Photography Godox V860ii, Godox V860ii

TSapendots
post Aug 7 2020, 02:40 PM, updated 6y ago

226 posts

Hi, is anyone using Godox V860ii? Planning to change all of my speedlite line up to Godox system since i just bought Godox AD600BM for my main lighting. Currently using SB800 and 2 SB700. Mostly i shoot food only, but now want to try shoot events also.

My concern is
1. Hows the battery life?
2. Is it easy to find replacement parts for Godox?
3. Is it realiable? My SB800 i bought on 2010 til now no issue.

Dark_Angel85
post Aug 9 2020, 09:19 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

Hopefully my anecdotal experience helps...

1. Fair. Much better than the AA models.

2. This model is popular. But it really depends on which part. +the flash itself is cheap to replace. If you feel that you tend to abuse it, the tt685 or tt600 is so cheap you can easily replace em. I think replacing these units shouldn't be a problem for working photographers.

3. So far my 2 godox Flashes have not failed me. Can't say I'm too experienced though... Just recently used the v860ii but have been using the tt685 for a few years now.

Cheers

TSapendots
post Aug 11 2020, 11:07 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 9 2020, 09:19 PM)
Hopefully my anecdotal experience helps...

1. Fair. Much better than the AA models.

2. This model is popular. But it really depends on which part. +the flash itself is cheap to replace. If you feel that you tend to abuse it, the tt685 or tt600 is so cheap you can easily replace em. I think replacing these units shouldn't be a problem for working photographers.

3. So far my 2 godox Flashes have not failed me. Can't say I'm too experienced though... Just recently used the v860ii but have been using the tt685 for a few years now.

Cheers
Thank you for your answer

How long the battery will last?
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 11 2020, 12:25 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(apendots @ Aug 11 2020, 11:07 AM)
Thank you for your answer

How long the battery will last?
Oh goodness, I wouldn't know the real world numbers... of course the CIPA is around 650 full powered flashes,

So far, my experience, with maybe 1/2 power or 1/4 power flashes with it always on for wireless triggering, I went through a wedding dinner... maybe 7PM-11PM... around 1000+ pictures, seems to still have juice.

TSapendots
post Aug 11 2020, 03:23 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 11 2020, 12:25 PM)
Oh goodness, I wouldn't know the real world numbers... of course the CIPA is around 650 full powered flashes,

So far, my experience, with maybe 1/2 power or 1/4 power flashes with it always on for wireless triggering, I went through a wedding dinner... maybe 7PM-11PM... around 1000+ pictures, seems to still have juice.
wahh not bad. quite good actually. im too lazy to charge the AA batteries.
planning to buy next month

Loseeker
post Aug 11 2020, 03:51 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

I used to defend nissin when I first saw the Godox released their comparable small size flash TT350. Now, I'm loyal Godox supporter. I have an Godox TT600, TT685 as well as TT350. As regards their reliability, I want to share my story.

I had outdoor shoot at the beach once, placed my TT600 in a softbox very near to the water. A gust of strong wing and my flash + stand+ softbox toppled and the whole set up gone into the salt water with the flash on. Took the salt water soaked flash (tt600) back to my house, dismantle the whole thing myself, put it under the running tap for a few minutes to remove the salt water. Then let it dry and assembled it back together. The flash revived and work till today.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Aug 11 2020, 03:53 PM
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 11 2020, 03:56 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(apendots @ Aug 11 2020, 03:23 PM)
wahh not bad. quite good actually. im too lazy to charge the AA batteries.
planning to buy next month
Yes. if the budget allows, lithium ion is really convenient and holds charge/recycles faster too. If budget is a constraint, you can't beat the cheap TT600 and alike. It's just around RM200, so if something happens, probably you don't mind buying a few for backups if you constantly put it in harms way for your photos.

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Aug 11 2020, 03:51 PM)
I used to defend nissin when I first saw the Godox released their comparable small size flash TT350. Now, I'm loyal Godox supporter. I have an Godox TT600, TT685 as well as TT350. As regards their reliability, I want to share my story.

I had outdoor shoot at the beach once, placed my TT600 in a softbox very near to the water. A gust of strong wing and my flash + stand+ softbox toppled and the whole set up gone into the salt water with the flash on. Took the whole setup back to my house, dismantle the whole thing myself, put it under the running tap for a few minutes to remove the salt water. Then let it dry and assembled it back together. The flash revived and work till today.
that's insane! saltwater is like death-deal for electronic gadgets! should name your TT600 - Lucky
TSapendots
post Aug 11 2020, 05:43 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 11 2020, 03:56 PM)
Yes. if the budget allows, lithium ion is really convenient and holds charge/recycles faster too. If budget is a constraint, you can't beat the cheap TT600 and alike. It's just around RM200, so if something happens, probably you don't mind buying a few for backups if you constantly put it in harms way for your photos.
My main lighting is AD600BM, the speedlight is just gonna be backup and also for event shooting only. Since I already got the XT2 trigger, thats why i thinking wanna jump into Godox system since i can control every light using only 1 transmitter.

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Aug 11 2020, 03:23 PM)

I had outdoor shoot at the beach once, placed my TT600 in a softbox very near to the water. A gust of strong wing and my flash + stand+ softbox toppled and the whole set up gone into the salt water with the flash on. Took the salt water soaked flash (tt600) back to my house, dismantle the whole thing myself, put it under the running tap for a few minutes to remove the salt water. Then let it dry and assembled it back together. The flash revived and work till today.
Wow salt water wor. My Nikon SB600 once submerge into flood water at my brother's house. Clean it with tap water then dry it for 1 week and remarkable still working for few years wor
Loseeker
post Aug 11 2020, 06:05 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 11 2020, 03:56 PM)

that's insane! saltwater is like death-deal for electronic gadgets! should name your TT600 - Lucky
Exactly, that's what I've thought. My friend was there as well. Seen it with his own eyes. So, it wasn't hard to convince him to join the Godox family. tongue.gif

QUOTE(apendots @ Aug 11 2020, 05:43 PM)
My main lighting is AD600BM, the speedlight is just gonna be backup and also for event shooting only. Since I already got the XT2 trigger, thats why i thinking wanna jump into Godox system since i can control every light using only 1 transmitter.

That's what I love about the Godox, the connectivity is so inclusive. Your flash is also your trigger. I started off using my TT350 as the flash as well as trigger because of it's small size. But recently I've added the X1T trigger because I want the TT350 to serve as off camera backdrop light.

Wow salt water wor. My Nikon SB600 once submerge into flood water at my brother's house. Clean it with tap water then dry it for 1 week and remarkable still working for few years wor
Yeah, it is salt water. I guess the principle is the same. Flood water or salt water, as long as we able to remove it from the electronic (usually hard to do so) before the components inside was corroded away, it will works. I only dried it for few hours actually before I test it again, because I am an impatient man tongue.gif . I tried to dry it with a hair blower first. At first the display showed 'Err', later it start to power up with partial display and humidity stuck to the LCD display. After a week or so, the humidity was dried up and it works as if it nothing had ever happens. nod.gif

TSapendots
post Aug 11 2020, 06:53 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Aug 11 2020, 06:05 PM)
That's what I love about the Godox, the connectivity is so inclusive. Your flash is also your trigger. I started off using my TT350 as the flash as well as trigger because of it's small size. But recently I've added the X1T trigger because I want the TT350 to serve as off camera backdrop light.

Yeah, it is salt water. I guess the principle is the same. Flood water or salt water, as long as we able to remove it from the electronic (usually hard  to do so) before the components inside was corroded away, it will works. I only dried it for few hours actually before I test it again, because I am an impatient man tongue.gif . I tried to dry it with a hair blower first. At first the display showed 'Err', later it start to power up with partial display and humidity stuck to the LCD display. After a week or so, the humidity was dried up and it works as if it nothing had ever happens.  nod.gif
Yeahhhh, i'll become Godox die hard fans la after this. They makes everything so easy yet affordable.
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 11 2020, 09:21 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

Most named brands' top Flashes have some kind of weather sealing but not the 3rd party brands as far as I remember. Not sure what the ratings are but I've seen some beat up canon Flashes that looked like they've been to warzones and out.

QUOTE(apendots @ Aug 11 2020, 06:53 PM)
Yeahhhh, i'll become Godox die hard fans la after this. They makes everything so easy yet affordable.
Join the club! The system is very easy to use and I too love the X2t. +way cheaper than other brands except maybe yongnuo which is also getting better now
TSapendots
post Aug 12 2020, 10:16 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 11 2020, 09:21 PM)
Most named brands' top Flashes have some kind of weather sealing but not the 3rd party brands as far as I remember. Not sure what the ratings are but I've seen some beat up canon Flashes that looked like they've been to warzones and out.
Join the club! The system is very easy to use and I too love the X2t. +way cheaper than other brands except maybe yongnuo which is also getting better now
I dont prefer Yongnuo cos their build quality is quite bad, and last time my friend bought the Yongnuo speedlight around RM2++ i think. After use less than 10 times, it stop working anymore. luls
vincentboleh
post Aug 31 2020, 02:59 PM

281 posts

Have both 350 & 860ii and they work flawlessly on TTL!
860ii on camera could easily get ~1,000 shots.

TSapendots
post Sep 1 2020, 10:31 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(vincentboleh @ Aug 31 2020, 02:59 PM)
Have both 350 & 860ii and they work flawlessly on TTL!
860ii on camera could easily get ~1,000 shots.

wow 1000 shots
full power?
vincentboleh
post Sep 1 2020, 01:56 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(apendots @ Sep 1 2020, 10:31 AM)
wow 1000 shots
full power?
Auto TTL
kyo_kusanagi
post May 3 2021, 08:02 PM

301 posts

if you have budget & haven't buy v860ii , straight go for godox V1.

Overall V1 have few small improvement over v860ii (faster hot shoe lock, much simple user interface, built-in LED light , more turning flash head angle)

Other than that both flash work similarly

0.0200sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:22 AM