Many vw polo 2012-2015 sedan for sale at mudah, price 20-30k only. Is it worth it? I heard vw many gearbox problem?
2nd hand VW polo
Aug 20 2020, 01:00 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
123 posts Joined: Feb 2020 |
Many vw polo 2012-2015 sedan for sale at mudah, price 20-30k only. Is it worth it? I heard vw many gearbox problem?
Aug 20 2020, 01:55 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
538 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Aug 20 2020, 05:59 PM
2,309 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
this may sound cliche but really, take up a loan and fund the balance RM50k for a brand new Vento from VW directly. If you currently can't afford taking up a loan for that amount then chances are you may not be able to fork out the amount of money to repair/replace the fault/aged parts of a used Vento.
VW parts aren't exactly cheap. |
Aug 20 2020, 09:57 PM
Aug 20 2020, 10:11 PM
3,853 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Aug 20 2020, 10:14 PM
Aug 21 2020, 08:14 AM
704 posts Joined: Aug 2018 From: Shemalelism |
i think one of lyn member mentioned that his polo gear box oil leaking and abs issue which cost him a fortune and time to fix.
make sure you have a spare car if you decided to purchase. |
Aug 21 2020, 08:24 AM
9,050 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Cheap user conti = expensive parts / questionable reliability.
If u take a loan, be prepared to standby cash for repairs and have a second card as backup. It is the same reason why a 2015 Peugeot 408 selling for less than 30K with very low mileage in the used market. Parts are expensive and need a specialist. If u cheap out, the car will be unreliable to drive and may cost more than a used Perodua / Proton to drive. |
Aug 21 2020, 09:26 AM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(4WD_er @ Aug 21 2020, 09:23 AM) Ahem, poor ppl has the right to choose cars with better safety features too. If you are talking about Perodua w/o ESC models. All Perodua model include esc except Alza.Not only that. Even Axia got ASA2.0 with Autonomous braking. Below rm100k, only Perodua car the safest. |
Aug 21 2020, 10:35 AM
2,736 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang |
I would not recommend to buy the normal 1.6 polo as a lot of previous polo model did not include the ESC safety features. Only the high spec Polo like the 1.2T or 1.4T GTI model does come complete, but you might need to do higher maintenance due to its turbo & dsg gearbox.
Aug 21 2020, 11:36 AM
110 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
if 20-30k is the price u afford to pay, then you better survey on the cost of normal maintenance fee as it aren't cheap, not mentioning the faulty parts.
Aug 21 2020, 12:04 PM
4,788 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(Kakwen @ Aug 20 2020, 01:00 PM) Many vw polo 2012-2015 sedan for sale at mudah, price 20-30k only. Is it worth it? I heard vw many gearbox problem? Polo Sedan of that year are using Aisin gearbox (Aisin owned by Toyota)Also it doesnt comes with ESP... only ABS Just spare 10k for any other fixing If you bought it at 25k, just treat it as a 35k car as you will be needing another 10k standby There are OEM parts outside.... certain wear and tear parts can be much cheaper than original But if some parts that require only original parts, it can be expansive.. |
Aug 21 2020, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Aug 20 2020, 05:59 PM) this may sound cliche but really, take up a loan and fund the balance RM50k for a brand new Vento from VW directly. If you currently can't afford taking up a loan for that amount then chances are you may not be able to fork out the amount of money to repair/replace the fault/aged parts of a used Vento. some ppl who have the $$ just arent into buying first hand expensive cars... VW parts aren't exactly cheap. They let the first buyer to take the depreciation and buy it secondhand and spend abit more to fix it... I have an 8 yr old VW and just restoring all the wear and tear and it is good to go.. it is still cheaper for me to restore for less than 10k and keep the car for the next 2 to 3 years rather than buying a new car.. Yes my car value is low... I save dxmn lot in insurance, only cost me few hundred ringgit after NCD. If you buy new, your insurance cost shoot up to the roof... |
Aug 21 2020, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Aug 21 2020, 12:12 PM) some ppl who have the $$ just arent into buying first hand expensive cars... to me, i read that TS is looking for a used cheap continental car that would last for more than 2-3 years which is why he asked about the reliability of the gearbox in the VW.They let the first buyer to take the depreciation and buy it secondhand and spend abit more to fix it... I have an 8 yr old VW and just restoring all the wear and tear and it is good to go.. it is still cheaper for me to restore for less than 10k and keep the car for the next 2 to 3 years rather than buying a new car.. Yes my car value is low... I save dxmn lot in insurance, only cost me few hundred ringgit after NCD. If you buy new, your insurance cost shoot up to the roof... i can fathom your logic if the original sticker price of the car is between RM120k-RM150k but for a car that is around RM80k brand new, that's eccentric to me. i agree with you on the insurance part but i think the Vento uses a 1.6 litre engine and at RM80k with a full NCD and, that would only costs a bit over RM1k annually, that's around RM2.00+ daily and what you "saved" in terms of insurance, you pay it back in terms of interest (not applicable if TS is purchasing it without a loan). while a used can in fact be fixed but an aged machine is an aged machine - that's just vicissitudes. |
Aug 21 2020, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Aug 21 2020, 01:15 PM) to me, i read that TS is looking for a used cheap continental car that would last for more than 2-3 years which is why he asked about the reliability of the gearbox in the VW. Cost benefit analysis... Do you need to pay extra premium of 40k to 50k because it's new... Something to consider about..i can fathom your logic if the original sticker price of the car is between RM120k-RM150k but for a car that is around RM80k brand new, that's eccentric to me. i agree with you on the insurance part but i think the Vento uses a 1.6 litre engine and at RM80k with a full NCD and, that would only costs a bit over RM1k annually, that's around RM2.00+ daily and what you "saved" in terms of insurance, you pay it back in terms of interest (not applicable if TS is purchasing it without a loan). while a used can in fact be fixed but an aged machine is an aged machine - that's just vicissitudes. It can be a good daily beater and don't even care if the car is being scratched.. |
Aug 22 2020, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Aug 21 2020, 05:15 PM) Cost benefit analysis... Do you need to pay extra premium of 40k to 50k because it's new... Something to consider about.. true but if TS intends to keep the car for more than 2 to 3 years then having a brand new car may be a better option.It can be a good daily beater and don't even care if the car is being scratched.. |
Aug 23 2020, 02:54 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Kakwen, VW Polo Sedan uses the normal 6 speed auto gearbox. Unfortunately this has mixed reaction with some relating the Polo together with the notorious DSG gearbox. So if u love it, why not go ahead, do some research about the Polo Sedan from REAL VW owners. Not /k/ forumers talking "I heard from my friend's great grandfather" says. And those who comment "No ESP lah I wont buy" etc, its ok, let them enjoy their Bezza or Myvi. Polo Sedan will be anytime better than a Bezza. Safer and proper driving counts compared to ESP or not. babisotong liked this post
Aug 24 2020, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 23 2020, 02:54 PM) Kakwen, other countries had made ESP mandatory, but malaysian dealers still use it to differentiate between high end low end models and trim level.VW Polo Sedan uses the normal 6 speed auto gearbox. Unfortunately this has mixed reaction with some relating the Polo together with the notorious DSG gearbox. So if u love it, why not go ahead, do some research about the Polo Sedan from REAL VW owners. Not /k/ forumers talking "I heard from my friend's great grandfather" says. And those who comment "No ESP lah I wont buy" etc, its ok, let them enjoy their Bezza or Myvi. Polo Sedan will be anytime better than a Bezza. Safer and proper driving counts compared to ESP or not. |
Aug 24 2020, 12:18 PM
998 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Bangi & Kuala Terengganu |
just buy preowned or prereg unit la. peace of mind because still got warranty with free service summore. most of these unit are 1.6 with aisin 6 speed gb not the 1.2tsi with dsg as on mudah.
Aug 24 2020, 12:52 PM
5,907 posts Joined: Dec 2012 From: Taiping,Perak |
i already surveyed and join the vw polo groups. 1.6 not much drivetrain problems aside from usual compressor and speed sensor issue.
I myself booked a new unit. |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:29 AM |