39 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 16 2020, 10:31 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 16 2020 @ 01:46 PM)
One glaring difference between a 3G and 4G LTE cell tower is that the network coverage or maximum range of 3G or non-VoLTE voice calls and SMS is about 32km while for that of 4G VoLTE voice calls and SMS (plus Internet data) is only 5km(for 800MHz; and only 2km  for 2600MHz). From 32km to 5km is a huge difference in terms of coverage for voice calls = more 4G LTE  cell towers will be needed to replace one 3G cell tower, especially in suburban, small town and rural areas. For those who mostly make voice calls while travelling outstation and visiting remote stores in rural areas, eg salespersons, the transition from 3G to 4G LTE and 5G will be a problem, ie much less 4G LTE/5G network coverage for VoLTE voice calls.
....... Note that the max range of the slower 3G Internet data is similar to 4G LTE/5G Internet data, depending on the frequency used.

What about 2G.? If 2G is retained when 3G is sunset by MCMC in 2022, then no problem with network coverage for 2G or non-VoLTE voice calls and SMS, but only for those legacy Big 3 celcos who still maintain 2G networks.
....... Latecomer small celcos like U Mobile do not have legacy 2G networks = when 3G is sunset, its subscribers will have to make do with 4G VoLTE voice calls and SMS only, which has much less coverage compared to 3G/2G non-VoLTE voice calls and SMS. The last-comers and newest celcos, YES and TM Unifi Mobile, do not even have their own 3G network, ie they only have 4G LTE networks.
QUOTE(jack2001 @ Sep 16 2020, 07:28 PM)
You got any source on that? i wanna read up on it
https://smallbusiness.chron.com/far-can-cel...gnal-32124.html - How Far Can a Cell Tower Be for a Cellphone to Pick Up the Signal?
Maximum Distance

A typical cellphone has enough power to reach a cell tower up to 45 miles away. Depending on the technology of the cellphone network, the maximum distance may be as low as 22 miles because the signal otherwise takes too long for the highly accurate timing of the cellphone protocol to work reliably. Usually cellphone signals don't reach anywhere near these maximum distances. Typical cell size outside of urban areas means cellphone signals may have to travel up to several miles.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cell_site#Range
The maximum range of a mast (where it is not limited by interference with other masts nearby) depends on the same considerations. In any case the limiting factor is the ability of a low-powered personal cell phone to transmit back to the mast. As a rough guide, based on a tall mast and flat terrain, it may be possible to get between 50 and 70 km (30–45 miles). When the terrain is hilly, the maximum distance can vary from as little as 5 kilometres (3.1 mi) to 8 kilometres (5.0 mi) due to encroachment of intermediate objects into the wide center fresnel zone of the signal.[6] Depending on terrain and other circumstances, a GSM Tower can replace between 2 and 50 miles (80 km) of cabling for fixed wireless networks.[7] In addition, some technologies, such as GSM, have an additional absolute maximum range of 35 kilometres (22 mi), which is imposed by technical limitations. CDMA and IDEN have no such limit defined by timing.

This should be the maximum range for 3G voice calls/SMS, not for 3G Internet data, ie a max range of about 35km.

https://opencellid.org/#zoom=17&lat=3.78671&lon=101.85573
Actual cell tower information at Raub, Pahang shows that the range for some 4G LTE cell towers are up to 4km, but most of them are at around 1km range only. This should be the maximum range for 4G LTE Internet data and VoLTE.

https://crowdsupport.telstra.com.au/t5/netw...ired/m-p/110958 - 4G distance from tower | Explanation required
January 2013

In response to Lathania

Hi Guys,

Aside from the link above, there's some more useful pages on our site for locating nearby 4G towers, as well as an explanation of Telstra 4G, MIMO, and of course using external antennas on the Telstra 4G network.

http://telcoantennas.com.au/site/telstra-4g-explained

http://telcoantennas.com.au/site/locating-telstra-4g-tower

TLDR? range with an external antenna can extend as far as 40km (a number of customers on islands off the coast of QLD), 25-30km over land with good line of sight, but most commonly about 15km for most rural areas. With no external antenna connections are generally limited to 3-7km, hence why coverage maps suggest about 5km.

Sorry for a correction, ie a 2G/3G/4G digital cell tower can serve up to 480 active Internet/voice-calls/SMS users at the same time. Only the 1G analog cell tower can serve up to only 60 active voice-calls/SMS users at the same time.

Please correct the above information if applicable, eg about the max range of a 3G/4G cell tower.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 16 2020, 11:25 PM
nexona88
post Sep 16 2020, 10:46 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,423 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Sep 16 2020, 05:46 PM)
| LTE | 3G |
[attachmentid=10590321] [attachmentid=10590322]

Amek kau... if 3G is shut down and everybody in this mall connected to LTE, habislah network...lucky 3G is still active. Me switch to 3G all the way and happy user for now... later 3G is gone, we all suffers together-gether... LOL...

#BilaTerhantukBaruTerngadah
That's why I against shutting down of 3G..
Yet some people says it's needed to make 4G better...
So in the process of shutting down & reallocate to 4G... That period everyone suffer 😂 can take few weeks to months tho (since Malaysia standard always slow & take it easy).. so don't complaint huh 🤣
TSJLA
post Sep 17 2020, 08:10 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 16 2020, 10:31 PM)
Sorry for a correction, ie a 2G/3G/4G digital cell tower can serve up to 480 active Internet/voice-calls/SMS users  at the same time. Only the 1G analog cell tower can serve up to only 60 active voice-calls/SMS users at the same time.

Please correct the above information if applicable, eg about the max range of a 3G/4G cell tower.
i'm sure one 3G4G tower can support more than 5000 active Internet/voice-calls/SMS users at the same time. source ? no need digging the internet. rural tower mostly around 8 km apart. during balik kampong big holiday season everyone still conected but with reduce speed..
SUSxander83
post Sep 17 2020, 08:54 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

Waiting for u turn policy soon 😂
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 17 2020, 09:51 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Sep 16 2020, 05:46 PM)

Amek kau... if 3G is shut down and everybody in this mall connected to LTE, habislah network...lucky 3G is still active. Me switch to 3G all the way and happy user for now... later 3G is gone, we all suffers together-gether... LOL...

#BilaTerhantukBaruTerngadah
You sir have just broken the 3G record (for me) .
The fastest I've gotten on a 3G is around 12Mbps, and the signal was very strong that I think the tower is nearby.
And you prove a point too . Overcrowded 4G is not any better than underutilized 3G.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 16 2020, 10:46 PM)
So in the process of shutting down & reallocate to 4G... That period everyone suffer 😂 can take few weeks to months tho (since Malaysia standard always slow & take it easy).. so don't complaint huh 🤣
What I feel is that some users think - 4G is the newer tech than 3G and 3G is like stone age tech and needs to go.
So I too , is against 3G shutdown.
We need an online petition to "peacefully protest" against shutting down 3G.

azhar75
post Sep 17 2020, 10:30 AM

17,219 posts

Me NOT against shutting down the 3G. But the respective party(ies) need to ensure that after upgraded to 4G, the cell tower(s) are able to cope the VOLUME all day long 24 hours NON-STOP...

So, please do proper assessment and inception study before deciding to upgrade.

Anyway, the respective party(ies) have until December 2021 to decide. So, got many man-hours to do the testings and assessments...
eddievh
post Sep 17 2020, 02:37 PM

3,218 posts

My house, umibile gx30 3g is faster and more stable than 4g. Everyday reach home i manually switch it to 3g, can watch you tube at 720, if choose 4g only get 360
SUSlowya
post Sep 20 2020, 09:51 AM

4,821 posts

compilation of insane number of public outrage:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=98234471
PJng
post Sep 20 2020, 09:55 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Sep 17 2020, 02:37 PM)
My house, umibile gx30 3g is faster and more stable than 4g. Everyday reach home i manually switch it to 3g, can watch you tube at 720, if choose 4g only get 360
How about signal?
On my working place, 4G always 1bar 2bar, but 3G full bar
So i always need change line when back to work
eddievh
post Sep 20 2020, 10:37 AM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 20 2020, 09:55 AM)
How about signal?
On my working place, 4G always 1bar 2bar, but 3G full bar
So i always need change line when back to work
Both full, some how dono 4g damn like turtle. I already used to it,reach home switch to 3g.
matrix88
post Sep 20 2020, 10:41 AM

2,236 posts

talk is cheap in Malaysia
wont happen because on highway my phone sometimes can even show GPRS, that is 2G. hahaha

nexona88
post Sep 20 2020, 11:45 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,423 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Sep 17 2020, 02:37 PM)
Don't worry..
Matter of time before 3G being shutdown..
Everyone forced to 4G.. superb planning by the government... Added how U Mobile sucks big... Double celebration 🎉😂
prosibu
post Sep 20 2020, 03:06 PM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Sep 20 2020, 10:41 AM)
talk is cheap in Malaysia
wont happen because on highway my phone sometimes can even show GPRS, that is 2G. hahaha
it only prove that shutdown 3g is better than 2G lol
TSJLA
post Sep 21 2020, 09:26 AM

2,776 posts

Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) is actively expanding 4G coverage in Kiulu, in Tuaran district, Sabah

the effort is being implemented in six locations in Kiulu, namely, Pukak, Lokub, Mantob, Kitapol, Kampung Sinorut and Kampung Gonipis.

“The expansion exercise will increase 4G high-speed data coverage and voice services, with fibre optic connections to all transmission towers, involving almost 39 kilometres of optical fibre, expected to be completed by the end of 2020,” it said. Previously, Kiulu only had spotty radio coverage supported by 3G services.

For the record, thousands of villagers in the sub-district in Tuaran have appealed to the government to set up a telecommunications tower in the area immediately.

https://www.theborneopost.com/2020/08/19/4g...tive-expansion/
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...u-sabah/1904167
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 21 2020, 01:00 PM

2,429 posts

Here is also my side of the story. About the DIGI 3G in where I live. Rants below:

FYI, I have been keeping track of the towers (via Cell ID identification) and I found 3 towers , and 1 of them is shitty slow. The rest seems (or all 3 towers) seem to be connected with ancient Streamyx ADSL backhaul .

My EC/IO level is fine.
So if this is the level of telcos just ignoring customer complain, imagine when they migrate the spectrum into 4G.

SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 21 2020, 02:32 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Sep 21 2020, 01:00 PM)
Here is also my side of the story. About the DIGI 3G in where I live. Rants below:

FYI, I have been keeping track of the towers (via Cell ID identification) and I found 3 towers , and 1 of them is shitty slow. The rest seems (or all 3 towers) seem to be connected with ancient Streamyx ADSL backhaul .

My EC/IO level is fine. 
So if this is the level of telcos just ignoring customer complain, imagine when they migrate the spectrum into 4G.
Maybe it's time for you to buy a 4G modem-router dongle. Quite cheap yo.! .......

SleeplessEyes
post Sep 21 2020, 03:26 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 21 2020, 02:32 PM)
Maybe it's time for you to buy a 4G modem-router dongle. Quite cheap yo.! .......

Yeah thanks for the suggestion bro.
I have been eyeing for that China USB 4G modem router, but I was considering the other one:

Portable Hotspot 4G CPE Router Wifi Router Wan / Lan Port Dual External Antenna Unlock Wireless Cpe Router with Sim Card Slot

Cause it has external antennas at least.
Very cheap though, that USB 4G modem.

Or I could opt for Digi's Postpaid BB plans, and pay extra RM 9 x 12 months (plus upfront Rm 120) for their TP Link MR200 router. Meanwhile me use the 3G first until Mooyideen shuts it down.

FYI, I got this Huawei modem for "free" when i sub to Maxis 3G wireless BB, back in 2011.
Contract was only 1 year that time. Thats why I feel reluctant to "retire" it. So by 2021 - Its 10 years old laugh.gif

frezzoed
post Sep 21 2020, 03:31 PM

13 posts

5G belum ada lagi, line 4G pun macam pundek lagi mau sembang shutdown 3G...

bodoh punya gomen!
jack2001
post Sep 22 2020, 01:31 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Sep 21 2020, 09:26 AM)
Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) is actively expanding 4G coverage in Kiulu, in Tuaran district, Sabah

the effort is being implemented in six locations in Kiulu, namely, Pukak, Lokub, Mantob, Kitapol, Kampung Sinorut and Kampung Gonipis.

“The expansion exercise will increase 4G high-speed data coverage and voice services, with fibre optic connections to all transmission towers, involving almost 39 kilometres of optical fibre, expected to be completed by the end of 2020,” it said. Previously, Kiulu only had spotty radio coverage supported by 3G services.

For the record, thousands of villagers in the sub-district in Tuaran have appealed to the government to set up a telecommunications tower in the area immediately.

https://www.theborneopost.com/2020/08/19/4g...tive-expansion/
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...u-sabah/1904167
I remember back then when 4G was just starting to get rolled out, Digi did a campaign where people can vote for towns to get 4G coverage. The gov should make it something permanent for all telcos, and award telcos that manages to bring 4G to the place first.
kit2
post Sep 22 2020, 03:36 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 16 2020, 10:46 PM)
no pain, no gain. lol!

39 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:40 PM