TnG eWallet Discussion Thread V1, eWallet, PayDirect

SUSSyok Your Mom
post Jan 21 2025, 07:07 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Anyone knows if I refuse to to do the eKYC what will happen to my balance inside ? Seems can't transfer if no eKYC. Dunno if install older APK version can solve the process or not
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Jan 21 2025, 07:13 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 21 2025, 07:09 AM)
if refuse , then close the account.

you'll get the balance bank.
I'm thinking to install older version APK & try dunno can or not. Otherwise just close account TNG is a lousy company, dunno why they can monopoly for so long.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 23 2025, 05:46 PM

3,112 posts

I refuse to do the KYC. I wonder if TnG will suspend my account or not. Dulan Nia not even a bank app but must have KYC.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 23 2025, 05:57 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 23 2025, 05:53 PM)
majority now all ewallet need to do eKYC.
Oh no wonder even Shopee pay request me to do KYC. Usually you guys use TnG for what purpose? Pay at hawker stalls etc etc, any other usages ?
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 24 2025, 09:45 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 23 2025, 07:48 PM)
Only for toll and parking. No benefit to use for other
Really mafan apps these days. If bank apps I can understand why need KYC
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 24 2025, 10:06 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 24 2025, 10:05 AM)
This specific app also keeps money for you, why bank app need KYC but this one don't need?
Because bank is bank, TnG is TnG, lots of different man
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 24 2025, 10:11 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Feb 24 2025, 10:08 AM)
probably not (i think) but certain function will be restricted such as transfer limit, etc
it's not a bank app but it's the concept of super-app (invest, finance, save, spend, etc)
won't get you rich but it's still free money
assuming 3% cash back, less 1% fee, net 2%
keep recycling that RM 1,000 will get you RM 240 per year per card or RM 215 after tax
Last time for no reason they terminate my account I lost about 2 figure of credits inside the app. Try login but the TnG app keeps saying my account don't exist. Really chaotic this TnG
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 24 2025, 10:14 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 24 2025, 10:12 AM)
The similarity is that both are holding your money and allow you to spend it. Which differences require KYC for bank app but not TNG?
Ok ok if follow your logic, any app with credits inside must have KYC but I don't think Lazada has KYC yet right
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 24 2025, 10:35 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 24 2025, 10:31 AM)
Those apps which allow usage of credit outside (e.g. via DuitNow QR or their own QR codes) like ShopeePay, TNG, Grab, GXBank, Rize, all are implementing KYC. Because then their apps become basically banking apps, and have to follow banking requirements. Especially when they also offer other financial services like unsecured credit. Or in TNG's case, actually hold your deposit and give interest.

Lazada only allows usage of their credit within Lazada. Similar to points in whatever mobile game. In that sense it is more similar to Steam - you have a wallet which is just money you have pre-paid, can only be used on their service. Not a bank where you can deposit and spend outside their ecosystem.
You are right but iinm even food panda no need for KYC
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 25 2025, 03:22 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 24 2025, 11:51 PM)
Does foodpanda even have a wallet (I don't use it)? If it has a wallet, can that wallet be used to make payment outside foodpanda? Does it do loans? Not sure why you bring up random apps which are NOT like TNG/bank apps.
Food panda don't have wallet but it does have online banking FPX for transfer between Bank & my panda account for payment purpose. Does that count as a wallet ? Of course la food panda don't have loans like Bank.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 25 2025, 08:17 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 25 2025, 08:11 AM)
You mean FPX to transfer FROM your bank account to foodpanda for payment?

Like ANY other app which receives payment? Your telco app also can receive funds. Your internet service provider app can receive funds.

What they cannot do is store funds and then transfer out as payment. They do not give loans.

TNG is NOT like that. You can receive funds, you can store funds, you can obtain loans from them, they even give you interest for some of your funds. They are a digital bank with digital banking license and hence have to follow those laws.
Finally agreed with you. Guess I will have to do the eKYC when I am free. Thanks for all the explanation

0.3949sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:57 AM