Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

filage
post Aug 25 2021, 09:55 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Aug 31 2020, 03:13 PM)
Here's a real story:

Was queuing to pay via e-Wallet. Suddenly, the line dropped from 4G to H+... Luckily can still pay ... Imagine, line dropped to EDGE, the e-Wallet app cannot even loading leeyyyhhh... LOL...

So, before terminating the 3G spectrum, make sure test properly the stability and reliability of LTE loohhh... Jangan suka2 terminate tanpa alasan yg konkrit...

MySejahtera app loaded after 60 seconds under EDGE spectrum....LOL

Actually if we disable data connection to Mysejahtera (restrict data usagse) while we are on Data or Wifi, the Mysejahtera will load quicker as once it detects it has no internet access, it will not wait for whatever scripts that request info from their server and wait for results. The Profile page will load just fine and show your Vaccine Digital Cert. Only the Vaccine Check page is not accessible. Check In Scan works offline anyway.
TSJLA
post Aug 25 2021, 10:16 AM

2,777 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Aug 17 2021, 03:26 PM)
So do you say no to the single consortium to manage the 5G network too?
The 5G consortium own by the gov. Let see what the new 5G minister have to say.

Ericsson Spectrum Sharing – A better way to build 5G

Ericsson Spectrum Sharing completely transforms the way 5G is introduced across the world. It brings 5G to everyone, everywhere, much faster. Ericsson Spectrum Sharing introduces a new way of rolling out 5G that re-uses hardware/spectrum/sites, increases coverage of mid/high band, and offer a clear path to 5G stand alone, allowing operators to shift capex investments from new sites to new 5G stand alone use cases.
https://www.ericsson.com/en/ran/spectrum-sharing
TSJLA
post Sep 11 2021, 10:10 AM

2,777 posts

Celcom has done two 3G sunset proof-of-concept between April and June in Semenyih and Klang, Selangor, and it has also completed the first pilot cluster 3G shutdown in Kuala Lumpur last month.

“We are on track with our plan for nationwide 3G shutdown in stages from end-September until Dec 31, 2021," he said.

Mohamad Idham said Celcom is being “very careful” with the shutdown of its 3G network to ensure no implication arises on 4G users.

“We will continue to work to raise the quality of our 4G network coverage and experience, as well as ensuring our customers have a seamless transition from 3G to 4G," he added.

Celcom currently has about 98% of devices on its network already on 4G devices, while less than 3% of its customers are still operating on 3G devices.

https://developingtelecoms.com/telecom-busi...hutters-3g.html

Hummingbird
post Sep 11 2021, 03:41 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Aug 25 2021, 10:16 AM)
The 5G consortium own by the gov.  Let see what the new 5G minister have to say.
Ericsson Spectrum Sharing – A better way to build 5G

Ericsson Spectrum Sharing completely transforms the way 5G is introduced across the world. It brings 5G to everyone, everywhere, much faster. Ericsson Spectrum Sharing introduces a new way of rolling out 5G that re-uses hardware/spectrum/sites, increases coverage of mid/high band, and offer a clear path to 5G stand alone, allowing operators to shift capex investments from new sites to new 5G stand alone use cases.
https://www.ericsson.com/en/ran/spectrum-sharing
The concept of 5G consortium is exactly “put all eggs in one basket”.

If this single consortium charges a low rate for wholesale network, then it’s good. But if it is the other way round, don’t expect the price plan for 5G comes affordable to consumers anytime soon.

This post has been edited by Hummingbird: Sep 11 2021, 03:43 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 18 2021, 07:40 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(kimsun @ Sep 18 2021, 04:23 PM)
4g still sheety in kl!
Don't worry.
Telco already have solution to your sheety 4G - upgrade to sheety 5G.
Skylinestar
post Sep 19 2021, 10:44 AM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

what is the solution for those celcom mvno like redone? as of today, there is no news about volte from these mvno.
Hummingbird
post Sep 19 2021, 12:22 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 19 2021, 10:44 AM)
what is the solution for those celcom mvno like redone? as of today, there is no news about volte from these mvno.
Fall back to 2G for voice?
moonsatelite
post Sep 19 2021, 12:58 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Sep 19 2021, 12:22 PM)
Fall back to 2G for voice?
Thats the worst thing that can ever happen, imagine for example, Grab Drivers which are ferrying a customer to a new location which the driver doesn't know/ familiar with and just so happens wife/ kids calls and ask whats for dinner.

4G that drops to 2G for just that stupid call and sometimes is doesnt rebound to 4G and is stuck at 2G, how is the driver gonna navigate via their Turn by Turn Maps Guidance?

Should have a boycott of Celcom which still hasn't enable VoLTE for prepaid users/ legacy plan/ MVNO customers. Wanna do everything at the final moment, lazy asses. Should organize a mass port-out for Celcom customers

Edit: Android users can mitigate this temporarily by locking their devices at 4G mode, but without VoLTE, no calls can be received so they can ve reached via Voip based calls, iPhone users, out of luck.

This post has been edited by moonsatelite: Sep 19 2021, 01:00 PM
Hummingbird
post Sep 19 2021, 01:25 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Sep 19 2021, 12:58 PM)
Thats the worst thing that can ever happen, imagine for example, Grab Drivers which are ferrying a customer to a new location which the driver doesn't know/ familiar with and just so happens wife/ kids calls and ask whats for dinner.

4G that drops to 2G for just that stupid call and sometimes is doesnt rebound to 4G and is stuck at 2G, how is the driver gonna navigate via their Turn by Turn Maps Guidance?

Should have a boycott of Celcom which still hasn't enable VoLTE for prepaid users/ legacy plan/ MVNO customers. Wanna do everything at the final moment, lazy asses. Should organize a mass port-out for Celcom customers

Edit: Android users can mitigate this temporarily by locking their devices at 4G mode, but without VoLTE, no calls can be received so they can ve reached via Voip based calls, iPhone users, out of luck.
If the user knows it’s gonna be used for serious business, he/she should have only considered the options/carrrier that offer VoLTE.

andrekua2
post Sep 22 2021, 09:05 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Sep 19 2021, 12:58 PM)

Just get a secondary sim aka tablet sim. Use tablet sim as data sim and original sim for calls.

andrekua2
post Sep 22 2021, 09:07 AM

13,472 posts

You havent get a backup? Just done MNP one of the lines to hotlink as precautions.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Sep 22 2021, 09:07 AM
TSJLA
post Sep 22 2021, 10:27 AM

2,777 posts

Skylinestar
post Sep 22 2021, 11:07 AM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Sep 22 2021, 10:27 AM)

Kindly PM. Wtf. Why need to be so secretive?
joshhd
post Sep 22 2021, 11:36 AM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Sep 22 2021, 10:27 AM)

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 22 2021, 11:07 AM)

Maybe they want to keep track on which customer did ask about VoLTE, perhaps for their internal research purposes.
Someone try comment about VoLTE on their fb page, and then that admin asks to PM, then copy paste whatever reply here.
wjleong15
post Sep 22 2021, 11:51 AM

3,521 posts

sapu bawah carpet
hmm.gif
joshhd
post Sep 22 2021, 01:20 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Sep 22 2021, 11:51 AM)
sapu bawah carpet
hmm.gif

First time see company sapu under carpet meh? 🤣🤣🤣
pcdoctor_my
post Sep 22 2021, 02:32 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 22 2021, 11:36 AM)
Maybe they want to keep track on which customer did ask about VoLTE, perhaps for their internal research purposes.
Someone try comment about VoLTE on their fb page, and then that admin asks to PM, then copy paste whatever reply here.
JLA

Its an annoying FB plague. Created by Malaysians for Malaysians. And only in Malaysia.
https://rojakdaily.com/lifestyle/article/31...-why-it-s-wrong

Annoying as hell.
Even ask to "PM" they will ask you to Whatsapp them.
Basically most admins just plain fking lazy to reply, and secretive.

For me I dont go PM PM. I see contact any Whatsapp details, I directly Whatsapp or call.
Dont ask me to PM. If seller ask me to PM, he dont get my business. Kapish?

This post has been edited by pcdoctor_my: Sep 22 2021, 02:34 PM
wjleong15
post Sep 22 2021, 02:35 PM

3,521 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Sep 22 2021, 02:32 PM)
JLA

Its an annoying FB plague. Created by Malaysians for Malaysians. And only in Malaysia.
https://rojakdaily.com/lifestyle/article/31...-why-it-s-wrong

Annoying as hell.
Even ask to "PM" they will ask you to Whatsapp them.
Basically most admins just plain fking lazy to reply, and secretive. 

For me I dont go PM PM. I see contact any Whatsapp details, I directly Whatsapp or call.
Dont ask me to PM. If seller ask me to PM, he dont get my business. Kapish?
same here
especially you see all kind of property agent ads
all as pm
never tell all details
when you ask, pm pm pm
to me, pm = hidden agenda
Skylinestar
post Sep 22 2021, 03:33 PM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Sep 22 2021, 11:51 AM)
sapu bawah carpet
hmm.gif
QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 22 2021, 01:20 PM)
First time see company sapu under carpet meh? 🤣🤣🤣
topkek answer
joshhd
post Sep 22 2021, 08:49 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 22 2021, 03:33 PM)
topkek answer

They might as well give replies like:
- Your phone have to be connected to 4G network to use VoLTE.
- Your phone have to support 4G to use VoLTE.
- Availability of VoLTE varies on location.
- Check your phone settings, make sure the VoLTE settings are enabled.

Nonsense replies/answers like these, make me want to slap them.

39 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:17 AM