Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

SleeplessEyes
post Nov 14 2021, 11:57 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Nov 14 2021, 11:41 AM)
Silly if Celcom shuts down their 3G right now considering their MVNO etc doesnt have VoLTE yet, isnt..
Apparently Celcom (their mother-ship) says this:

At the moment, Celcom has only enabled VoLTE for postpaid customers allowing voice calls to be made via the 4G network. Meanwhile Celcom prepaid and Yoodo customers could only make voice calls on Celcom’s 3G and 2G networks. Malaysia is expected to shut down its 3G networks by the end of 2021. Yoodo customers will require a compatible VoLTE smartphone to make voice calls over the Celcom 4G network.

https://www.malaysianwireless.com/2021/07/y...rs-end-of-2021/

End of the year baru Celcom turn on VOLTE for its prepaid customer. I believe this applies for its MVNO also.
Why the segregation / discrimination , Celcom? Follow too much of Maxis foot step is it?

Anyway, VOLTE or not, it doesn't make me worried.

SleeplessEyes
post Dec 11 2021, 08:17 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Dec 10 2021, 06:30 PM)
Got a call from maxis to change my 3G phone to 4G phone. But the phone is used by my mum for making calls only. So 2G is sufficient and i dont have the change the phone for her, right?
2G will stay for much longer time. Its also to support those which 4G phones the telco doesn't support VOLTE .
I still have my SE K750i, which is a 2G phone. Still working.

Unlike 3G..which is like Peter Parker telling Tony Stark - "Mr Stark, I dont feel so good"

SleeplessEyes
post Feb 9 2022, 04:13 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jan 31 2022, 09:44 AM)

Conclusion, telco just wanna save cost for everything .
I have a feeling Celcom is doing that. However what they did instead, my gut feeling, they reduce the 3G transmit power, increase or allow 2G to have stronger power.

Other telcos, like Umobile, they just disable the 3G data (dammit doh.gif ) but leave the 3G voice signal on. So that the voice can fallback to 3G for the non VOLTE.

2G EDGE, is like 56K dial up era. Able to do simple browsing and quick Whatsapp but gotta have lots of patience. More like driving through kampung shortcut roads.

Please Celcom, dont sunset your 3G data. icon_question.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 31 2022, 11:20 PM)
Don't forget Penang too
Later Genting later February 😋
Try putting up a night in Genting Permai. Dont need go all the way up.
On weekends and peak holidays, Umobile is congested. Even before Skyworld is launched.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 1 2022, 03:58 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Feb 28 2022, 01:04 PM)
Hmmm
I tot Digi already close all 3G network in Kuala Lumpur
But i still can get 3G in Mid Valley
In Basement Parking

Did you try if can access with internet connection or not.
Like Umobile, there is 3G but cannot use the data connection. So its as good as Voice-only 3G.
Celcom 3G , up to time of writing - Still can use data connection.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 1 2022, 03:58 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 3 2022, 09:32 AM

2,429 posts

Tell me. What's the ultimate benefit of 5G apart from super speed?
it's like a Ferrari, Lambo, built for hyper speed but if its for normal person to get from point A to B or even just goto nearby mamak shop, then even a Myvi can get to where he/she wants to go. No need for ultimate speed.

I view 5G is like VIP Exclusive club.
And the govt is forcing rakyat marhaen just to give way to the Elite.

Someone should create a petition to plea not to shutdown totally the 3G. We rakyat still need the kampung roads when 4g highway is jammed.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 3 2022, 09:33 AM
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 6 2022, 10:18 AM

2,429 posts

Yoodo @ Celcom suddenly switched off their 3G on the stroke of midnight on 4th April at my area.
Unlike other Celcom sites which leaves their 3G on but cant access data.

Well lets see if they refarm the 4G in my area..or just switch off to save electricity.

0.0431sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:46 AM