Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

TSJLA
post Dec 26 2021, 03:20 PM

2,771 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Dec 26 2021, 11:48 AM)
If 502 158 is for nationwide 2G roaming, then what's 502 159?

I found this in manual searching, it's a 4G signal.

502 159 is DNB 700mhz LTE band 28
zuozi
post Dec 26 2021, 03:35 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2021, 02:40 PM)
🤣😂😜🤪

Lolz...
One of the many factors / issues faced...
This is why Telco in the middle of sardines and keep asking how I'm supposed to do kek
XeactorZ
post Dec 26 2021, 03:56 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

Seems like PJ still have 3G signal (Maxis)
whenever 4G signal is weak it will drop to 3G as now I at 1 utama hmm.gif
azhar75
post Dec 26 2021, 05:42 PM

17,218 posts

It will be fully shutdown on 31st March 2022...
LuckyBai
post Dec 26 2021, 05:45 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 26 2021, 03:56 PM)
Telcos know best that 3G still very important in our daily lives.. After since 3G sunset, the coverage area has become shitty and 2G cannot serve the purposes anymore !!
nexona88
post Dec 26 2021, 05:47 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 26 2021, 03:56 PM)
Delay to January/February 🙂

Because of recent flooding...
knight
post Dec 26 2021, 08:31 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2021, 11:30 AM)
Maxis also having some issues like yours...
Celcom too...

4G is weak... So previously drop to 3G...
Now straight to E 😠

It's more on Telco refuse to add more tower to cover the particular location... Cost saving measure???? Waiting for more complaining???
Personally I think removing 3G with a short dateline is a wrong move.
What if 4G Crowded and flooded suddenly at high populated area. Habis. I wonder if people will start complaining this issue soon or not. I was thinking to change my Unifi mobile but now think of it, all are the same.
nexona88
post Dec 26 2021, 08:58 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Dec 26 2021, 08:31 PM)
What if 4G Crowded and flooded suddenly at high populated area. Habis. I wonder if people will start complaining this issue soon or not. I was thinking to change my Unifi mobile but now think of it, all are the same.
Gomen planning failed big...
Rush job actually.... Should let 3G little longer maybe till Q3 2022??? Meantime... Improve the 4G coverage too... And add more capacity to high traffic/populated areas....
XeactorZ
post Dec 26 2021, 09:10 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2021, 05:47 PM)
Delay to January/February 🙂

Because of recent flooding...
apply to certain area and telco only
my offiice and home area already shut down 3G signal (maxis)
nexona88
post Dec 27 2021, 10:01 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 26 2021, 09:10 PM)
apply to certain area and telco only
my offiice and home area already shut down 3G signal (maxis)
Yes. Depending on areas and state...
Also based on Telco too...
poh880
post Dec 27 2021, 10:09 AM

529 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2021, 08:58 PM)
Rush job actually.... Should let 3G little longer maybe till Q3 2022??? Meantime... Improve the 4G coverage too... And add more capacity to high traffic/populated areas....
Maybe their have done what they can like 4CC but the resources are so limited. Ask MCMC to open up more bandwidth and frequency brows.gif
Kiding
post Dec 27 2021, 12:30 PM

1,135 posts

I wonder any telco expert here can answer my question

When the telco drop 3G, will the 3G spectrum immediately repurpose to 4G to increase 4G coverage and speed?
jsnhoh
post Dec 27 2021, 12:48 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 27 2021, 12:30 PM)
I wonder any telco expert here can answer my question

When the telco drop 3G, will the 3G spectrum immediately repurpose to 4G to increase 4G coverage and speed?
I m not expert. But by terminating the 3g spectrum, telcos have more budget to "upgrade" the infra ( in theory). And frequency interruption also will be reduced.
Kiding
post Dec 27 2021, 02:30 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Dec 27 2021, 12:48 PM)
I m not expert. But by terminating the 3g spectrum, telcos have more budget to "upgrade" the infra ( in theory). And frequency interruption also will be reduced.
This is the objective of dropping 3G, because it gives frequency bands used by 3G to 4G, for example, Digi uses 2100Mhz for 3G, so my question is, when Digi drop 3G, will the 2100Mhz spectrum immediately or very soon utilised by 4G technology? if telco dropped 3G and it will take few months for them to roll out 4G for frequency bands used by 3G, that will be bad experience for end users.
mlamlam
post Dec 27 2021, 03:15 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 27 2021, 02:30 PM)
This is the objective of dropping 3G, because it gives frequency bands used by 3G to 4G, for example, Digi uses 2100Mhz for 3G, so my question is, when Digi drop 3G, will the 2100Mhz spectrum immediately or very soon utilised by 4G technology? if telco dropped 3G and it will take few months for them to roll out 4G for frequency bands used by 3G, that will be bad experience for end users.
For Digi, they already allocated 10Mhz for 4G and 5Mhz for 3G
probably after the shut down, they will expand the bandwidth to 15Mhz

but first of all, 2100Mhz is standard freq for 3G, for 4G you have to check whether your phone is supporting or not, mostly new phone already in the support list.
prosibu
post Dec 29 2021, 08:55 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Dec 26 2021, 08:31 PM)
If u imaging 5mhz as a car lane,
2100mhz we have 3 lanes, now 2 for 4g, 1 for 3g
U really think that 2+1 is better than 3 lanes?
So u hoping everyone flood the 2 lane while u can change lane to 3g lane due to less car? Hmm

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2021, 08:58 PM)
Improving blind spot coverage is not gov issue d
Same for add capacity. It is telco optimization team who need to handle this.

Until now mid valley megamall KL still having no coverage at some shops/parking place. U think mcmc/etc will care about this?
joshhd
post Dec 29 2021, 01:02 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Dec 29 2021, 08:55 AM)
If u imaging 5mhz as a car lane,
2100mhz we have 3 lanes, now 2 for 4g, 1 for 3g
U really think that 2+1 is better than 3 lanes?
So u hoping everyone flood the 2 lane while u can change lane to 3g lane due to less car? Hmm

Oh well, I have to agree this point. Some people really think that way.
Some users expect that everyone's phone will connect to 4G by default. In the long run, that 4G network become congested, and then they think that only a minority of 3G users still on 3G, so they manually force their phone to 3G, and expects the network is somehow usable compared to the congested 4G network.
QUOTE(prosibu @ Dec 29 2021, 08:55 AM)
Improving blind spot coverage is not gov issue d
Same for add capacity. It is telco optimization team who need to handle this.

Until now mid valley megamall KL still having no coverage at some shops/parking place. U think mcmc/etc will care about this?

If MCMC doesn't care, and telco doesn't care, who can care about this? Mid Valley's building management? sweat.gif
mlamlam
post Dec 29 2021, 01:13 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 29 2021, 01:02 PM)
Some users expect that everyone's phone will connect to 4G by default. In the long run, that 4G network become congested, and then they think that only a minority of 3G users still on 3G, so they manually force their phone to 3G, and expects the network is somehow usable compared to the congested 4G network.
If MCMC doesn't care, and telco doesn't care, who can care about this? Mid Valley's building management? sweat.gif
The facility management have to allow telco to install microcell to those blind spot
if telco doesn't care, is it the building management charging too much or any barrier to not allowing telco to install such small tower?

besides, in order to be less congested on 4G, not only to increase the bandwidth, actually telco needs to build more femtocell or small tower in the building, and those telco backbone also have to use fiber, not to use microwave anymore.
prosibu
post Dec 29 2021, 01:17 PM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 29 2021, 01:02 PM)
Management wont do anything unless telco trigger to build more booster inside their building.

How to trigger improvement? When VVVVVIP cannot make ewallet payment at the cashier of some outlets?

Also, last time i was gossiped that um coverage at KLCC having transmission issue whereby digi celcom having the same. But booster owner of the KLCC (M) not allow other telco to increase capacity to the KLCC site. Yet MCMC cannot do anything due to building management final decision.

I dunno. Figure it out ourselves...
prosibu
post Dec 29 2021, 01:19 PM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 29 2021, 01:13 PM)
The facility management have to allow telco to install microcell to those blind spot
if telco doesn't care, is it the building management charging too much or any barrier to not allowing telco to install such small tower?

besides, in order to be less congested on 4G, not only to increase the bandwidth, actually telco needs to build more femtocell or small tower in the building, and those telco backbone also have to use fiber, not to use microwave anymore.
Talking about microwave i almost vomitted that almost all DNB site still using microwave !!
Yet soyacincau and malaysiawireless still teasing y the latency is so high (or no improvement) ....

39 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:08 AM