Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

azhar75
post Oct 20 2021, 09:08 PM

17,220 posts

Me was expecting those Tim Team Apple will be the "perfect" scenario for shutting down 3G. Looks like, even Tim Team Apple devices also kena the VoLTE tak melekat scenario ... LOL...

#Cell_Towers_misconfiguration_causing_VoLTE_tak_melekat
#Malaysian_is_not_good_at_technical_stuff
koja6049
post Oct 20 2021, 09:22 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 20 2021, 08:53 PM)
Cannot turn off 2G, not all telco, phone got VoLTE, call cannot in if both 2G, 3G not available
why cannot? even singapore did it: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/no-more-2g-network-april-1

i find malaysia shutting down 3g first is stranger biggrin.gif
PJng
post Oct 20 2021, 09:26 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Oct 20 2021, 09:22 PM)
why cannot? even singapore did it: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/no-more-2g-network-april-1

i find malaysia shutting down 3g first is stranger  biggrin.gif
Now malaysia shutdown 3G, you say why not shutdown 2G too
Mean you want shutdown both 2G and 3G? Which cannot shutdown both G if telco/phone no VoLTE
TSJLA
post Oct 21 2021, 08:23 AM

2,780 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Oct 20 2021, 09:22 PM)

i find malaysia shutting down 3g first is stranger  biggrin.gif
singapore is small island. big country like thailand u-turn 2G shutdown.
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 21 2021, 10:48 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(cybersans @ Oct 20 2021, 08:51 PM)
they should shutdown the 2g too. because they will be blamed if users suddenly got their connection dropped from lte to edge.

if lte dropped to hspa it will not caused too much differences. but from lte to edge, u watch youtube 720p suddenly buffering to 144p. laugh.gif
cannot lah. you shouldn't only think of your situation. there are other places not yet blessed with 4G, and 100% is only planned to come in few years.

until there's decent coverage, ...
kit2
post Oct 23 2021, 11:30 AM

2,281 posts

anyone seeing improvement to 4g in your area? like stronger signal or new lte bands made available?

4g is still shitty in my house. umobile still no 4g, must go out and stand in the middle of road. maxis 3g full bar, but weak 4g and must stand near window. digi and celcom, 4g 1-2 bar and unstable inside the house.
netbeans
post Oct 23 2021, 10:42 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Oct 23 2021, 11:30 AM)
anyone seeing improvement to 4g in your area? like stronger signal or new lte bands made available?

4g is still shitty in my house. umobile still no 4g, must go out and stand in the middle of road. maxis 3g full bar, but weak 4g and must stand near window. digi and celcom, 4g 1-2 bar and unstable inside the house.
My area @ Cyberjaya.. indoor only 1 bar maxis 4g. Most of the time 3g
XeactorZ
post Oct 24 2021, 12:16 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

My office most of the time 1 to 2 bar (maxis) doh.gif
azhar75
post Oct 24 2021, 12:20 AM

17,220 posts

Wait until u see "EDGE" symbol next to the bars...LOL...

#2022_is_on_the_EDGE

#2022_flagship_phone_feels_like_2003_flagship

This post has been edited by azhar75: Oct 24 2021, 12:26 AM
PJng
post Oct 24 2021, 12:40 AM

12,039 posts

No, still same on my work place, indoor 4G only 1 bar, and keep drop back 3G full bar
Even outdoor 4G still not full, 3 bar and speed not stable
Skylinestar
post Oct 24 2021, 01:13 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 24 2021, 12:20 AM)
Wait until u see "EDGE" symbol next to the bars...LOL...

#2022_is_on_the_EDGE

#2022_flagship_phone_feels_like_2003_flagship
Missed the "O" symbol (for gprs) on my iPhone.

No. Telco ain't doing anything to improve indoor reception. In my house, on the 1st floor, on 1 dedicated spot, I can get 3 bar 4G. Outside of that spot, it's zero signal for 4G and half for 3G. On ground floor, there's zero signal for all. Nothing has changed despite years of complain from the community.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Oct 24 2021, 01:17 PM
azhar75
post Oct 24 2021, 01:29 PM

17,220 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 24 2021, 01:13 PM)
Missed the "O" symbol (for gprs) on my iPhone.
Tim Team Apple luvs the "O".... LOL...

incredibless
post Oct 24 2021, 04:28 PM

437 posts

No improvement at all given the same place you are staying. Noticably with Maxis in my wife hometown, still weak 4G 2bars only but if in the house used to get 3G i think Maxis already turn off the 3G and now only 4G or drop to E only. Making it useless except phone calls. The only way is to get the telco that provides you the best at 3 key area you be spending time at [your house, your work, and your parents house] yawn.gif
OKLY
post Oct 24 2021, 04:39 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

I think it’ll be a big concern for rural areas whereby 3G is the best bet for wider coverage. I guess some of them will suffer on 2G when 3G is switched off.
Skylinestar
post Oct 24 2021, 04:45 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Oct 24 2021, 04:28 PM)
No improvement at all given the same place you are staying. Noticably with Maxis in my wife hometown, still weak 4G 2bars only but if in the house used to get 3G i think Maxis already turn off the 3G and now only 4G  or drop to E only. Making it useless except phone calls. The only way is to get the telco that provides you the best at 3 key area you be spending time at [your house, your work, and your parents house] yawn.gif
telco: best i can do is on the main road outside your neighborhood.
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 24 2021, 05:40 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

tumpang lalu: anyone know of national-level, state-level, ministry-level, or telco-level device-for-donation drive?

in penang?

got few phones no longer in use, still usable.
prefer those unrelated to reseller or to dubious associations.

update:
found #myBaikHati campaign

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 24 2021, 08:35 PM
TSJLA
post Oct 24 2021, 06:15 PM

2,780 posts

LTE band 8 coming to tower near your area

aq_admiral2020
post Oct 25 2021, 05:42 PM

73 posts

Band 8 is 900mhz or something, so coverage same as 3G?
netbeans
post Oct 27 2021, 09:32 PM

630 posts

Saw this on celcom page..

11/11/2021: 3G is leaving your area now!

Selangor – Kuala Selangor, Petaling, Klang, Kuala Langat, Hulu Selangor, Sabak Bernam, Gombak, Sepang, Hulu Langat, WP Putrajaya

Kuala Lumpur – WP Kuala Lumpur

Perak – Bagan Datuk

Pahang – Bentong

Source: Celcom Network Checker

This post has been edited by netbeans: Oct 27 2021, 09:32 PM

SUSlife5tyle
post Oct 28 2021, 02:15 PM

277 posts

3G is totally different from LTE. Different band.

Basically if we saw 3G, most of our apps is not working properly (nearly no data transmitted). Whenever my phone is on 3G, I can receive or calling via voice call and SMS. Whatsapp, Wechat, Telegram, Facebook, Youtube, Waze, Discord would not be working.

39 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:56 PM