Complaints Anti BUMP feature, Annoying as hell!

TSMinds2
post Aug 7 2007, 10:26 PM, updated 19y ago

30 posts

I personally think that the BUMP feature sux. Everytime i look into threads, the whole screen is full of BUMPS. Its not fair to some users... I mean... if u dont get replys in ur thread, then it just means people arent interested... Why keep bumping ur thread when no one is gonna reply.
I know that some of you BUMP so that ur thread gets noticed.. but u dont have to do it all the time...
Maybe ya'll can change it to 1 BUMP a week and not daily.

Anyone agree with me?

This post has been edited by Minds2: Aug 7 2007, 10:30 PM
mryellow19
post Aug 7 2007, 10:39 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

nope dun agree...the reason to bump is to get ppl attention...if ur topic goes behind and someone actually is interested in ur product after the topic has been pushed behind...tat person interested in the product may not find it...although there may be search button but some ppl juz do not use the search button....so wat will happen to the sales then?? The one to decide whether the product being sold is attractive or not is the seller himself...if he thinks tat his product would not sell well...then he would close the topic himself..but if the seller still thinks tat the item can sell well...so might as well bump it to get more attention....
wakleman
post Aug 7 2007, 11:13 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Minds2 @ Aug 7 2007, 10:26 PM)
I personally think that the BUMP feature sux. Everytime i look into threads, the whole screen is full of BUMPS. Its not fair to some users... I mean... if u dont get replys in ur thread, then it just means people arent interested... Why keep bumping ur thread when no one is gonna reply.
I know that some of you BUMP so that ur thread gets noticed.. but u dont have to do it all the time...

Anyone agree with me?
not agree,n you must think for others.why they "bump" their post...it is not bcoz there is no other people isnt interested, it is bcoz their post will be at the last page n other ppl not interested to click next page button till they found what they want (interesting) n ppl who know what they actually want they will use search feature.in one day there are more than 20 pages of new threads using "bump" feature n normal way.so in one day also the threads will be buried at the last page in order of increasing new threads.so im not agree with u tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wakleman: Aug 7 2007, 11:14 PM
Enigmatic
post Aug 7 2007, 11:45 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(Minds2 @ Aug 7 2007, 10:26 PM)

Anyone agree with me?
Then what about interested buyers or sellers who prefer to PM the respective party directly instead of posting in the thread? wink.gif Not everyone replies on the thread, quite a few PM the seller or buyer directly. wink.gif
altie
post Aug 8 2007, 12:21 AM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

It's all about product placement and marketing.

Would you tell your local hypermarket, "Don't bother putting the batteries/condoms/sweets near the cashiers, nobody's interested in buying that kind of stuff". No, right?
mcchin
post Aug 8 2007, 12:56 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

and also trade zone is a area for selling/buying/trading
hard to find good read there

try kopitiam, RWI, and others
if done that, try reading a book okay? tongue.gif
lucifah
post Aug 8 2007, 01:03 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

itubump feature hanya utk sales thread sajalah... mana da org bump topik sukati diorang nak je
goldfries
post Aug 8 2007, 06:36 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

incessant bumping was annoying to other fellow traders, but so far no complaints from potential buyers.

they know that
1. they can filter the thread
2. they can ignore those bumped
3. they know how to browse
sean392
post Aug 8 2007, 08:30 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

I have to disagree about your comment.

Bump features helps gather attention at your thread that probably if as you said, "People aren't interested" has been kicked back many pages.
If it isn't bumped up, no one will be so diligent to scroll back many pages.
Plus, some potential buyers, just happen to stumble upon something they like and then the deal takes place.

temptation1314
post Aug 8 2007, 09:05 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Bump feature actually is for those thread that are missing too behind (e.g. 6-10 pages behind) and let it on the roll again.

Yes, for old lowyatners, I think they know how to browse. It depends too whether that person want to browse or not.

Another thing, bumping did catch a lot of attention but did you go to a supermarket and just visit the store right infront your eyes and ignore others? I dun think so right?

It's depend whether you are a smart at spending time to review all the available goods before buying. Not blindly pick a shop and buy.
raymonddic
post Aug 8 2007, 11:40 AM

New here... how to bump ?
temptation1314
post Aug 8 2007, 11:48 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Look at the attachment

stevanistelrooy
post Aug 8 2007, 11:48 AM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

Go to your thread located in Trade Zone, click on user posted image

Only thread in Trade Zone can be bump

TSMinds2
post Aug 8 2007, 03:21 PM

30 posts

ok, since everyone disagrees, then ignore my thread.
altie
post Aug 8 2007, 04:54 PM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

Fair enough.

Thread Closed.

0.0188sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled