Need help Rashes on Private Part, Medical Condition

TSLaguna
post Jul 31 2020, 08:53 PM, updated 6y ago

313 posts

Hi Guys,

Recently on June 22 2020 I discovered rashes on my penis head once I retract the fore skin. I could see rashes and weird spots on the skin. I went to the gp three times and he gave me antibiotic creams and tablet and the rashes came and go for one week and then it came back.

GP then asked to soak my private part with potassium permanganate .... My private part skin started to tear and blood started to come out from skin. This is the time I straight away went to SJMC to see the dermatologist.

Initially he diagnosed me as having herpes and was prescribed with zovirax and corticosteroid cream. It was at this time my skin had pus and I had to wash it with saline water before applying the steroid cream.

After that it all started to look good and I was asked to stop applying the steroid cream and take high dosage of corticosteroid pills. This is when I started realizing the rashes started appearing back on my skin and there were white patches appearing on my penis skin.

Doctor then suspect it is a fungus and I am currently applying anti fungal cream on the area. However I do noticed that there is a small white patch and red spots that looks like fungus today just appeared again.

Can please advise to me what should I do next if these conditions doesn't improve and my rashes still remain ? Should I go see another dermatologist for a second opinion.

Can probably recommend me a specialist to take a look at the issues i am facing now . I am worried as this is the first time I am having this issue. I had no sexual intercourse with anyone during the whole mco period.

Is my immune system compromised ?

This post has been edited by Laguna: Jul 31 2020, 09:01 PM
slaveone
post Jul 31 2020, 09:02 PM

1,231 posts

maybe can refer to another specialist.

i used to visit Dr Lim Tou Chai at pantai hospital.
muhibah
post Jul 31 2020, 09:11 PM

241 posts

Better get second opinion. Go find specialist instead
iUnique
post Jul 31 2020, 09:13 PM

90 posts

my suggestion is to go to any healthcenter that offers further investigations (like blood taking or swabs)

as you already underwent treatments,
but no improvements.

there’s high chance that what you’re having is something quite sinister.

KK also a good start.
TSLaguna
post Jul 31 2020, 09:17 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Jul 31 2020, 09:02 PM)
maybe can refer to another specialist.

i used to visit Dr Lim Tou Chai at pantai hospital.
I will give a try and make an appointment next week

QUOTE(muhibah @ Jul 31 2020, 09:11 PM)
Better get second opinion. Go find specialist instead
Thank you will try to give it a go as it is worrying me now.

QUOTE(iUnique @ Jul 31 2020, 09:13 PM)
my suggestion is to go to any healthcenter that offers further investigations (like blood taking or swabs)

as you already underwent treatments,
but no improvements.

there’s high chance that what you’re having is something quite sinister.

KK also a good start.
I have taken blood test but no swabs yet . What kind of swabs should I do for further investigation.

What is KK ?
iUnique
post Jul 31 2020, 09:18 PM

90 posts

taking high dose corticosteroids can suppress the immune system,
hence the fungal infection.

for the corticosteroid, it is best to reduce its dose by step, not suddenly stop taking it.

as sudden stop taking high dose corticosteroid can trigger Addisonian Crisis
- it’s life-treatening.

does the last doctor you seen given any follow-ups?
if not, just find another (suggestion: dermatologist, internist, or infectious disease specialist)

Yenactiet
post Jul 31 2020, 09:21 PM

281 posts

I'd recommend seeing the same dermatologist again as they will know your condition better since they can rule out some of the possibilities already. And if you don't trust them, maybe you can ask for a referral to a specialist that you want because it can tell the specialist what treatment they've done to you and probably your medical history.
iUnique
post Jul 31 2020, 09:21 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Jul 31 2020, 09:17 PM)
What kind of swabs should I do for further investigation.

What is KK ?
swabs for culture & sensitivity.
to see what organism currently lives there.
and to which antibiotic it weaks against.

KK = Klinik Kesihatan.
yeah, it may sound lame. but KK does offer necessary blood investigation & swabs.
kllonely1
post Jul 31 2020, 09:23 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Jul 31 2020, 08:53 PM)
Hi Guys,

Recently on June 22 2020 I discovered rashes on my penis head once I retract the fore skin. I could see rashes and weird spots on the skin. I went to the gp three times and he gave me antibiotic creams and tablet and the rashes came and go for one week and then it came back.

GP then asked to soak my private part with potassium permanganate .... My private part skin started to tear and blood started to come out from skin. This is the time I straight away went to SJMC to see the dermatologist.

Initially he diagnosed me as having herpes and was prescribed with zovirax and corticosteroid cream. It was at this time my skin had pus and I had to wash it with saline water before applying the steroid cream.

After that it all started to look good and I was asked to stop applying the steroid cream and take high dosage of corticosteroid pills. This is when I started realizing the rashes started appearing back on my skin and there were white patches appearing on my penis skin.
Doctor then suspect it is a fungus and I am currently applying anti fungal cream on the area. However I do noticed that there is a small white patch and red spots that looks like fungus today just appeared again.
Can please advise to me what should I do next if these conditions doesn't improve and my rashes still remain ? Should I go see another dermatologist for a second opinion.
Can probably recommend me a specialist to take a look at the issues i am facing now . I am worried as this is the first time I am having this issue. I had no sexual intercourse with anyone during the whole mco period.

Is my immune system compromised ?
gambar mana?
sparketh
post Jul 31 2020, 09:25 PM

233 posts

Dr ranjit in subang ss15. Got dr ranjit and another lady dr there. He is so experienced and everyone long line outside his clinic cos he is that good. U are under a lot of stress best go see a good experienced and older dr who has seen many ptns and can better treat u
TSLaguna
post Jul 31 2020, 09:39 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(iUnique @ Jul 31 2020, 09:18 PM)
taking high dose corticosteroids can suppress the immune system,
hence the fungal infection.

for the corticosteroid, it is best to reduce its dose by step, not suddenly stop taking it.

as sudden stop taking high dose corticosteroid can trigger Addisonian Crisis
- it’s life-treatening.

does the last doctor you seen given any follow-ups?
if not, just find another (suggestion: dermatologist, internist, or infectious disease specialist)
I really hope that is the case because of the high dosage of corticosteroids I noticed my Lymphocyte count was low and neutrophil count was high from my blood test results.

I last saw the doctor on tuesday and says that I don't have to see him anymore . But I am still worried because the rashes are still there and notice 1 small patch of fungus still remaining there. Still continuing with the anti fungal cream.

I still want to see another doctor but what is an internist or infectious disease specialist . Do I need to go to government hospital for that ?

QUOTE(Yenactiet @ Jul 31 2020, 09:21 PM)
I'd recommend seeing the same dermatologist again as they will know your condition better since they can rule out some of the possibilities already. And if you don't trust them, maybe you can ask for a referral to a specialist that you want because it can tell the specialist what treatment they've done to you and probably your medical history.
I last saw the doctor on tuesday and says that I don't have to see him anymore . But I am still worried because the rashes are still there and notice 1 small patch of fungus still remaining there. I wonder will he refer me to another specialist as he is already a dermatologist.

QUOTE(iUnique @ Jul 31 2020, 09:21 PM)
swabs for culture & sensitivity.
to see what organism currently lives there.
and to which antibiotic it weaks against.

KK = Klinik Kesihatan.
yeah, it may sound lame. but KK does offer necessary blood investigation & swabs.
I will go to my nearest KK and hope they offer me the blood investigation & swabs.

QUOTE(kllonely1 @ Jul 31 2020, 09:23 PM)
gambar mana?
Tak boleh bang gambar. Nanti brother saya di bawah jadi famous .

QUOTE(sparketh @ Jul 31 2020, 09:25 PM)
Dr ranjit in subang ss15. Got dr ranjit and another lady dr there.  He is so experienced and everyone long line outside his clinic cos he is that good. U are under a lot of stress best go see a good experienced and older dr who has seen many ptns and can better treat u
I will KIV on this. Is his consultation expensive ?

0.0146sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:42 AM