How to convert Fluorescent to LED ?
SUSlurkingaround
Jul 30 2020, 08:18 AM
Before MCO, I bought my T8 4ft LED lights and casing from my nearby hardware store. Removed the whole old flour lights and casings(= including starter and ballast/transformer) and replace with the new LED light and casing. Just need to connect the Live and Neutral wires, which connection are reversible, ie can connect either one = easy peasy. Mine is 7000K for full brightness.
LED lights will save you a ton of electricity cost. ..
PS - Anyone knows how to connect 2 such T8 LED lights and casing in series and at different locations(= not next to each other), eg to light up a very large room/space.? .
This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jul 31 2020, 07:51 AM
SUSlurkingaround
Jul 31 2020, 07:54 AM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jul 30 2020, 08:18 AM) Before MCO, I bought my T8 4ft LED lights and casing from my nearby hardware store. Removed the whole old flour lights and casings(= including starter and ballast/transformer) and replace with the new LED light and casing. Just need to connect the Live and Neutral wires, which connection are reversible, ie can connect either one = easy peasy. Mine is 7000K for full brightness. LED lights will save you a ton of electricity cost. .. PS - Anyone knows how to connect 2 such T8 LED lights and casing in series and at different locations(= not next to each other), eg to light up a very large room/space.? . = easy peasy method. . QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 31 2020, 06:59 AM) Sorry at first post I though i had updated the diagram. Plan to remove the ballast since a few ballast spoil and not working. Currently , doesn't know which wire to cut , i saw some comment doesn't need to know the colour but somehow the previous tech installer using different wire colour which confusing. So , if follow the diagram , which wire I should remove and replace and the end result of LED wiring should be like ?  = complicated method. . This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jul 31 2020, 07:56 AM
SUSlurkingaround
Aug 2 2020, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 2 2020, 02:33 AM) I did same way too during mco. Ballast/transformer i no use n throw away, just did direct connection the L and N wire. I did in series 10 T8 led side by side with 1 control switch. Connection in series easy peazy too, u just need to buy T8 that have connector both end side left n right. Its can comes wif 2 pins or 3 pins type, but no different lar. Just buy extra connector and extra wire to connect in series. Giv u example pic.  Mine exactly like this pattern. If for single T8 use only, any connection from both end side would work if connect to on/off switch. In series, u can connect as many as u want wif this type of T8. If wire not enough long, u can cut and connect wif much longer wire.   This connector is for side by side connection. . Wow.! ... Thanks a lot for the detailed information. How much will it cost if I were to connect 2 such LED T8 lights in series about 8 to 10 feet apart in my large living room.? . . PS - One 4-ft T8 LED light plus casing cost me about RM15 at my nearby hardware store. . This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Aug 2 2020, 09:10 AM
SUSlurkingaround
Aug 2 2020, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 2 2020, 02:38 PM) 8-10ft apart? U need to buy connector that same length as u want, i not sure if they got sell that long. If dont have that long, u can modify by buying 3-4 meters extra wire and connect to t8 connector by cutting and connect wiring urself. My place slight expensive, t8 4ft rm18-20. U need to buy 2 set 4ft t8 cost u rm30, then 1 connector i think few ringgit only. Extra wire also like few ringgit per meter.   Something like this la, red+black as extra wire for to connect how long u want. Then the white t8 connector u cut and connect wif red+black wire. . Great idea. Thanks. .
SUSlurkingaround
Aug 2 2020, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 2 2020, 02:38 PM) 8-10ft apart? U need to buy connector that same length as u want, i not sure if they got sell that long. If dont have that long, u can modify by buying 3-4 meters extra wire and connect to t8 connector by cutting and connect wiring urself. My place slight expensive, t8 4ft rm18-20. U need to buy 2 set 4ft t8 cost u rm30, then 1 connector i think few ringgit only. Extra wire also like few ringgit per meter.   Something like this la, red+black as extra wire for to connect how long u want. Then the white t8 connector u cut and connect wif red+black wire. QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Aug 2 2020 @ 02:57 PM) . The costs of this setup, ie 2 T8 LED 4-ft lights connected in series about 10 feet apart, eg for a large room. ....... .
https://shopee.com.my/LED-T8-tube-light-int...5413.2450317565https://shopee.com.my/Integrated-Led-Tube-L...4449.5336200093https://shopee.com.my/LED-tube-T5-T8-integr...0187.2578991692.
SUSlurkingaround
Aug 2 2020, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 2 2020, 03:47 PM) Rm12.60 for 4ft thats cheap already. Mine is rm18 each, but i bought x10 they gv me rm17 = rm170, but each t8 came with the mini connector for side by side connection in series. I bought at local electric store, they no much discount that time. . I have seen many Chinese coffee-shops using this setup to connect a series of up to 10 T8 4-ft LED lights side-by-side, eg .......
https://issuu.com/ledworldbrochures/docs/co..._catalogue_2017. This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Aug 2 2020, 04:17 PM
SUSlurkingaround
Aug 5 2020, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(williamtan2020 @ Aug 5 2020, 11:54 AM) IMO, The hassle is not worth it coz LED less bright (maybe due to brand?), not cheap and overall look (due to the cover) is not better. Easier to maintain florescent . https://easilygreen.com.au/fluorescent-vs-l...rescent-lights/ - Fluorescent vs LED lights – 10 Problems to Consider with Fluorescent lights - February 19, 2016 ''''''' 1. Frequent Switching Causes Early Failures
2. Fluorescent lights Contain Mercury
3. LED Lighting does not give off UV light
4. The “Buzz” On the Fluorescent Ballast
5. Power Quality and Radio Interference
6. LED lights are much more efficient At High and Low Temperatures
7. Fluorescent Lamp Shape Cause Retrofit Problems
8. Fluorescent lights do not have the life span of LED lights and therefore incur greater maintenance costs.
9. Contaminants Cause Disposal and Recycling Issues
10. Light from Fluorescent Bulb Is Non-Directional ''''''' . My house's LED T8 4-feet and 2-feet tube lights at 7000K is bright enough and do not present any eye problems after > 6 months of use. Some people may be foolishly recommending not-bright yellowish 3000K to 4000K LED lights to others. . This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Aug 5 2020, 02:34 PM