post Sep 2 2020, 08:58 PM, updated 6y ago

62 posts

Hi all
Planning to get a 1.5 myvi
Can advise if which is more worthwhile?

1.5 AV?
Or
1.5H with self install 360 panoramic camera + multimedia player + solar tint?

Also, if install those will it void warranty?

**not a really car fan, so 0 car knowledge here sad.gif
ry8128
post Sep 2 2020, 09:04 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

If term of bang for bucks, its AV without a doubt. The extra features easily worth much more than the additional money you need to top up.

I dun see any reason why ppl who is aiming for 1.5 would prefer to go for H instead of AV, besides money issue. Meaning they cant really afford the additional few k to get AV.
adriankan
post Sep 2 2020, 09:06 PM

78 posts

1.5A user here. Since mid 2018. In my opinion, the myvi infotainment is quite trash, some common issues I had with this include:

1. When connected to phone Bluetooth to play song, quite often there will be random skips, like skipping the song few seconds
2. The player doesn't list down song info when playing through phone Bluetooth (actual wtf)
3. Android link only supports up to Android 5 (im not kidding), anything above that, cannot use.
4. When you engage your gear to reverse and the camera pops up, you cant adjust volume up or down while in reverse mode (abit ridiculous cause sometimes you wanna lower the volume to focus better to park)

So yeah I think the infotainment if you want, should be replaced with aftermarket one anyway so there's that.

Not too sure on the tint warranty tho

This post has been edited by adriankan: Sep 2 2020, 09:07 PM
jasonlim
post Sep 2 2020, 09:09 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

Those that get 1.5H already stretch their budget at the first place

Hence they can't stretch further for 1.5AV

Otherwise i can't think of other reason
TS13af
post Sep 2 2020, 09:15 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(adriankan @ Sep 2 2020, 09:06 PM)
1.5A user here. Since mid 2018. In my opinion, the myvi infotainment is quite trash, some common issues I had with this include:

1. When connected to phone Bluetooth to play song, quite often there will be random skips, like skipping the song few seconds
2. The player doesn't list down song info when playing through phone Bluetooth (actual wtf)
3. Android link only supports up to Android 5 (im not kidding), anything above that, cannot use.
4. When you engage your gear to reverse and the camera pops up, you cant adjust volume up or down while in reverse mode (abit ridiculous cause sometimes you wanna lower the volume to focus better to park)

So yeah I think the infotainment if you want, should be replaced with aftermarket one anyway so there's that.

Not too sure on the tint warranty tho
If replace for infotainment, will it void warranty?
Heard wiring warranty will void if involve wiring cutting or so.
TS13af
post Sep 2 2020, 09:18 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Sep 2 2020, 09:09 PM)
If term of bang for bucks, its AV without a doubt. The extra features easily worth much more than the additional money you need to top up.

I dun see any reason why ppl who is aiming for 1.5 would prefer to go for H instead of AV, besides money issue. Meaning they cant really afford the additional few k to get AV.
QUOTE(jasonlim @ Sep 2 2020, 09:09 PM)
Those that get 1.5H already stretch their budget at the first place

Hence they can't stretch further for 1.5AV

Otherwise i can't think of other reason
So those additional bucks worth it?
Saw some of the review on the forum said that the default one is not satisfying
Gt R
post Sep 2 2020, 10:04 PM

Depends whether you prefer leather seats or not.

If i'm not mistaken 1.5H is fabric while the 1.5AV is giving leather seats.

So if you're ok with leather seats then get the 1.5AV
datjayvin100
post Sep 2 2020, 10:28 PM

Here's my thought process, I ordered a 1.5 H and getting it next week. I prefer fabric over leather seats, I'm planning to change my audio player to Kenwood DDX919WS, in terms of warranty if you get a "plug & play" system which means there's no wires getting cut, you're good. The price difference between the H and the AV (both OTR) is approximately RM2K. I'm using the difference to add the custom player and reverse camera, since I also prefer the fabric seats its a no brainer for me but to get the H spec.

This post has been edited by datjayvin100: Sep 2 2020, 10:39 PM
SUSgogo2
post Sep 2 2020, 10:48 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Just get the av one. The leather seat have new car smell. The fabric has no smell.
adriankan
post Sep 2 2020, 10:54 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(13af @ Sep 2 2020, 09:15 PM)
If replace for infotainment, will it void warranty?
Heard wiring warranty will void if involve wiring cutting or so.
Truth be told I have no idea as I never tried it before. Maybe someone here will be able to give clarification
woodentiger86
post Sep 3 2020, 11:07 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

If TS able to stretch to get the AV, then go for it.

Yes, the current HU kinda sucks and Smartlink also doesn't work for any phones using Android 8 and above, if not mistaken.

Appreciate the reverse camera functionality though.

Yes, as many have advised, so long if it's those plug and play type of HU, should be fine. Again, depends on your luck if there's any issues arising from electronics later, like maybe boot cannot lock, windows failure etc, they might start saying cos you install so & so on your car...

Have fun with your MG3 bro!
cempedaklife
post Sep 3 2020, 11:41 AM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Sep 2 2020, 09:04 PM)

topup sikit dapat (insert car).

topup topup like that no ending, dapat ferrari pun boleh.
blindmutedeaf
post Sep 3 2020, 01:47 PM

270 posts

i was shopping for this car 2 years ago and was split in between H and AV.
At the end I get H these were the logic behind
1> Leather Seat very hot under sun
2> the HU sucks, why pay more
3> the ADAS just 30kph, if it were the 2nd gen (80kph) i might get this

Gt R
post Sep 3 2020, 04:32 PM

Agreed, leather seat under the sun quite hot. TS have to think on this point also.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 3 2020, 05:00 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,852 posts

go for AV
cutepuppy97
post Sep 4 2020, 01:20 AM

40 posts

I was in your shoes past 2 week. Decided to get the H as Av not worth it.

the av player sucks, tinted? just security flim not dark/cold at all lol , leather seats (i dont like it feel very slippery i got small butt and also hot)

I booking and loan approved within 3 week less collect the car d

Added 85% IRR flim outside la and also kena jpj saman d 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️ cuz still fresh and cant roll down the window thats why look dark from the outside

still gt plans to upgrade speakers first as bluetooth is sufficient enough for now

zxcv96
post Sep 4 2020, 11:02 AM

195 posts

Leather seats especially black can cook your buns when parked under hot sun

0.0190sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:52 PM