M.2 SSD temperature 55°C and above, Is it too hot?

TSahmy
post Aug 20 2020, 08:11 PM, updated 6y ago

191 posts

Hey guys, i'm using Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD at my Asrock B450M Pro4. The location for M.2 slot at the mobo is below of the GPU and i notice the temperature is a bit high. Here the temperature recorded using hard disk sentinel :

is it ok for the temperature to be in that range?
jetblast
post Aug 20 2020, 08:15 PM

1,039 posts

Normal temp. Nothing to worry about
jetblast
post Aug 20 2020, 08:15 PM

1,039 posts

Double post

With side cover off is there any difference in temp?

This post has been edited by jetblast: Aug 20 2020, 08:16 PM
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2020, 08:22 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

u can try to get a heatsink for it..
jibpek
post Aug 20 2020, 08:31 PM

708 posts

I samseng 850EVO running for 70C for almost 4 years now.

oh wai...... Actually claimed warranty within 1st year. after that add a fan.
TSahmy
post Aug 20 2020, 08:42 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Aug 20 2020, 08:15 PM)
Double post

With side cover off is there any difference in temp?
you mean the the pc case cover?

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2020, 08:22 PM)
u can try to get a heatsink for it..
i try to find in shopee, mostly it is shipped from overseas

QUOTE(jibpek @ Aug 20 2020, 08:31 PM)
I samseng 850EVO running for 70C for almost 4 years now.

oh wai...... Actually claimed warranty within 1st year. after that add a fan.
this one got 5 years warranty, should not be worry right?
Cold|Drawn
post Aug 20 2020, 09:04 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(ahmy @ Aug 20 2020, 08:11 PM)
Hey guys, i'm using Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD at my Asrock B450M Pro4. The location for M.2 slot at the mobo is below of the GPU and i notice the temperature is a bit high. Here the temperature recorded using hard disk sentinel :

Mine idles at around 34-36ish

Maybe you can add a heatsink to dissipate the heat better
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/m2-heats...BaCStL&search=1

also, additional fans to exhaust the heat from GPU helps too.
jetblast
post Aug 20 2020, 10:21 PM

1,039 posts

Try remove the PC case side cover and see the temps. Might be airflow problem in your case.
waghyu
post Aug 20 2020, 10:23 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(ahmy @ Aug 20 2020, 08:11 PM)

Normal, can attach aluminium cooler fins as well to it.
xxboxx
post Aug 21 2020, 09:41 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Idle 55c is ok. But I worried on the max temperature. Most manufacturer recommend max temp is 70 something. Try do something intensive like copy 100GB files to the SSD and see what is the highest temp jump.

Get a heatsink for better cooling, but since it's below GPU you must see how many mm clearance you have for the heatsink.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Aug 21 2020, 09:42 AM
TristanX
post Aug 21 2020, 09:50 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

My Samsung 960 Pro 512GB can hit 70C with M.2 heatsink. Nothing to worry about.
MamulaMoon
post Aug 21 2020, 03:24 PM

137 posts

Since M.2 SSD got overheating issue, why people still choose M.2 SSD over SATA SSD?

My SATA SSD runs very cool only 40C
TristanX
post Aug 21 2020, 03:33 PM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ Aug 21 2020, 03:24 PM)
Since M.2 SSD got overheating issue, why people still choose M.2 SSD over SATA SSD?

Because they leave SATA based SSD in the dust.

https://www.anandtech.com/bench/product/2432?vs=2198

Like I said, nothing to worry about. They can throttle itself when hot.
sHawTY
post Aug 21 2020, 03:55 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

ahmy Out of curiosity, why did you went with SATA instead of NVMe?
Your motherboard support NVMe
Current Events guy
post Aug 21 2020, 06:01 PM

966 posts

I think the throttle limit for these drives are 75 to 80C

You're good to go.
Skylinestar
post Aug 21 2020, 07:33 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

here's my temperature during web surfing:
m.2 sata ssd under graphics card: 42°c
2.5" sata ssd on rear side of mobo tray: 38°c
3.5" sata hdd (spinner) on hdd cage behind air intake: 33°c

m.2 ssd is designed to take the heat punishment.
TSahmy
post Aug 21 2020, 08:12 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 21 2020, 03:55 PM)
ahmy Out of curiosity, why did you went with SATA instead of NVMe?
Your motherboard support NVMe
maybe because of tight on budget and i see there is a good review on mx500 m.2 smile.gif
edmund_yung
post Aug 21 2020, 09:46 PM

1,198 posts

My Toshiba XG3 OEM NVME drive will go up to 73C and throttle, doesn't kill it. I now house it in a USB 3.1 case, plugging into USB 3.0 port, works cooler now.
cars_pc
post Aug 22 2020, 02:28 PM

51 posts

Seem M.2 SSD's run pretty hot. My Samsung SSD only idles around 35+ celcius
SUSkevin23
post Aug 24 2020, 09:01 AM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ Aug 21 2020, 03:24 PM)

Exactly. No benefit of m2 sata ssd over sata ssd

Runs at the same speeds

Just get normal SATA SSD. If wanna upgrade, straight go for nvme.

0.0187sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:07 AM