Change New Car or Continue Maintaining

TSclockpulses
post Sep 3 2020, 12:00 PM, updated 6y ago

386 posts

Hi All

I have 2015 Preve Executive CVT. On Dec 2019 the odo already clocked 120k km. Now already 128k km. Yes, i do travel a lot in these 5 years (not grab). The car didnt give me any major problem. Love the car for its spaciousness, safety and comfortable on long journey. It is very reliable to me though. Fyi, i drive the car daily to work (70km daily)

So far this is what i have replaced since 2019 till now

Tayar front - 2020. RM700
Absorber, mount, bush - 2020 RM900
Tayar front. 2019 RM700
Service aircond, 2019
Cvt service, 2019
Engine mount, 2019
Fuel filter 2019
Bateri, 2019
Front brake disc & pad , 2019
Belt - 2019.
Oxygen sensor, 2020

This needs to replace/service soon:

Noisy drive belt tensioner
Absorber link front and rear

Hope u get the picture how much did i spend these past few years.

Anyway my points is for my situation, who travel alot and relying on the car so much, is it worth it to continue maintaining the car? Or should i stop it right now and wait til next year and change to new car? Loan will finish in less than 2 years fyi. And the resale value minus loan balance is enough for at least 15 percent of d/p of the next 55k car.

I have the idea of for someone like me who travel a lot, that instead of sticking to only one car, and keep maintaining it for years, change car often (cheap below 55k) to save on the maintenance. Coz new car under 5 years can claim warranty. Isnt it more cost saving?

I keep hearing people saying

Is the like of Honda or Toyota worth keeping up more than 5 years after warranty finish too? (I have a doubt on this).

So my idea is to change cheap car below rm55k, put high d/p that u can rpay loan max 5 years for not more than rm600.

Thinking of Persona Exec, i dont mind downgrading at all. Coz nowadays i think make more sense to drive a B segment car instead of C sedan as B segment sedan nowadays are getting bigger. Persona boot is bigger than Preve. For example. Nowadays i prefer comfort drive, no more spirited drive though for the last 3 years. At most i drive 120kmph on highway.

What do you guys think. Thanks in advance
fongzai92
post Sep 3 2020, 12:11 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

are u happy to have this car ? if so = repair and continue.

If changing to cheaper or lower grade car, but driving it daily 70km, will u still enjoy the driving experience ? smile.gif

bear in mind that Car is a depreciating asset....

If u dont mind the kosong feeling of Toyota... can go for it... much cheaper to maintain... especally the suspension part... Honda wise good handling, but when come to 2 years or more... start needed to change suspension parts to maintain good driving experience...

This post has been edited by fongzai92: Sep 3 2020, 12:15 PM
LarryPizzaGuy
post Sep 3 2020, 12:17 PM

/k 20k Club (Verified)
880 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 3 2020, 12:00 PM)
Hi All

I have 2015 Preve Executive CVT. On Dec 2019 the odo already clocked 120k km. Now already 128k km. Yes, i do travel a lot in these 5 years (not grab). The car didnt give me any major problem. Love the car for its spaciousness, safety and comfortable on long journey. It is very reliable to me though. Fyi, i drive the car daily to work (70km daily)

Tayar front. 2019 RM700
Service aircond, 2019
Cvt service, 2019
Engine mount, 2019
Fuel filter 2019
Bateri, 2019
Belt - 2019.
Oxygen sensor, 2020

Anyway my points is for my situation, who travel alot and relying on the car so much, is it worth it to continue maintaining the car? Or should i stop it right now and wait til next year and change to new car? Loan will finish in less than 2 years fyi. And the resale value minus loan balance is enough for at least 15 percent of d/p of the next 55k car.

I have the idea of for someone like me who travel a lot, that instead of sticking to only one car,  and keep maintaining it for years, change car often (cheap below 55k) to save on the maintenance. Coz new car under 5 years can claim warranty. Isnt it more cost saving?

Is the like of Honda or Toyota worth keeping up more than 5 years after warranty finish too? (I have a doubt on this).

So my idea is to change cheap car below rm55k, put high d/p that u can rpay loan max 5 years for not more than rm600.

Thinking of Persona Exec, i dont mind downgrading at all. Coz nowadays i think make more sense to drive a B segment car instead of C sedan as B segment sedan nowadays are getting bigger. Persona boot is bigger than Preve. For example. Nowadays i prefer comfort drive, no more spirited drive though for the last 3 years. At most i drive 120kmph on highway.

Cost of servicing a car loan is different from cost of maintaining the car.

Even if you replace with a new car, you will also have to fork out extra for maintenance cost.

Cost for car maintenance is a 1 time thing and should not cost you more than RM5,000 for 5 years.

Since you're almost done settling your current Preve loan, the only remaining cost is the car maintenance cost. Why want to burden yourself with the additional car loan?
TSclockpulses
post Sep 3 2020, 12:29 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Sep 3 2020, 12:11 PM)
are u happy to have this car ? if so = repair and continue.

If changing to cheaper or lower grade car, but driving it daily 70km, will u still enjoy the driving experience ? smile.gif

bear in mind that Car is a depreciating asset....

If u dont mind the kosong feeling of Toyota... can go for it... much cheaper to maintain... especally the suspension part... Honda wise good handling, but when come to 2 years or more... start needed to change suspension parts to maintain good driving experience...
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Sep 3 2020, 12:17 PM)
Cost of servicing a car loan is different from cost of maintaining the car.

Even if you replace with a new car, you will also have to fork out extra for maintenance cost.

Cost for car maintenance is a 1 time thing and should not cost you more than RM5,000 for 5 years.

Since you're almost done settling your current Preve loan, the only remaining cost is the car maintenance cost. Why want to burden yourself with the additional car loan?
I love driving the car. Per full tank with 60 city 40% higheay i can always get 500-550km. Good enough for me. Although city drive is abit terrible due to the Punch Cvt.

Beside there is no other new C segment sedan car anymore in Malaysia thay costs RM56k like this Preve. It is rare in Malaysia.

But i have to admit the thinking of getting a new car, make life less dull.

I also the kind of person who can spend money as long as i get the best from my car. For example, the new tyre cost me 350 per donut, but in return, good grip, silent drive.

I'm just worry about the uncertainty if i to keep the car. Ok i have paid for all above. What if next the other costly parts require replacement? Driveshaft? Cam sensor, crank sensor? TPS sensor?

Whats next
LarryPizzaGuy
post Sep 3 2020, 01:17 PM

/k 20k Club (Verified)
880 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 3 2020, 12:29 PM)
I love driving the car. Per full tank with 60 city 40% higheay i can always get 500-550km. Good enough for me. Although city drive is abit terrible due to the Punch Cvt.

Beside there is no other new C segment sedan car anymore in Malaysia thay costs RM56k like this Preve. It is rare in Malaysia.

I also the kind of person who can spend money as long as i get the best from my car. For example, the new tyre cost me 350 per donut, but in return, good grip, silent drive.

I'm just worry about the uncertainty if i to keep the car. Ok i have paid for all above. What if next the other costly parts require replacement? Driveshaft? Cam sensor, crank sensor? TPS sensor?

Whats next
Preve is a reliable car smile.gif

IMO, its a matter of how much in total you'll be spending up until 5-7 years.

Its either.... total RM55,000 for car loan
or
total RM20,000 for car maintenance (average RM3,000 to RM5,000 per year, which is quite high+sufficient).
fongzai92
post Sep 3 2020, 02:15 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 3 2020, 12:29 PM)

Whats next
Quite good FC i would say... Im currently holding a 2011 Kia, 160k milleages, C-segment, CVT Gearbox... FC not good as yours.

Getting another preferred car will definately make ur your life less dull !!! for atleast 3 months!! Hahahha!! End up its all about how you allocate your finance la...

Regarding further parts mantenance, u gotta do researches... if the car memang long-lasting, less headache... then can go ahead keep driving it... If very fragile... keep getting problems.... then better give up and look for another....
DM52
post Sep 3 2020, 02:20 PM

406 posts

I will stay with C segment no matter what..

B segment ya, u may not drive fast, but crosswind very noticeable on b segment. Even at speed 120kmh, u can feel the wind.

Those who drive fast up to 190kmh, dunno what they thinking.
JZenith
post Sep 3 2020, 02:27 PM

Look at my stars. owai
704 posts

downgrading from C to B will affect your driving. majority highway i better stay with C seg cars.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 3 2020, 03:14 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

you should continue maintaining your current car
silence94
post Sep 3 2020, 03:23 PM

97 posts

IMO, now is a good time to change car.
Interest rate is low, and the SST extemption
TSclockpulses
post Sep 3 2020, 03:42 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Sep 3 2020, 01:17 PM)
Preve is a reliable car smile.gif

IMO, its a matter of how much in total you'll be spending up until 5-7 years.

Its either.... total RM55,000 for car loan
or
total RM20,000 for car maintenance (average RM3,000 to RM5,000 per year, which is quite high+sufficient).
It is quite reliable. Although it suffered few quality issues. After 5 years, door and dashboard rattle sometimes. Power window motor and regulator issue still there though.

Well i spend a lot for it in 2019 and 2020. And judging from the parts that i have replaced, the wear and tear item, i would say it will give me at least 2 years before spending big for again. Next CVT service, will be the most expensive maintenance, otger than tensioner replacement (rm400). Glad that i have changed all four tyres. Would last another 3 years max.

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Sep 3 2020, 02:15 PM)
Quite good FC i would say... Im currently holding a 2011 Kia, 160k milleages, C-segment, CVT Gearbox... FC not good as yours.

Getting another preferred car will definately make ur your life less dull !!! for atleast 3 months!! Hahahha!! End up its all about how you allocate your finance la...

Regarding further parts mantenance, u gotta do researches... if the car memang long-lasting, less headache... then can go ahead keep driving it... If very fragile... keep getting problems.... then better give up and look for another....
Preve fuel tank is 50litre. How bout your Kia?

Well i started to service outside since last year. Except for things that i font want to compromise the quality such as cvt service and those that requires specialties from Proton.

That is the issue now, car inly just passed 5 years mark, i donno if it will still be reliable from now on or not.

QUOTE(DM52 @ Sep 3 2020, 02:20 PM)
I will stay with C segment no matter what..

B segment ya, u may not drive fast, but crosswind very noticeable on b segment. Even at speed 120kmh, u can feel the wind.

Those who drive fast up to 190kmh, dunno what they thinking.
QUOTE(JZenith @ Sep 3 2020, 02:27 PM)
downgrading from C to B will affect your driving. majority highway i better stay with C seg cars.
This is correct. 1300kg car though. But after drove it for 5 years i wont drive more than 120k km. Sometimes a bit sad while overtaking a car on highway at 120kmph, a new Honda City or Myvi keep tailgating you to move aside. I was like having inferiority complex for driving an old car

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 3 2020, 03:14 PM)
you should continue maintaining your current car
Im 60% more towards continue maintaining it, 40% toward replacing it. The temptation is real
GamersFamilia
post Sep 3 2020, 03:57 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 3 2020, 03:42 PM)
Im 60% more towards continue maintaining it, 40% toward replacing it. The temptation is real
currently im using 17 years old 2003 toyota camry acv31 , bought it brand new from toyota itself .. it took me 5 years to finished paying my monthly loan for the car , after that continue using it until now , always service my car on time , minor repair here and there , less problematic and keep on maintaining it .. the mileage already 326 880km , still it put smile on me everytime i drive the car .. no need to pay monthly loan , with that money , use it for maintainance cool2.gif
zstan
post Sep 3 2020, 03:59 PM

15,856 posts

times are bad now. better maintain the car and keep extra cash
tifosi
post Sep 3 2020, 05:27 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,159 posts

Just maintain it. If you'll be paying 600 per month for installment alone for new car, that'll be 7.2k per year. Then plus other wear and tear normal service, comes close to 10k per year. Just maintain till you finish paying for your car, and see how much your maintenance. Chances are way less than that 10k per year so why pay more to enrich the banks again?

Just make sure you service your car regularly and change the wear and tear parts if needed to. Generally preve quite tahan lasak one.

This post has been edited by tifosi: Sep 3 2020, 05:29 PM
DM52
post Sep 3 2020, 06:18 PM

406 posts

Sometimes a bit sad while overtaking a car on highway at 120kmph, a new Honda City or Myvi keep tailgating you to move aside. I was like having inferiority complex for driving an old car

Lets them be la bro. Small car attitude like that wo. no wonder so much accident involve them. No need to change car for the sake of inferiority complex. Ya, although old, its stability will be remain as c segment which is farking stable on highway. If u still insist to change, this aspect will be missed by u. Even 2020 b segment will never be as planted on highway
dares
post Sep 3 2020, 09:57 PM

834 posts

I have the idea of for someone like me who travel a lot, that instead of sticking to only one car,  and keep maintaining it for years, change car often (cheap below 55k) to save on the maintenance. Coz new car under 5 years can claim warranty. Isnt it more cost saving?
RM55k with 15% d/p, assuming you are going for 5 yr loan, monthly RM920, annually RM11k.

So from a strictly financial point of view, unless you are spending RM11k a year to repair your car, otherwise keeping your current car is definitely the more economical choice.

I'm not including routine maintenance and petrol in the RM11k as you will still need to pay (even more) to maintain your new car within that 5 year warranty period and you still need to pump petrol.

So, do you think you will be spending an average of RM11k/yr to repair your Preve?

There are exceptions of course, if your car is in such bad condition that it would breakdown often and waste your time going in and out of workshop.

This post has been edited by dares: Sep 3 2020, 09:59 PM
gold member
post Sep 4 2020, 12:23 AM

114 posts

I can understand the joys of getting a new car or bored with existing car.
However, this is what I think of. First of all, you must understand what's a car.
A car is a deficit, it's value dropped the moment you get it.
The joys of owning a car is equal to RMxxk poorer which translate into an unsustainable spent.
So how about this, save the money and put in the bank.
Fork out some money and fix the car.
Is it those things you can't fix with let's say 10k or even 15k?
If you understand a car and excise duty and etc., you will be surprise that a production cost for a new car can be as cheap as RM5k.
Why burden yourself with rat's race?
I really amuse by these weird phenomena that I have seen everyday.
My piece of advice is fix the car, do what ever you want (just don't spent too much on unnecessary upgrade) and live with it.

cempedaklife
post Sep 4 2020, 07:51 AM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

I didnt give much thought on it but you replaced quite a number of parts in 2019 so recent. I dont think you willl have much maintenance in the following year. But on yhe other hand, with the 0% sales tax, this year may be a good time to buy.
acbc
post Sep 4 2020, 08:03 AM

9,050 posts

Proton parts before Geely took over = damn cheap.

If I were u, just keep it and make it nice. Now is not the time to commit to a new loan unless u already plan for it.
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 4 2020, 09:00 AM

2,429 posts

Well i started to service outside since last year. Except for things that i font want to compromise the quality such as cvt service and those that requires specialties from Proton.

Sometimes a bit sad while overtaking a car on highway at 120kmph, a new Honda City or Myvi keep tailgating you to move aside. I was like having inferiority complex for driving an old car
This part I highlight in Blue, I want to comment:
Dont think for one second Proton SC (or generally any SC of any brand) can be better than outside.
Yes its their own brand, but their mechanics are mostly zombies following SOPs. Know how to change oil only.
meaning if in the event CVT goes bust; Their SA will only advice you to replace the entire gearbox. And that will cost you both of your legs.

Whereas outside, just in case u do not know, there is CVT specialist which can dismantle the entire inside of the Gearbox. Worst case scenario cost only est RM 3K for refurbishing the CVT gearbox.

Join this FB group:
(PROTON) CFE & CVT technical discussion
And learn from the sifus of Preve and Exora which can share on how to maintain your Preve. they even got a list of workshops specialising CVTs and Turbos.

Now comes the second part: Being tailgated.
Yes I know how it feels. I have been on 2 sides of the world. To tailgate others and being tailgated.
Firstly - I do not tailgate , unless that particular car suddenly switches into my lane without his/her bloody signal. Yes I have once been also an asshole flash light (Driving Exora turbo BTW) but not to smaller cars, but cars which is similar size to mine. Yes, Ego.

Now I too have been tailgated - Like a dick.
Best part is that they will back off , when you hit the brakes, and the brake lights will tell them off. And no i do not recommend either. But dickheads need to be told with this "sign language".
Best is to just safely switch lanes with signal on, and let this dickheads pass you with the wind.
Doesn't matter if its a Buggati or just a Kancil flying pass you.
If u wanna overtake people at 120 with a Preve or just a Kancil - Do it when there is absolutely no cars coming at the fast lane and turn the signal on for God sakes.
Then switch back to middle lane and keep within the speed limits. In the end you are the winner in safe and courteous driving.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Sep 4 2020, 09:04 AM
jVIPERs2
post Sep 4 2020, 09:11 AM

LY.N Enthusiast
1,675 posts

My rule of thumb is that if the cost of keeping the car in running condition is lower than the total monthly payment for a new car, then keep the car...

Else, just go for the new car especially if you already dislike the car and wanting an upgrade...

Tbh, a new Persona isn’t really a better car than the Preve...there’s a “MC” Persona coming, so maybe you can wait for that before you decide
woodentiger86
post Sep 4 2020, 09:26 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

I was in a rather similar predicament as TS a year ago.

Was happily driving a used Jag X Type, and before that, and old BMW E32 but somehow, the wear and tear plus the repairs that were carried out to the car meant they were money pits. The Jag was fully paid off a couple of years ago and since then, I had to change stuffs like ignition coils, radiator tank/hose, aircon, gearbox...

Admittedly cos of my driving style. sweat.gif

Anyhow, it reached a point that I was bleeding money unnecessarily due to the breakdowns and what-nots, and my wife gave me an ultimatum & asked me this question - do I want to risk my kids' safety every time my car were to break down? Do I want to see them waiting at the side of the road waiting for tow trucks with me?

So ended up I just scouted around for a decent & reliable car to use and opted for the Myvi. Heck, at that price range, it had even more safety features and airbags than my previous rides!

So, in net, currently my net spend on the car is purely the monthly loan and the regular servicing intervals, as my fuel is subsided to certain limit also. It helps a lot so my money is used up elsewhere [baby food and diapers]

Hope you're able to make a good decision TS.
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 4 2020, 11:10 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 4 2020, 09:26 AM)

Was happily driving a used Jag X Type, and before that, and old BMW E32 but somehow, the wear and tear plus the repairs that were carried out to the car meant they were money pits. The Jag was fully paid off a couple of years ago and since then, I had to change stuffs like ignition coils, radiator tank/hose, aircon, gearbox...

Jag X-type..sadly the last of the true Jag.. Because the engine..is a ford
Even Land Rovers are using Ford engines.

BTW are u still keeping the Jag while u opted for the Myvi? Certainly a downgrade over the Jag.
If it were me, sorry, I would kill the BMW and change for the Myvi. So I keep 1 Jag and 1 Myvi. Jag as a weekend car.
slaveone
post Sep 4 2020, 11:13 AM

1,231 posts

keep continuing using that car
woodentiger86
post Sep 4 2020, 11:22 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Sep 4 2020, 11:10 AM)
Jag X-type..sadly the last of the true Jag.. Because the engine..is a ford
Even Land Rovers are using Ford engines.

BTW are u still keeping the Jag while u opted for the Myvi? Certainly a downgrade over the Jag.
If it were me, sorry, I would kill the BMW and change for the Myvi. So I keep 1 Jag and 1 Myvi. Jag as a weekend car.
Jag still in use. My mum uses it now. I passed the car over to them. Yea, it is a downgrade but for now, financial reasons means I need to forgo all those days of prancing around with an admittedly rare car since not many X Types on the road. It's a nice car to be seen in too and got once I was driving past an XE and gave the owner a thumbs up as I drove past and he honked back in acknowledgement. wub.gif

Probably might open up a thread on all my past Jag & E32 photos laugh.gif

The E32 long gone from my ownership too, especially after all the effort I made to convert it to Alpina wannabe.

I have a thread on BMWCM forums on the journey too. sweat.gif

HalseyFrangipane
post Sep 4 2020, 11:44 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 4 2020, 09:26 AM)

Admittedly cos of my driving style. sweat.gif

Anyhow, it reached a point that I was bleeding money unnecessarily due to the breakdowns and what-nots, and my wife gave me an ultimatum & asked me this question - do I want to risk my kids' safety every time my car were to break down? Do I want to see them waiting at the side of the road waiting for tow trucks with me?

So ended up I just scouted around for a decent & reliable car to use and opted for the Myvi. Heck, at that price range, it had even more safety features and airbags than my previous rides!

So, in net, currently my net spend on the car is purely the monthly loan and the regular servicing intervals, as my fuel is subsided to certain limit also. It helps a lot so my money is used up elsewhere [baby food and diapers]

PHEW that's quite scary to read. I hope all the preventive maintenance and due diligence is enough to ensure that I don't face such issues ever with an E46...
TSclockpulses
post Sep 4 2020, 12:25 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 3 2020, 03:57 PM)
currently im using 17 years old 2003 toyota camry acv31 , bought it brand new from toyota itself .. it took me 5 years to finished paying my monthly loan for the car , after that continue using it until now , always service my car on time , minor repair here and there , less problematic and keep on maintaining it .. the mileage already 326 880km , still it put smile on me everytime i drive the car ..  no need to pay monthly loan , with that money , use it for maintainance  cool2.gif
What is the thing that u spent most from 5-17th years?

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 3 2020, 03:59 PM)
times are bad now. better maintain the car and keep extra cash
Yes i agree. But i also worry about the uncertainty of the car starting from 5th year / 120k km mileage.

QUOTE(tifosi @ Sep 3 2020, 05:27 PM)
Just maintain it. If you'll be paying 600 per month for installment alone for new car, that'll be 7.2k per year. Then plus other wear and tear normal service, comes close to 10k per year. Just maintain till you finish paying for your car, and see how much your maintenance. Chances are way less than that 10k per year so why pay more to enrich the banks again?

Just make sure you service your car regularly and change the wear and tear parts if needed to. Generally preve quite tahan lasak one.
For the new car maybe i just need rm500 for regular service and change tyre only. Maybe additional 500 plus 1000 for tyre for first year. I may need to check the proton service periodic table

QUOTE(DM52 @ Sep 3 2020, 06:18 PM)
Lets them be la bro. Small car attitude like that wo. no wonder so much accident involve them. No need to change car for the sake of inferiority complex. Ya, although old, its stability will be remain as c segment which is farking stable on highway. If u still insist to change, this aspect will be missed by u. Even 2020 b segment will never be as planted on highway
QUOTE(dares @ Sep 3 2020, 09:57 PM)
RM55k with 15% d/p, assuming you are going for 5 yr loan, monthly RM920, annually RM11k.

So from a strictly financial point of view, unless you are spending RM11k a year to repair your car, otherwise keeping your current car is definitely the more economical choice.

I'm not including routine maintenance and petrol in the RM11k as you will still need to pay (even more) to maintain your new car within that 5 year warranty period and you still need to pump petrol.

So, do you think you will be spending an average of RM11k/yr to repair your Preve?

There are exceptions of course, if your car is in such bad condition that it would breakdown often and waste your time going in and out of workshop.
You are right bro. If buy new car. U may need at least additional RM500 for the first year maybe just for 2 tines normal services. That is already 11.5k per years. The following years will be more. I have to come up with a comparison table. 15% d/p only because have to deduct car loan balance from the asking price from used car dealer. If i wait for another 2 years and finish the loan first. I may get rm15k from the sales ,which is to be used as d/p for the next car.
TSclockpulses
post Sep 4 2020, 01:14 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Sep 4 2020, 09:11 AM)
My rule of thumb is that if the cost of keeping the car in running condition is lower than the total monthly payment for a new car, then keep the car...

Else, just go for the new car especially if you already dislike the car and wanting an upgrade...

Tbh, a new Persona isn’t really a better car than the Preve...there’s a “MC” Persona coming, so maybe you can wait for that before you decide
I never got the chance to test drive the 2019 Persona but i did test driven the 2016 version. I would say the 2016 version was not so good. Rattles everywhere, the NVH is same as my Preve.

But after Geely taking over Proton, i heard they did major changes in quality. NVH is improved, handling wise is typical Proton which is good. FC is better, and i like the interior design.

Just today saw a spyshot in a car news portal site the 2021 will have better bumper design, interior but still uses Punch CVT. That is a good news as i rather drive Punch CVT car than an outdated 4AT

https://www.funtasticko.net/intip-persona-d...g-berdua-duaan/
jVIPERs2
post Sep 4 2020, 07:11 PM

LY.N Enthusiast
1,675 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 4 2020, 01:14 PM)
I never got the chance to test drive the 2019 Persona but i did test driven the 2016 version. I would say the 2016 version was not so good. Rattles everywhere, the NVH is same as my Preve.

But after Geely taking over Proton, i heard they did major changes in quality. NVH is improved, handling wise is typical Proton which is good. FC is better, and i like the interior design.

Just today saw a spyshot in a car news portal site the 2021 will  have better bumper design, interior but still uses Punch CVT. That is a good news as i rather drive Punch CVT car than an outdated 4AT

https://www.funtasticko.net/intip-persona-d...g-berdua-duaan/
Coming from a Gen2 CPS, wasn’t convinced to move to Persona. NVH is better, and the reverse camera helpful but everything else was worse...especially the refinement. Eventually I got the Iriz as my second car...still disappointing, but couldn’t look away since it came with a RM11k discount and 7 years warranty...certainly better than the Axia for the same price...

Looking at your enthusiasm, it appears that you want that new car...make sure you go test drive before you decide...

It’ll surely cost you more for the Persona over the years, but if you can afford it and it’ll make you happy then go for it!
kevinpss
post Sep 7 2020, 02:30 AM

497 posts

Hi All

Tayar front. 2019 RM700
Service aircond, 2019
Cvt service, 2019
Engine mount, 2019
Fuel filter 2019
Bateri, 2019
Belt - 2019.
Oxygen sensor, 2020

Upgrade to CIVIC for the another 10 years....just change, maybe we won’t drive many diff car in life...

THE CLASS OF 13
post Sep 8 2020, 09:01 AM

171 posts

Hi All

Tayar front. 2019 RM700
Service aircond, 2019
Cvt service, 2019
Engine mount, 2019
Fuel filter 2019
Bateri, 2019
Belt - 2019.
Oxygen sensor, 2020

as a preve owner with similar year and mileage travel. i would say keep it.

after u spend all the necessary maintenance on wear and tear item it would be as a good as new, especially engine mounting and suspension bushing.

the thing need to be aware of is your cvt, cos mine is a manual executive variant. so far i just changed whole engine mounting for only rm480 original due to always launching on traffic light race haha.
then i change whole front suspension parts and bush cos I'm running racing coilover back then and always whack corner. thus all suspension bushing up front already wear like a 10 years old car haha.

the main reason I'm suggesting you to keep the preve are most of the problem we already know, and there always an alternative way to fix it . either go to sc or go to other proton specialist with more cheap labour price. most problem can be settled with i think fair price.
and also for the safety feutures and chasis rigidity, i feel very safe everytime I'm driving it. i actually miss my car when driving others car even though the other car are superior in term of refinement but the feeling when driving preve is somewhat different. very solid driving feeling. this one I'm not comparing to conti yaa. if conti than totally different la but masuk workshop worst than preve.

TSclockpulses
post Sep 8 2020, 01:01 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(THE CLASS OF 13 @ Sep 8 2020, 09:01 AM)
as a preve owner with similar year and mileage travel. i would say keep it.

after u spend all the necessary maintenance on wear and tear item it would be as a good as new, especially engine mounting and suspension bushing.

the thing need to be aware of is your cvt, cos mine is a manual executive variant. so far i just changed whole engine mounting for only rm480 original due to always launching on traffic light race haha.
then i change whole front suspension parts and bush cos I'm running racing coilover back then and always whack corner. thus all suspension bushing up front already wear like a 10 years old car haha.
the main reason I'm suggesting you to keep the preve are most of the problem we already know, and there always an alternative way to fix it . either go to sc or go to other proton specialist with more cheap labour price. most problem can be settled with i think fair price.
and also for the safety feutures and chasis rigidity,  i feel very safe everytime I'm driving it. i actually miss my car when driving others car even though the other car are superior in term of refinement but the feeling when driving preve is somewhat different. very solid driving feeling. this one I'm not comparing to conti yaa. if conti than totally different la but masuk workshop worst than preve.
Yes to me the preve (not sure turbo one) but the NA version is quite easy to maintain. Very straight forward. Not complicated and spare parts also easily available. The parts are shared with Exora/Persona. Hopefully another 10 years still easy to find biggrin.gif
zxcv96
post Sep 8 2020, 02:57 PM

195 posts

If I were you I wud keep repairing the old preve for another 100km on odo. As for your next car, I wud personally avoid proton, avoid conti, buy only japanese car. Your wallet will thank you when you need repairs in the future
TSclockpulses
post Sep 9 2020, 09:07 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(zxcv96 @ Sep 8 2020, 02:57 PM)
If I were you I wud keep repairing the old preve for another 100km on odo. As for your next car, I wud personally avoid proton, avoid conti, buy only japanese car. Your wallet will thank you when you need repairs in the future
Well for the past 120k km. No major issue with the Proton, just normal wear and tear, so i cant avoid Proton as my next car. Jap cars are expensive to me biggrin.gif

0.0365sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:13 PM