Why is Malaysia still stuck on coal for energy?

ico12
post Aug 10 2020, 03:11 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Aug 10 2020, 03:09 PM)
ya....y not natural gas
it's cheap, clean and we got plenty of it
Natural gas is more expensive than coal. We can go full blast on natural gas but later tariff increase you also complain.
Zaire.Ver
post Aug 10 2020, 03:17 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(ico12 @ Aug 10 2020, 03:11 PM)
Natural gas is more expensive than coal. We can go full blast on natural gas but later tariff increase you also complain.
what are the price/mmbtu for both now?

tnb shud be able to get cheaper gas from petronas right
ico12
post Aug 10 2020, 03:50 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Aug 10 2020, 03:17 PM)
what are the price/mmbtu for both now?

tnb shud be able to get cheaper gas from petronas right
Natural gas is around rm36/mmbtu
Coal is rm12.88/mmbtu

Big difference there.
yolo1990
post Aug 10 2020, 04:00 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(FLYING PANTIES @ Aug 10 2020, 03:05 PM)
You think Malaysia solar panel can power up entire city?

And imagine the amount of deforestation we need to do to achieve such generous amount of energy.

In the effort to save the climate, are we going to destroy our environment and wildlife?
still don't get why you only keep focusing on solar alone. we are talking renewable my boi.
solar can be supplemented by other renewable.

deforestation for solar? how about we start with solar panels on houses and buildings first.
there are also floating solar panels.

FLYING PANTIES
post Aug 10 2020, 04:08 PM

⁽⁽ଘ( ˊᵕˋ )ଓ⁾⁾
953 posts

QUOTE(yolo1990 @ Aug 10 2020, 04:00 PM)
still don't get why you only keep focusing on solar alone. we are talking renewable my boi.
solar can be supplemented by other renewable. 

deforestation for solar? how about we start with solar panels on houses and buildings first.
there are also floating solar panels.
Solar panel on housing isnt very effective considering its degree of harvesting.

What else renewable energy viable for Malaysia? Wind? Hydro?
kcchong2000
post Aug 10 2020, 04:09 PM

164 posts

claypot chicken rice guna coal manyak sedap wor
Ashadiya
post Aug 10 2020, 04:10 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(FLYING PANTIES @ Aug 10 2020, 04:08 PM)
Solar panel on housing isnt very effective considering its degree of harvesting.

What else renewable energy viable for Malaysia? Wind? Hydro?
Wind, dey tested in Terengganu which has d highest wind record in Malaysia, it seem not enough wind speed n period for wind power in Malaysia

FLYING PANTIES
post Aug 10 2020, 04:12 PM

⁽⁽ଘ( ˊᵕˋ )ଓ⁾⁾
953 posts

QUOTE(Ashadiya @ Aug 10 2020, 04:10 PM)
Wind, dey tested in Terengganu which has d highest wind record in Malaysia, it seem not enough wind speed n period for wind power in Malaysia
Your fact is contradicting itself.
Havoc Knightmare
post Aug 10 2020, 04:15 PM

Invictus
1,202 posts

Coal is the most cost effective power source for base load plants. Gas is alot more expensive. Solar is just supplementary since it is neither a stable nor reliable source of power. In contrast to what people think of Malaysia being a tropical country, our solar power is not that reliable because we have high cloud cover, and seasonal factors like monsoon and haze will impact power generation. Even if solar becomes cheaper than coal, it will still not be realistic to shift dependence to solar in a big way. Hydro is feasible but environmentalists and human rights organisations will scream bloody murder as well, so you can't please everyone.

Keep dreaming folks.
ico12
post Aug 10 2020, 04:31 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Aug 10 2020, 04:15 PM)
Coal is the most cost effective power source for base load plants. Gas is alot more expensive. Solar is just supplementary since it is neither a stable nor reliable source of power. In contrast to what people think of Malaysia being a tropical country, our solar power is not that reliable because we have high cloud cover, and seasonal factors like monsoon and haze will impact power generation. Even if solar becomes cheaper than coal, it will still not be realistic to shift dependence to solar in a big way. Hydro is feasible but environmentalists and human rights organisations will scream bloody murder as well, so you can't please everyone.

Keep dreaming folks.
Nuclear might be the answer but any politician dare to bring this up is as good as committing career suicide. Lynas already caused big hoohaa. What more if a big ass nuclear plant.
Havoc Knightmare
post Aug 10 2020, 04:36 PM

Invictus
1,202 posts

QUOTE(ico12 @ Aug 10 2020, 04:31 PM)
Nuclear might be the answer but any politician dare to bring this up is as good as committing career suicide. Lynas already caused big hoohaa. What more if a big ass nuclear plant.
I wanted to mention nuclear, but left it out because not politically feasible either.
Taikor.Taikun
post Aug 10 2020, 05:11 PM

967 posts

I thought Msia wanted to do small modular reactor. No progress it seems
ico12
post Aug 10 2020, 05:18 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Aug 10 2020, 04:36 PM)
I wanted to mention nuclear, but left it out because not politically feasible either.
So far I can think of 2 scenarios where it's possible to deploy nuclear plant:

1. Malaysia is back to the old Mahathir-era - democracy but it's actually an iron fist rule. Can bulldoze everything.
2. Peer pressure - if neighboring Asean countries successfully adopt nuclear and gained significant benefits from it then the gomen will have a stronger case to convince the people. Plus point if (1) is already achieved.

I don't agree with implementation of nuclear though. Not until we clean up corruption. This shit requires max safety, no cutting corners and cronyism should go far away before we are ready for this.
SUSendau02
post Aug 10 2020, 05:28 PM

3,180 posts

those who say solar panel cant be the dominant energy supply is really katak bawah tempurung lol
johnsdoes
post Aug 10 2020, 05:32 PM

257 posts

we need nuclear energy
Zaire.Ver
post Aug 10 2020, 05:49 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(ico12 @ Aug 10 2020, 04:31 PM)
i support nuclear

it just that most people got brainwashed by politicians and media scared of nuclear like shark

This post has been edited by Zaire.Ver: Aug 10 2020, 05:50 PM
SUSkastam
post Aug 10 2020, 05:57 PM

18 posts

simple answer
cost
higher flexibility in terms of plant min load
SUSselow and timid
post Aug 11 2020, 11:00 AM

15 posts

in the first place malaysia already over produced energy. at current usage malaysia have above 30% spare capacity which is going to waste if not mistaken. Nachiino Etamay pls comment further on this
ico12
post Aug 11 2020, 02:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(selow and timid @ Aug 11 2020, 11:00 AM)
in the first place malaysia already over produced energy. at current usage malaysia have above 30% spare capacity which is going to waste if not mistaken. Nachiino Etamay pls comment further on this
It's for security of supply. We are only interconnected to Singapork and Thai. Unlike European countries where there are interconnections all over the place so they can suppork each other. Deswai no need high reserve capacity there.
SUSselow and timid
post Aug 11 2020, 03:31 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ico12 @ Aug 11 2020, 02:36 PM)
It's for security of supply. We are only interconnected to Singapork and Thai. Unlike European countries where there are interconnections all over the place so they can suppork each other. Deswai no need high reserve capacity there.
that's the theory...
i would argue that its to funnel billions of ringgit to IPP cronies. being a layman i cannot comment further except to say that we should compare with Thailand and Singapore. do they also have such a high reserve margin of 30%?

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0135sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 07:27 PM