Crovoseas
Jul 23 2020, 03:33 PM
Wipe with wd40 after cleaning - the kitchen contracter sifu taught me coz I bought a cheap sink. Temporary solution but not permanent.
blanket84
Jul 23 2020, 03:36 PM
I thought stainless steel don’t rust? Or what material is that?
SUSceo684
Jul 23 2020, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jul 23 2020, 03:36 PM) I thought stainless steel don’t rust? Or what material is that? Stainless steel got many grades one. [ http://www.atlassteels.com.au/site/pages/s...-datasheets.php ] Ferritic stainless steels and martensitic are generally more affordable than austenitic stainless steel because they have less nickel and sometimes less chromium than austenitic stainless steels, which can result in a loss of corrosion resistance https://www.metalsupermarkets.com/the-diffe...tainless-steel/Ferristic ~ ferrous (iron) and can rust. Ferritic stainless steel Ferritic steels will usually only have chromium as an alloying element. The chromium content ranges from 10.5 to 18%. They have average corrosion resistance and poor fabrication characteristics. Heat treatment methods do not help with hardening the metal either. They generally have better engineering abilities than austenitic grades. Unlike austenitic grades, they are magnetic. They also have good resistance to stress corrosion, resulting in lower corrosive material wear. https://fractory.com/what-is-stainless-steel/This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 23 2020, 03:55 PM
kausar
Jul 23 2020, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 23 2020, 03:53 PM) Stainless steel got many grades one. [ http://www.atlassteels.com.au/site/pages/s...-datasheets.php ] Ferritic stainless steels and martensitic are generally more affordable than austenitic stainless steel because they have less nickel and sometimes less chromium than austenitic stainless steels, which can result in a loss of corrosion resistance https://www.metalsupermarkets.com/the-diffe...tainless-steel/Ferristic ~ ferrous (iron) and can rust. Ferritic stainless steel Ferritic steels will usually only have chromium as an alloying element. The chromium content ranges from 10.5 to 18%. They have average corrosion resistance and poor fabrication characteristics. Heat treatment methods do not help with hardening the metal either. They generally have better engineering abilities than austenitic grades. Unlike austenitic grades, they are magnetic. They also have good resistance to stress corrosion, resulting in lower corrosive material wear. https://fractory.com/what-is-stainless-steel/so how to identify ?
SUSceo684
Jul 23 2020, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(kausar @ Jul 23 2020, 04:05 PM) use magnet to see if its real SS or ferrite type SS else when buying sink try to get 316, else 304 also ok-lah beware of buying no name sink from china. those are questionable grade quality. This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 23 2020, 04:11 PM
TSbrood P
Jul 23 2020, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Jul 23 2020, 03:33 PM) Wipe with wd40 after cleaning - the kitchen contracter sifu taught me coz I bought a cheap sink. Temporary solution but not permanent. How cheap is cheap  ? I bought it for RM399. Is that considered really cheap therefore the problem? This is supposed to be stainless steel 304.
TSbrood P
Jul 23 2020, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jul 23 2020, 03:36 PM) I thought stainless steel don’t rust? Or what material is that? It is supposed to be 304 stainless steel. I said supposed to be because, like you, I also believe it shouldn't rust so easily
Zot
Jul 23 2020, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(kausar @ Jul 23 2020, 04:05 PM) The cooking pans and pots used in induction hobs is ferritic and ferritic also can be manufactured to be corrosion resistance like austentic stainless steel.
Zot
Jul 23 2020, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(brood @ Jul 23 2020, 04:15 PM) It is supposed to be 304 stainless steel. I said supposed to be because, like you, I also believe it shouldn't rust so easily  Stainless steel can rust. How easy or not depends on its grade. However, some China made grade 304 is also no good quality. Not realy 304 since who is verifying In hot humid place like Malaysia, more easily rusting. Exposed to chloride like clorox, will definitely rust it. Stairs handrail if you do not want it to rust, make sure you rub your hand going up and down daily The more you use your sink, less likely it will corrode
MeToo
Jul 23 2020, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 23 2020, 04:37 PM) Stainless steel can rust. How easy or not depends on its grade. However, some China made grade 304 is also no good quality. Not realy 304 since who is verifying In hot humid place like Malaysia, more easily rusting. Exposed to chloride like clorox, will definitely rust it. Stairs handrail if you do not want it to rust, make sure you rub your hand going up and down daily The more you use your sink, less likely it will corrode worry ma go 316 marine grade lor... I just go 'granite' sink... try Blanco
Zot
Jul 23 2020, 04:43 PM
I think there is stainless steel cleaner out there sold. Internet usually recommend you to use baking soda and vinegar.
I think during renovation, if there is metal dust even from steel left on sink, it can corrode it ... called galvanic corrosion.
Even leaving salt on it will rust, since salt is chloride material just like sea water.
blanket84
Jul 23 2020, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 23 2020, 03:53 PM) Stainless steel got many grades one. [ http://www.atlassteels.com.au/site/pages/s...-datasheets.php ] Ferritic stainless steels and martensitic are generally more affordable than austenitic stainless steel because they have less nickel and sometimes less chromium than austenitic stainless steels, which can result in a loss of corrosion resistance https://www.metalsupermarkets.com/the-diffe...tainless-steel/Ferristic ~ ferrous (iron) and can rust. Ferritic stainless steel Ferritic steels will usually only have chromium as an alloying element. The chromium content ranges from 10.5 to 18%. They have average corrosion resistance and poor fabrication characteristics. Heat treatment methods do not help with hardening the metal either. They generally have better engineering abilities than austenitic grades. Unlike austenitic grades, they are magnetic. They also have good resistance to stress corrosion, resulting in lower corrosive material wear. https://fractory.com/what-is-stainless-steel/Regardless of the technicalities, a manufacturer shouldn't call its product "stainless" if there isn't enough additive elements to make the steel stainless under normal usage. They should just call it mild steel
blanket84
Jul 23 2020, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(brood @ Jul 23 2020, 04:12 PM) How cheap is cheap  ? I bought it for RM399. Is that considered really cheap therefore the problem? This is supposed to be stainless steel 304. What brand was it? Just claim warranty from the manufacturer if any.. This post has been edited by blanket84: Jul 23 2020, 05:05 PM
fun_feng
Jul 23 2020, 05:34 PM
Dont worry, just use autosol to remove it...
My Teka sink also have some rust before i move in... after move in with regular use, the rust will not happen
Crovoseas
Jul 23 2020, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(brood @ Jul 23 2020, 04:12 PM) How cheap is cheap  ? I bought it for RM399. Is that considered really cheap therefore the problem? This is supposed to be stainless steel 304. About the same price range. Unless u get from big brands, otherwise dont trust the "label - ss304"
Boom Mortar
Jul 23 2020, 06:29 PM

Scotch brite green color scouring pad that usually use to wash plate,then some glo liquid cleaner,
Rub it hard , will gone