Vibrating at 140-160kmph, Pls halp

TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 08:54 AM, updated 6y ago

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Hi guys,

Just changed all 4 brand new 18" rims with all 4 new tires. Already done alignment and balancing for both front and rear. The front wheels done high speed balancing summore.

Initially felt ok but upon reaching 140-160 kmph, the car start vibrating. My butt felt like the origin of the vibration is from left rear, but when recall back during balancing - no issue at all.

The vibration intensify during accelerating and minimize during throttle release. Felt like worsen if accelerating during taking left corner rather than right corner at highway.

May I know what I need to do or expect?

Billions of thanks in advance.
ikr99
post Jul 29 2020, 08:59 AM

65 posts

what car???
wanfumi
post Jul 29 2020, 09:03 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 29 2020, 08:54 AM)
Hi guys,

Just changed all 4 brand new 18" rims with all 4 new tires. Already done alignment and balancing for both front and rear. The front wheels done high speed balancing summore.

Initially felt ok but upon reaching 140-160 kmph, the car start vibrating. My butt felt like the origin of the vibration is from left rear, but when recall back during balancing - no issue at all.

The vibration intensify during accelerating and minimize during throttle release. Felt like worsen if accelerating during taking left corner rather than right corner at highway.

May I know what I need to do or expect?
Billions of thanks in advance.
Does the vibration go away after 160kmh? If yes, then most probably it come from your new rims or tyres

This post has been edited by wanfumi: Jul 29 2020, 09:05 AM
BelaCHAN
post Jul 29 2020, 09:04 AM

580 posts

'Liverpool" Rims? (^-^)

On what car though?

What is the date code on all 4 tyres?
Zephyral
post Jul 29 2020, 09:13 AM

45 posts

what car are you using? this might be important information depending on the loading during acceration.

i assume you have done nothing else to the car except changing rims right? what size were you using previously? large difference in weight?

it could also be there are underlying issues drawn out by the heavier wheels
mcchin
post Jul 29 2020, 09:19 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

is the new wheel compatible with hub centering of your car?
set
post Jul 29 2020, 09:20 AM

352 posts

you might able to fix it with center cone, if that's the problem
SUSifourtos
post Jul 29 2020, 09:21 AM

2,256 posts

alignment balancing
Zot
post Jul 29 2020, 09:26 AM

7,938 posts

That high speed balancing with spinner on the side and spin tire on car?

I think it is more like traditional but with higher rotational speed. It still detect tire wobble sideway or lateral force. The longitudinal force like when tire hit the road can cause vibration due to uneven tire thickness.

Make sure the round dot on tire (can be solid red or white circle) is aligned to the valve stem on the wheel. That is where the centrifugal is the highest in relation to the force the rotating tire is puilling away from wheel (most call it rim). Yes, tire is not prefect smile.gif

Maybe this video can help understand the other force.

TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 09:48 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ikr99 @ Jul 29 2020, 08:59 AM)
what car???
BMW F30 320d LCI 2016.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 09:49 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(wanfumi @ Jul 29 2020, 09:03 AM)
Does the vibration go away after 160kmh? If yes, then most probably it come from your new rims or tyres
It is more precise to say that it getting more refined. Like finer vibration. Not totally goes away.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 09:50 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Jul 29 2020, 09:04 AM)
'Liverpool" Rims? (^-^)

On what car though?

What is the date code on all 4 tyres?
BMW F30 320d LCI 2016.

2720 biggrin.gif
JZenith
post Jul 29 2020, 10:07 AM

Look at my stars. owai
704 posts

what tyre?
might be the tyre pressure of your rear is abit high
vasculio82
post Jul 29 2020, 10:09 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 29 2020, 09:21 AM)
alignment balancing
This and u have to tell the person doing balancing u driving at 160
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:09 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Jul 29 2020, 09:13 AM)
what car are you using? this might be important information depending on the loading during acceration.

i assume you have done nothing else to the car except changing rims right? what size were you using previously? large difference in weight?

it could also be there are underlying issues drawn out by the heavier wheels
BMW F30 320d LCI 2016.

I just changed 18" rims together with brand new tires. Previously 19". Not much different, grossly.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:10 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 29 2020, 09:19 AM)
is the new wheel compatible with hub centering of your car?
Not sure, but most likely well compatible as its designed for BMW F30 itself.

How to know for sure, though?
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:10 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(set @ Jul 29 2020, 09:20 AM)
you might able to fix it with center cone, if that's the problem
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:13 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 29 2020, 09:21 AM)
alignment balancing
I went to the best shop available @ BBB

https://www.google.com/search?safe=off&ei=D...&sclient=psy-ab
set
post Jul 29 2020, 10:15 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 29 2020, 10:10 AM)
check your hub got the center cone or not first, aftermarket rims usually doesn't fit perfectly into the hub, you will need the center cone to fill the gap, something like

https://shopee.com.my/Center-Cone-(CH01-CH2...2789.5807237843
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:16 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 29 2020, 09:26 AM)
That high speed balancing with spinner on the side and spin tire on car?

I think it is more like traditional but with higher rotational speed. It still detect tire wobble sideway or lateral force. The longitudinal force like when tire hit the road can cause vibration due to uneven tire thickness.

Make sure the round dot on tire (can be solid red or white circle) is aligned to the valve stem on the wheel. That is where the centrifugal is the highest in relation to the force the rotating tire is puilling away from wheel (most call it rim). Yes, tire is not prefect  smile.gif

Maybe this video can help understand the other force.

Ahh learn new thing everyday.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:17 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(JZenith @ Jul 29 2020, 10:07 AM)
what tyre?
might be the tyre pressure of your rear is abit high
Continental ContiMaxContact MC6

https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Continen...Contact-MC6.htm

Tires pressure ok. Im using Nitrogen at suggested pressure.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 10:19 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(set @ Jul 29 2020, 10:15 AM)
check your hub got the center cone or not first, aftermarket rims usually doesn't fit perfectly into the hub, you will need the center cone to fill the gap, something like

https://shopee.com.my/Center-Cone-(CH01-CH2...2789.5807237843
Absence of this may cause my issue?
set
post Jul 29 2020, 10:39 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 29 2020, 10:19 AM)
vibrations, yes.
Zephyral
post Jul 29 2020, 10:45 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 29 2020, 10:19 AM)
basically in plain English, if the lobang at the center of the rim is bigger that the stub on your axle you put a countersunk cone to fill the gap... but you said your rim is build for your series then you shouldn't need a centercone.

seems like u are down sizing from 19 which should be lighter. unless the previous 19 causing some extra wear.

you said it happens when accelerating and goes away right as you release the throttle. the difference here is weight transfer maybe something is rubbing as your car squats.

also, no need to fill with nitrogen la. its something people sell u to lighten your wallet
dares
post Jul 29 2020, 12:43 PM

834 posts

You didn't do high speed balancing on the rear wheels, and you feel the vibrations are coming from the rear wheels.

So logically......?
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 01:02 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 29 2020, 12:43 PM)
You didn't do high speed balancing on the rear wheels, and you feel the vibrations are coming from the rear wheels.

So logically......?
Rear wheels did balancing. But not high speed balancing.
dares
post Jul 29 2020, 02:37 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 29 2020, 01:02 PM)
Rear wheels did balancing. But not high speed balancing.
Yep that's what I'm getting it. Try doing high speed balancing for rear wheels as well.
scorgio
post Jul 29 2020, 05:17 PM

4,696 posts

If it's not balancing issue, and the vibration is more profound during acceleration, while it only happens at a particular speed range, it could be the drive shaft.

Hoist the car up, check the coupling, inner & outer drive shaft.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 06:47 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jul 29 2020, 05:17 PM)
If it's not balancing issue, and the vibration is more profound during acceleration, while it only happens at a particular speed range, it could be the drive shaft.

Hoist the car up, check the coupling, inner & outer drive shaft.
A bad half shaft can cause vibration at your steering wheel when travelling at low to medium speed. We are talking about roughly in the range of 50 kilometers per hour.

But my vibration only start at 140KMPH. And how convenient to arise right after I changed my rims and tires.
TSMr.Docter
post Jul 29 2020, 06:48 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 29 2020, 02:37 PM)
Yep that's what I'm getting it. Try doing high speed balancing for rear wheels as well.
The shop told me that rear are not suitable for high speed balancing. I just yaya je.
scorgio
post Jul 29 2020, 08:55 PM

4,696 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 29 2020, 06:47 PM)
But my vibration only start at 140KMPH. And how convenient to arise right after I changed my rims and tires.
We don't know. I said IF it's not due to balancing.

So you try your rear wheel balancing 1st.

Vibration issue detection is always a trial & error thingy.
SUSceo684
post Jul 29 2020, 09:13 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Try redoing the balancing at Kee Hin Old Klang Road. They're the best in KL. It appears your balancing is kinda near the correct point but it could be off by say 1g or so then at 0-130 no issue but when you're going at high speed that margin of cumulative inbalance intensifies so you will feel the vibes.
empire
post Jul 30 2020, 12:50 AM

2,549 posts

I think your Long Shaft coupling is worn out
rcracer
post Jul 30 2020, 04:27 AM

?????
3,772 posts

changed to light rims ?

can happen , less mass tyre bigger effect