How important the EPF and SOCSO?

TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 09:31 AM, updated 6y ago

31 posts

Hello, I am a fresh graduate from a local university. The mco really hit hard for us for these past few months. I got a job as a analyst programmer in a company but it has been 5 months no offer letter,EPF and socso. They say i am working as consultant currently. For the time beign, i am looking for a job while working here.

I want to know what is the importance of epf and socso? Should i quit now or i quit after i secure a job??

The company did not have the exact date to offer me as full time worker for now.

This post has been edited by killer_venom95: Aug 12 2020, 09:51 AM
SUSbronkos
post Aug 12 2020, 09:37 AM

1,159 posts

Dont jump until next job is in hand.

As they say, beggars cant be choosers.
Saitama
post Aug 12 2020, 09:43 AM

308 posts

it's like freelancing lor.

as long as got gaji work 1st la til u find another permanent job.
sasuketaichou
post Aug 12 2020, 09:44 AM

192 posts

look it up

im not sure if its legal to hire without those benefits
TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 09:48 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(sasuketaichou @ Aug 12 2020, 09:44 AM)
look it up

im not sure if its legal to hire without those benefits
Well there is no aggreement of letter or payslip.. nothing can do... better i jump rather than fight for it..

This post has been edited by killer_venom95: Aug 12 2020, 09:53 AM
TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 09:49 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Aug 12 2020, 09:37 AM)
Dont jump until next job is in hand.

As they say, beggars cant be choosers.
True, this is the things that keep me work right now

TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 09:50 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Saitama @ Aug 12 2020, 09:43 AM)
it's like freelancing lor.

as long as got gaji work 1st la til u find another permanent job.
Yeah on searching right now
sasuketaichou
post Aug 12 2020, 09:52 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(killer_venom95 @ Aug 12 2020, 09:48 AM)
Well there is no aggreement of letter or payslip.. nothing can do... better i jump then fight for it..
i going to assume u mean its better to get other job rather than fight for it

if its true, then yes, basically they can stop giving u any funds anytime, but so does u, no notice period, so u are entitle to work at some other place as well
TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 09:55 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(sasuketaichou @ Aug 12 2020, 09:52 AM)
i going to assume u mean its better to get other job rather than fight for it

if its true, then yes, basically they can stop giving u any funds anytime, but so does u, no notice period, so u are entitle to work at some other place as well
yes anytime they can kick me. Ohhh i see... good to know about that.
KuroWanko
post Aug 12 2020, 09:56 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(killer_venom95 @ Aug 12 2020, 09:31 AM)
Hello, I am a fresh graduate from a local university. The mco really hit hard for use for these past few months. I got a job as a analyst programmer in a company but it has been 5 months no offer letter,EPF and socso. They say i am working as consultant currently. For the time beign, i am looking for a job while working here.

I want to know what is the importance of epf and socso? Should i quit now or i quit after i secure a job??

The company did not have the exact date to offer me as full time worker for now.
From my understanding, EPF is like a savings regulated by government to make sure the employee has some money in their account in the future when they retired. EPF is important as many employees do not have savings, so government help the employees by "forcing" them to take out 11% from their pay and put in EPF account, where employers must contributed 13% of your salary. Lets say if my basic pay is 1000, every month 110 will be deducted from my pay and automatically enter my EPF account, my employer has to pay 130 according to my salary, which means every month I get 240 in my EPF account. Main reason your company dont want to pay ur epf I guess is they dont want to contribute on that 13%.

For SOCSO, it acts like an insurance to cover your living in case u have any accidents that hinder your working ability for a few months. Lets say u got hit by a car and both your hands are temporarily broken, you will have to apply socso to cover your monthly wages providing you have the MC getting from ur doctor to prove that u can recover from the accident and need time to heal your wounds. SOCSO will pay u as long as u still in recovery period by giving u a percentage of your basic monthly. Some companies dont think highly of applying socso for their employees because office works usually does not pose a high accident rate like construction site or factory work.

Hope that clears your confusion, my information is just based on my understanding. Feel free to correct me if I am mistaken.
l4nunm4l4y4
post Aug 12 2020, 09:56 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(killer_venom95 @ Aug 12 2020, 09:31 AM)
No offer letter,EPF and socso.
Are you kidding us?
klch87
post Aug 12 2020, 09:58 AM

779 posts

EPF is for future savings, especially retirement.

SOCSO is like insurance. if you met with accident during work time, SOCSO will cover the medical expenses.

but if you start off without EPF in these hard times, dont bother since EPF savings aint much for fresh graduates.
Perhaps you wanna look for a more stable job after the pandemic.
TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 10:00 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(KuroWanko @ Aug 12 2020, 09:56 AM)
From my understanding, EPF is like a savings regulated by government to make sure the employee has some money in their account in the future when they retired. EPF is important as many employees do not have savings, so government help the employees by "forcing" them to take out 11% from their pay and put in EPF account, where employers must contributed 13% of your salary. Lets say if my basic pay is 1000, every month 110 will be deducted from my pay and automatically enter my EPF account, my employer has to pay 130 according to my salary, which means every month I get 240 in my EPF account. Main reason your company dont want to pay ur epf I guess is they dont want to contribute on that 13%.

For SOCSO, it acts like an insurance to cover your living in case u have any accidents that hinder your working ability for a few months. Lets say u got hit by a car and both your hands are temporarily broken, you will have to apply socso to cover your monthly wages providing you have the MC getting from ur doctor to prove that u can recover from the accident and need time to heal your wounds. SOCSO will pay u as long as u still in recovery period by giving u a percentage of your basic monthly. Some companies dont think highly of applying socso for their employees because office works usually does not pose a high accident rate like construction site or factory work.

Hope that clears your confusion, my information is just based on my understanding. Feel free to correct me if I am mistaken.
Thank for your explanation. I understand for a bit. The company di pay the epf and socso for existing worker.. just me and few other colleagues that enter the company during MCO did not get the benefit. Did not have exact date when will we be full time worker.. My probation did start yet even after 5 months working here.

tishaban
post Aug 12 2020, 10:00 AM

3,615 posts

Go to the SOCSO website and sign up for the self employed SOCSO protection. You pay at most RM50 per month roughly and it's basically for your own benefit. This should cover you while the company is not, or while you look for another job.

https://www.perkeso.gov.my/index.php/en/30-...t-injury-scheme

bobowyc
post Aug 12 2020, 10:02 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 12 2020, 10:00 AM)
Go to the SOCSO website and sign up for the self employed SOCSO protection. You pay at most RM50 per month roughly and it's basically for your own benefit. This should cover you while the company is not, or while you look for another job.

Agreed. I just found out about this last year. Even though I have an account a long time ago.. haha..
seventwo
post Aug 12 2020, 10:15 AM

722 posts

As of now, just work at the company. Before you leave, please do report to the statutory body.
It is WRONG not to contribute EPF/SOCSO for the employee unless you are freelance. Part-time also need to contribute.
TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 11:00 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 12 2020, 10:00 AM)

Thank You I will check it out.
TSkiller_venom95
post Aug 12 2020, 11:01 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(l4nunm4l4y4 @ Aug 12 2020, 09:56 AM)
Are you kidding us?
Nope.. This is the truth
cb09095
post Aug 12 2020, 11:05 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(killer_venom95 @ Aug 12 2020, 10:00 AM)
Thank for your explanation. I understand for a bit. The company di pay the epf and socso for existing worker.. just me and few other colleagues that enter the company during MCO did not get the benefit. Did not have exact date when will we be full time worker.. My probation did start yet even after 5 months working here.
As i know, some company will have probation lasts for 6 months even for senior position. But they can enjoy the same medical benefits, EPF and Sosco like permanent staff unless you are a contract staff.
Offer letter should be given before or once you have joined the company.
Once you have been confirmed, then there is confirmation letter for full time worker.

hksgmy
post Aug 12 2020, 11:26 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Hmm... I have to say, from the perspective of a micro-scale business owner, TS' company's practice of not paying EPF/SOCSO sounds less than kosher ...

0.0197sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:31 PM