baby not drinking milk, 2 month old boy, more sleeping

TSviviram P
post Aug 3 2020, 04:22 PM, updated 4y ago

Probation

My baby boy is 2 month old. He is sleeping all the day and wake up till late night. Not ready to drink milk. What could be the reason. How to resole it?
Dr.Drool
post Aug 3 2020, 04:31 PM

220 posts

Normal baby sleeps a lot but also feed a lot like every 2-3 hours. Maybe take your baby to paediatric clinic for check to be safe. Low Yat forum may not be a suitable place to consult with especially infant this young.

1 tip I always follow: Never take your baby out to public places before they are less than 6 months old. Anyway, it is a learning experience if this is your 1st child.
woodentiger86
post Aug 3 2020, 04:32 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

Is your child currently weaning on breast milk? Or formula? Even so, he should be waking up every 2-3 hours to latch or cry for milk.

If it continues, best to seek professional advice from a doctor.
breaker84
post Aug 3 2020, 04:39 PM

\\//\\//\\//\\//
1,713 posts

its normal baby sleep a lot...
need to wake him up to feed the milk....
under 6 month, highly recommend breast feed...
but it you have health problem, formula should be ok too..
TSviviram P
post Aug 3 2020, 04:43 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Dr.Drool @ Aug 3 2020, 04:31 PM)
Normal baby sleeps a lot but also feed a lot like every 2-3 hours. Maybe take your baby to paediatric clinic for check to be safe. Low Yat forum may not be a suitable place to consult with especially infant this young.

1 tip I always follow: Never take your baby out to public places before they are less than 6 months old. Anyway, it is a learning experience if this is your 1st child.
Thank you so much. He is smiling and active but only problem is not opening mouth and strongly closes. He is ready to take breast as well as formula milk.
Yes, its our first child.
TSviviram P
post Aug 3 2020, 04:45 PM

Probation

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 3 2020, 04:32 PM)
Is your child currently weaning on breast milk? Or formula? Even so, he should be waking up every 2-3 hours to latch or cry for milk.

If it continues, best to seek professional advice from a doctor.
Thank you so much for the reply. Yes.
He is not ready to take breast as well as formula milk.
woodentiger86
post Aug 3 2020, 04:51 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(viviram @ Aug 3 2020, 04:43 PM)
Thank you so much. He is smiling and active but only problem is not opening mouth and strongly closes. He is ready to take breast as well as formula milk.
Yes, its our first child.
QUOTE(viviram @ Aug 3 2020, 04:45 PM)
Thank you so much for the reply. Yes.
He is not ready to take breast as well as formula milk.
Hmm, ready or not ready?

Anyhow, if you're able to produce breast milk, try feeding it to him first. Probably need to let him get used to latching also. I understand that babies often feel comfortable when they're placed closed to your chest.

How does he go about getting fed then since you shared that he's not really drinking regularly?

Anyhow, noticed that you're on Probation so likely you're unable to reply further for today.

Hope you're able to get your son to take his milk intake regularly.
ckseong80
post Aug 3 2020, 04:55 PM

356 posts

Let the baby latch on for breast milk after 2-3hrs. Although sleeping you can try to press at the baby's cheek sort of to wake the baby up a little. Baby should start to suck for a while before sleeping again. Continue this repeatedly until you feel your breast is less engorged.
TSviviram P
post Aug 4 2020, 07:45 PM

Probation

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 3 2020, 04:51 PM)
Hmm, ready or not ready?

Anyhow, if you're able to produce breast milk, try feeding it to him first. Probably need to let him get used to latching also. I understand that babies often feel comfortable when they're placed closed to your chest.

How does he go about getting fed then since you shared that he's not really drinking regularly?

Anyhow, noticed that you're on Probation so likely you're unable to reply further for today.

Hope you're able to get your son to take his milk intake regularly.
Sorry for the mistake. Not ready to take any milk.

He drinks. Just for 5 min. the falls asleep. This continues 24 x 7.
woodentiger86
post Aug 5 2020, 07:55 AM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(viviram @ Aug 4 2020, 07:45 PM)

Hmm I see, At this stage your son needs the milk for sustenance.

Best to have a paed look into it? Usually babies at this age tend to cry if not fed on time... Could be signs of lethargy if he falls asleep so quickly and without finishing his milk too.

Hopefully things are alright.
seather
post Aug 5 2020, 09:53 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,292 posts

if bottle fed... perhaps try another model of bottle teat?

sometimes they give up becoz they tak syiok/puas with the teat.

i went from pureen -> avent -> tommee tippee
b4 finally my baby puas with pigeon...

but please listen to the advise above, see a paed... especially if weight gain is not good...
by instinct they sud want milk when hungry

This post has been edited by seather: Aug 5 2020, 09:55 AM
Zaire.Ver
post Aug 5 2020, 10:05 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(viviram @ Aug 4 2020, 07:45 PM)

same like my newborn when breastfed..5~10min than asleep...which not sufficient actly as baby didnt get the more fattier hindmilk
then i learnt to un'swaddle the baby and pinch his foot to awake baby

but my nb also readily drinks formula milk..finished 2oz per session

This post has been edited by Zaire.Ver: Aug 5 2020, 10:08 AM
lalakiki
post Aug 5 2020, 10:08 AM

451 posts

i suggest better go ask doctor instead u asking from here...
TSviviram P
post Aug 5 2020, 05:55 PM

Probation

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Aug 5 2020, 10:08 AM)
i suggest better go ask doctor instead u asking from here...
We have shown now to 3 pediatrician already. They all say that he is fine. One suggested there may be block in his nose due to cough or vomiting the milk. So started nasal drops.
One doc asked to keep in observation for 2 days. But since its COVID we rejected the idea.

Since its our first all say there be anxiety too. So posted here if we can interact parents with similar situations or with much experience.
grumpydrive
post Aug 7 2020, 11:01 AM

173 posts

Newborns usually sleeps all day but is more active during the night. Does he pee and poop a lot?
Tr1Angel
post Aug 7 2020, 01:09 PM

222 posts

Perhaps you can try several type of feeding bottles, each of them have different type of teats, try and error. I had use a several brand and found out that MAM is the best that accept by my both kids whom now 2 years+ and 1 month+
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 7 2020, 01:15 PM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

QUOTE(viviram @ Aug 3 2020, 04:22 PM)
My baby boy is 2 month old. He is sleeping all the day and wake up till late night. Not ready to drink milk. What could be the reason. How to resole it?
U dont need ur baby to be awake to feed milk. just put ur nipple (or bottle teat) into his mouth he will auto suck
woodentiger86
post Sep 29 2020, 01:56 PM

2,414 posts

Hi TS, how's your newborn doing? Hopefully all is well. smile.gif
canadianbeethoven P
post Oct 16 2020, 12:11 AM

Probation
15 posts

It is normal the baby sleeps and wake up every three or four hours and then he wakes up to be fed

0.0203sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:33 PM