Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

Sam Leong
post Dec 21 2021, 04:32 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(lowkelvin @ Dec 21 2021, 01:20 PM)
Yes, I understand DNB dont have 2G license
Just an idea brainstorming  biggrin.gif

Gov can ask telco to shut down 3G
Of course Gov can ask telco to shut down their 2G too

After this,
Telco can reband their 2G and 3G into 4G/5G
Then Gov can re-assigning some GSM900/GSM1800 to DNB to run 2G network
I don't think 2G will be closed within 1 / 2 years because many IoT devices especially POS terminal still using 2G (I saw many POS terminal that accept credit / debit card still using 2G showing EDGE with some carrier , normally Digi / Maxis)
and if 2G closed means Malaysia only have 4G / 5G , i don't think telco want to build tower in places thats doesn't bring profit
then many places especially rural areas get No Service
Sam Leong
post Dec 22 2021, 10:07 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Dec 21 2021, 08:23 PM)
I think major telco has provided information that some of their spectrum especially 900/1800mhz are doing DSS. dynamic spectrum sharing...
meaing.. if the area no ppl use 2G, the spectrum will be used for 4G, otherwise, the shared block will be served as 2G purpose.
So basically, all the spectrum 900/1800/2100/2600 at big 4 are all used for 4G now. no such reband or refarm anymore after 3G sunset.

The only radio team inside big 4 can do now is adding spectrum to existing site and change 10mhz to 15mhz for their 2100mhz after 3G sunset.

BTW just sharing, currently digi only implement 4CC/MIMO/256QAM for their network, tat is y digi result at speedtest/other report has suddenly improved compared to other 3 that ad implement this 3 years ago.
Hmm thats why i can get 250+ Mbps on Digi 4G in MRT Bukit Bintang and also Kuantan Indera Mahkota

Sam Leong
post Dec 22 2021, 10:26 AM

673 posts

And also seems like Digi updated their 3G shutdown schedule
Im weird because i tot Perak already got shut down 3G but i still receive 3G signal

Sam Leong
post Dec 23 2021, 08:48 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(shaktiv8 @ Dec 22 2021, 12:57 PM)
I know central is delayed because of ongoing flood, many networks are having issues especially with internet still, and it is not the time to be removing a whole band of internet. 

As for you still able to get 3G, based on the chart perak 3G will only shutdown on the 3rd now. Then you will loose your 3G too
Just received the sms about 3G shutdown delayed because flood

Sam Leong
post Dec 23 2021, 08:46 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(ezekieldavidchong @ Dec 23 2021, 05:42 PM)
i did not get any problem with Celcom
Digi lastime i use go to basement no line.
But with Celcom much better
anyway talking about 3G and 4G i have no problem with Celcom so far
depends on area
inside my house Celcom 4G worst than Digi 4G
only Maxis and U Mobile can achieve full bar because they deployed a tower right infront of my house
same location Digi can have two bar 4G but Celcom only 1 bar or just no bar but trying to maintain 4G connection
I guess because Digi got the 900MHz thing , and they deploy it around my house , at least i can receive 4G signal inside my room now , before 900Mhz was deployed i only can get No Service , so VoWiFi is a must for me

oh ya and Texas Chicken KLCC
Digi have no service / EDGE but Maxis got 4G+ full bar (but 5-10Mbps only lah idk why , maybe congestion)
Sam Leong
post Jan 7 2022, 11:13 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 6 2022, 12:13 PM)
Texas Chicken KLCC no line for DiGi, Yeoh Tiong Lay and P1 webe #BEBAS...

Nasib baik ada H365....

#KLCC_is_shameful_for_no_mobile_network_coverage
yup
Luckily that time my friend using Maxis so i use his hotspot or else i can't even open my TNG eWallet app and pay
but walk out abit
Digi 4G

Fun fact :
My friend and i did a speedtest below Menara Maxis
he using Maxis and i using Digi
Maxis got 50+Mbps and Digi got 100+Mbps
maybe need to rename call Menara Digi

This post has been edited by Sam Leong: Jan 7 2022, 11:14 AM
Sam Leong
post Feb 18 2022, 06:30 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(badai @ Feb 17 2022, 05:54 PM)
just wondering, if my phone don't have signal at all inside house, but got 2 to 3 bar on 2G and 4G outside my house, will it be useful if i bought 2G booster and get 2G only signal in my house? just need to make call and sms, data can use home internet.

also, i heard that 4G booster have all kind of band number and not all booster will work with particular telco, but 2G usually will have all the band in the booster for all telco.
if ur telco support WiFi Calling then just go ahead for WiFi Calling
Currently Maxis / Digi / U Mobile is the only telco supporting WiFi Calling in Malaysia
When outside of Malaysia :
Maxis - Cannot use WiFi Calling (i think they implement geo restriction on their WiFi Calling server maybe)
Digi & U Mobile - Yes

Most of the devices including the free Yes Altitude 4 supports Digi WiFi Calling , not sure on U Mobile or Maxis but it should work
Sam Leong
post Feb 18 2022, 01:27 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(badai @ Feb 18 2022, 09:30 AM)
sms cannot go through wifi calling. still need 2G.
Only USSD services requires 2G
SMS / Call can directly use IMS
Sam Leong
post Feb 28 2022, 01:04 PM

673 posts

Hmmm
I tot Digi already close all 3G network in Kuala Lumpur
But i still can get 3G in Mid Valley
In Basement Parking

Sam Leong
post Mar 1 2022, 05:44 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 1 2022, 03:58 PM)
Did you try if can access with internet connection or not.
Like Umobile, there is 3G but cannot use the data connection. So its as good as Voice-only 3G.
Celcom 3G , up to time of writing - Still can use data connection.
yes , can access
but just few seconds then i got back 4G

0.1228sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:33 PM