Rolex which to own

TSmavistan89
post Aug 8 2020, 02:05 PM, updated 6y ago

500 posts

HI GUYS, I want to buy a rolex for myself and my wife. Budget around 50k each. Any rolex to recommend? My friend suggest me to buy submarine, any other recommendation?
tsg_7
post Aug 8 2020, 02:18 PM

2,223 posts

Daytona 50k can get?
Submariner is a very good daily beater. I love how it looks and wont get boring of the design.
TSmavistan89
post Aug 8 2020, 02:30 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 8 2020, 02:18 PM)
Daytona 50k can get?
Submariner is a very good daily beater. I love how it looks and wont get boring of the design.
Is that submariner has more value? I saw that many of my friend go for the green, blue and black submariner
tsg_7
post Aug 8 2020, 03:56 PM

2,223 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Aug 8 2020, 02:30 PM)
Is that submariner has more value? I saw that many of my friend go for the green, blue and black submariner
Green = hulk is valueable.
Ask friedricetheman
friedricetheman
post Aug 8 2020, 04:03 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 8 2020, 03:56 PM)
Green = hulk is valueable.
Ask friedricetheman
All are valuable.

Hulk = Green ceramic bezel
Kermit = Green aluminum bezel, black dial
Smurf = Blue bezel
Serti = diamonds and precious gems as hour markers
ND = No date Submariner
Sub C = The classic version, black ceramic bezel with date

But it’s not like you can choose which one to buy if you are buying from AD. Chances are you either get on wish list or they expect you to spend 100k a month for 3 consecutive months before you get called up for one at MSRP...
tsg_7
post Aug 8 2020, 04:05 PM

2,223 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Aug 8 2020, 04:03 PM)
All are valuable.

Hulk = Green ceramic bezel
Kermit = Green aluminum bezel, black dial
Smurf = Blue bezel
Serti = diamonds and precious gems as hour markers
ND = No date Submariner
Sub C = The classic version, black ceramic bezel with date

But it’s not like you can choose which one to buy if you are buying from AD. Chances are you either get on wish list or they expect you to spend 100k a month for 3 consecutive months before you get called up for one at MSRP...
Eh, hulk is limited edition right?
friedricetheman
post Aug 8 2020, 04:08 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 8 2020, 04:05 PM)
Eh, hulk is limited edition right?
Not that I know of. But it does seem like it with all the artificial shortage, kan?
tsg_7
post Aug 8 2020, 04:12 PM

2,223 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Aug 8 2020, 04:08 PM)
Not that I know of. But it does seem like it with all the artificial shortage, kan?
Tak tau wor...i no own a rolex...but i know when it is on sales that time, even Swiss citizen also need fo wait 6 months. Dun say other country outside of Swiss. I may choose Hulk or Black.
Kelvw
post Aug 9 2020, 07:48 PM

1,591 posts

shortage has always been artificial IMHO, ADs just wants you to spend more in store to get the desired pieces.
Subs and Explorer are a good start, 50k would allow you to purchase immediately at the Grey market but at mark up prices. Unfortunately, I doubt you could get a stainless steel rolex by walking into an AD.

Have you looked at other brands? or does it have to be Rolex? It looks like you going by what is being recommended to you rather than experiencing the timepieces in person.
yehlai
post Aug 9 2020, 08:00 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

For couple watch I would get JLC

This post has been edited by yehlai: Aug 25 2020, 09:22 PM
rx330
post Aug 17 2020, 04:43 PM

11,808 posts

keyword to buying, value kekekekke
Juan86
post Aug 17 2020, 04:46 PM

650 posts

50k each should be rolex explorer
rx330
post Aug 17 2020, 04:59 PM

11,808 posts

explorer no need so exp
but if you really wanna spend 100k on a Rolex couple watch, the easiest I think get the YM size 40 and ym size 37, shud be able to get it 100k odd

and u can try your luck at AD tell them you want one of each, high chance you will be able to get it with some wait
cychung
post Aug 25 2020, 05:29 PM

52 posts

My own opinion dun buy black sub. I very regret becoz u will feel pasar malam watch, everyone is wearing it.
mickeysew814
post Aug 30 2020, 02:07 PM

380 posts

Yacht master , 37mm + 40mm maybe ?
nabelon
post Aug 31 2020, 01:54 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

Is it difficult to get deep sea dweller ?
TSmavistan89
post Sep 11 2020, 11:03 PM

500 posts

Thanks guys, I bought a GMT black dial 55k 2019 and sub 41mm black dial yellow gold 68k. Does it worth the price paid for?
JPSB
post Sep 24 2020, 09:32 AM

578 posts

rolex celini - be different.
rx330
post Sep 24 2020, 11:29 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Sep 11 2020, 11:03 PM)
Thanks guys, I bought a GMT black dial 55k 2019 and sub 41mm black dial yellow gold 68k. Does it worth the price paid for?
so thats ur TT sub, u got the new 41mm one ar? 68k is a very good price, I heard the 41mm ss sub already going for 69k
TSmavistan89
post Sep 24 2020, 09:01 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 24 2020, 11:29 AM)
so thats ur TT sub, u got the new 41mm one ar? 68k is a very good price, I heard the 41mm ss sub already going for 69k
Yes I'm very lucky to get one when I travelled to Europe for work. But ss somehow more expensive in grey market right
rx330
post Sep 25 2020, 08:54 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Sep 24 2020, 09:01 PM)
Yes I'm very lucky to get one when I travelled to Europe for work. But ss somehow more expensive in grey market right
u pay 68k for retail? blink.gif blink.gif no tax refund?
I did a check yesterday, grey for TT41 and SS41 almost similar, short of rm70k

0.0216sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:32 PM