4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Bridgestone Potenza re004 gooding?

boonwuilow
post Aug 18 2020, 06:03 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

Last time i use ps4, currently using re003, re003 dry performance is better than ps4, but wet grip is very poor if compare with ps4. But what i can tell u is treadwear rating on the tyre is not always accurate, 320 on the ps4 vs 220 on the re003, ironically the re003 outlasted ps4. Ps4 already reach tread wear indicator at almost 20k km, while the re003 currently almost 20k km still got 50% tread left. Both tyre same driving habit, same tyre pressure.
drewn123
post Aug 18 2020, 09:24 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(selow and timid @ Aug 17 2020, 11:44 PM)
its during emergency braking & steering that you need grip the most , especially during wet conditions. and that is the moment when the brands you listed above will fail to perform.
So, you can think of buying good tyres as a sort of insurance..you may not need it 99% of the time, but one day you may appreciate having that little extra performance envelope. of course you pray that the day never comes.
Like i said, these budget tires are FOR normal driving conditions as well as non-aggressive driver (Chill driver)

I've used quite extensive tires from premium - budget. Would i take risk and over-rely on these cheap brands? No hell no.

But for a daily car like city, jazz, vios, these cheap tires are worth the price
drewn123
post Aug 18 2020, 09:26 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(ianrpf @ Aug 18 2020, 12:04 AM)
To be honest, I've used Achilles ATR Sports 2 and it was really rubbish. Don't know why once upon a time ppl were saying it was a good bang for buck tire - the only reason why I gave it a try. Now I'm using Kumho PS31, now this is a bang for buck tire.
Achilles is ok for normal driving (juz ok, its never a UHP).... but i replaced mine after 2yrs even with its thread looking like its new. I think its compound is super lasting but grip is really shitty.

Kumho ps31 is uhp.... totally different story as ps31 is benchmarked to ps3/ps4 mar...
drewn123
post Aug 18 2020, 09:28 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 18 2020, 12:20 AM)
I used michelin ps3 (2 times), toyo T1R (1 time), dunlop D05 (1 time), now rovelo sport A1 ( 1 time)

Price wise rovelo sport a1 most great value. RM160 for 16 inch tire.
Most grip michelin ps3, but very expensive. RM230 for 15 inch tire. Also this michelin not reliable, 1 year+ got chipping issues already.

For me, best value and reasonable performance would be rovelo sport A1. Grip not bad, for daily cars sure no problem.
Most grip PS3.

Heck due good experience with this rovelo brand, next tires I'm going to try is the Accelera 651 sport with threadwear 200. Should be very grippy.
Why not try kumho ps31 or falken fk510 for ur fast toyota?
novblaze
post Aug 18 2020, 09:30 PM

328 posts

As I know Conti cc6 is worse than cc5. Haha.
Idk why like that
Balanced
post Aug 18 2020, 10:52 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Aug 18 2020, 09:28 PM)
Why not try kumho ps31 or falken fk510 for ur fast toyota?
Haven't tried kumho ps31. How is it compared to say...toyo TR1?
Both these tires have my size 195/50/16
ianrpf
post Aug 18 2020, 11:02 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Aug 18 2020, 09:26 PM)
Achilles is ok for normal driving (juz ok, its never a UHP).... but i replaced mine after 2yrs even with its thread looking like its new. I think its compound is super lasting but grip is really shitty.

Kumho ps31 is uhp.... totally different story as ps31 is benchmarked to ps3/ps4 mar...
Achilles is really shit man I won't ever go anywhere near it. But yeah agree the thread wear is really long but zero grip...damn useless tires. Biggest waste of money. Same like Falken ZE912 (I think can't remember exaxt model) I used previously. It's like flushing money away.

I paid RM140/pc for PS31 195/50/R15...best money spent lol. But no la can't compare this to PS3...
ianrpf
post Aug 18 2020, 11:06 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 18 2020, 10:52 PM)
Haven't tried kumho ps31. How is it compared to say...toyo TR1?
Both these tires have my size 195/50/16
I used to use T1R in the past. Never tried TR1. For the price u pay for PS31 it's really good bang for buck. It's damn cheap really can't complain. As long as you don't pek corner as if your running on PS4 la haha.
Balanced
post Aug 18 2020, 11:16 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(ianrpf @ Aug 18 2020, 11:06 PM)
I used to use T1R in the past. Never tried TR1. For the price u pay for PS31 it's really good bang for buck. It's damn cheap really can't complain. As long as you don't pek corner as if your running on PS4 la haha.
I tried T1R before, not fully satisfy since i am quite an aggressive driver. But they say TR1 much improvement..

How is T1R and PS31 if compare both?

PS3 satisfied me though..
ianrpf
post Aug 18 2020, 11:26 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 18 2020, 11:16 PM)
I tried T1R before, not fully satisfy since i am quite an aggressive driver. But they say TR1 much improvement..

How is T1R and PS31 if compare both?

PS3 satisfied me though..
I don't think TR1 is a successor to T1R though. TR1 is alot cheaper than T1R also last time. I think I used to pay RM400+ per pc for T1R. T1R major problem was the soft side walls always makan tepi irrespective of your camber. The wear is uneven, in the long run your value for money is gone coz gotta change tires prematurely since makan tepi.

PS31 Vs T1R? Can't quite equate a best comparison since the last time I used T1R was a really long time ago. I went through two sets of it. My recent set is PS31. Paid RM140/pc for 195/50/R15 on shopee. Damn cheap how to complain hahaha. Grip is really not too bad...but maybe long periods of aggressive driving the grip won't be so good. Your occasional sprint it's more than good enough to me. Not bad in rain too. But I don't drive fast in rain anymore after a really bad accident lol.

Anyway I believe PS31 is the cheapest UHP out there too. But don't compare it with PS3 grip. Better comparison probably would be Hankook V12 Evo2?
ianrpf
post Aug 18 2020, 11:35 PM

119 posts

balanced check this out

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.carlist.my...ug=79182?espv=1
empire
post Aug 19 2020, 01:08 AM

2,549 posts

Excellent handling, good comfy ride comfort too. It's soft compound tyre....so it soaks up a lot of harsh road conditions well.

The only issue from my experiece is it cant last as long as other cheaper tyres...cos they are soft compound.

However, once you tried d... you will love it.
SUSskyblu3
post Aug 19 2020, 07:15 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Aug 18 2020, 09:30 PM)
As I know Conti cc6 is worse than cc5. Haha.
Idk why like that
No one here they mc6 ?
Review says it's quite a good tyre. As it is designed specifically for msian roads.

hahakat88
post Aug 19 2020, 07:24 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Aug 12 2020, 10:05 PM)
Ya dude,  not many ppl know that tires rating (temperature/wear/traction) is different across different brand. They tot 400 on Michelin is the same 400 on Bridgestone. or AA on Michelin is the same AA on Yokohama
So u are saying that re003 220 t.wear could outlast a ps3 320 t.wear? I know different brand, just asking
drewn123
post Aug 19 2020, 11:41 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(hahakat88 @ Aug 19 2020, 07:24 AM)
So u are saying that re003 220 t.wear could outlast a ps3 320 t.wear? I know different brand, just asking
U have problem understanding my statement? A bridgestone Wear rate 320 is not the same as Michelin Wear rate of 320 Cuz different manufacturer, different measuring method

This post has been edited by drewn123: Aug 19 2020, 11:41 PM
Moneytruff863
post Aug 19 2020, 11:46 PM

advan fleva
bonnycy
post Aug 19 2020, 11:50 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Aug 18 2020, 12:23 AM)
im using UC6, if change to Re004 , what is the upgrade or downgrade for comfort, noise and braking ?
Comfort down
Noise down
Braking up up
hahakat88
post Aug 20 2020, 08:16 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Aug 19 2020, 11:41 PM)
U have problem understanding my statement? A bridgestone Wear rate 320 is not the same as Michelin Wear rate of 320  Cuz different manufacturer, different measuring method
merely asking a question, yes or no? based on your experience.
TheGoodGuy
post Aug 20 2020, 08:27 AM

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Aug 18 2020, 06:03 PM)
Last time i use ps4, currently using re003, re003 dry performance is better than ps4, but wet grip is very poor if compare with ps4. But what i can tell u is treadwear rating on the tyre is not always accurate, 320 on the ps4 vs 220 on the re003, ironically the re003 outlasted ps4. Ps4 already reach tread wear indicator at almost 20k km, while the re003 currently almost 20k km still got 50% tread left. Both tyre same driving habit, same tyre pressure.
true this, and most importantly, i lost 1 bijik of PS4 in less than 3 months when bump into a pothole, meanwhile 003 is so abusive u can ram into anything and it still intact
TSJedi
post Aug 20 2020, 09:54 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(TheGoodGuy @ Aug 20 2020, 08:27 AM)
true this, and most importantly, i lost 1 bijik of PS4 in less than 3 months when bump into a pothole, meanwhile 003 is so abusive u can ram into anything and it still intact
I know ps3 has chipping issues. Ps4 too?

Re003 was great in every aspect except aquaplanning after 20k km and noise level(not for me but for a few it can be esp on highway concret stretches ipoh to KL double lanes)

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0206sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:01 PM