35 PM)
@gatevalve

price without tuning how much ?  kuro...kurooo...buke kuro-kuro...ekekekke
price with/without tuning dunno? i guess around rm 6.5k for 42".really not sure which model.
btw hd ready is good enough for me already because...... it is pioneer.
av designs got the gadget for thx calibration on flatscreen tv.the guy opened the briefcase and he showed to me some of them.tempting laa to get kuuroo.my wife wars me already...no more new tv for this year. cry.gif must bribe her at poh kong or habib jewel first brows.gif
i asked for their favour to calibrate my panny pv8......kenot coz need to buy tv from them and all the calibration will be carried out at their shop coz that gadgets are expensive. brows.gif

This post has been edited by gatevalve: Jan 11 2009, 10:37 PM

0.0465sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:58 AM