Property paid on behalf by Company, RPGT and Tax issues

TSpiggy2008
post Jul 24 2020, 09:30 PM, updated 6y ago

92 posts

Dear sifus sekalian,

My friend and his siblings have just acquired a piece of land and the land title is under their personal name. My friend also owns a company operating child care centre. He is willing to let his Company pay for the cost of the land (deposit+term loan installments) provided that his siblings bestow upon him the right to use the property and build a childcare centre.

My question is,can the payments by Company can be capitalised in their books? is there any deemed RPGT or tax issues? If cannot capitalise, Company can expense off and the benefit from the payment is capital gain on my friend's part and thus, is non taxable gain?

icon_question.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by piggy2008: Jul 24 2020, 09:38 PM
TSpiggy2008
post Jul 24 2020, 09:37 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Jul 24 2020, 09:35 PM)
Bank wont give out mortgage if your company dont own it.
I mean the term loan is under their personal name but the Company will pay for the installments.
TSpiggy2008
post Jul 24 2020, 09:51 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Jul 24 2020, 09:42 PM)
rent it out to the company make more sense
But then they will have to declare rental income in their personal tax which they did not get.

0.0144sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:50 PM