Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer
TSexdtan
Sep 18 2020, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(4WD_er @ Sep 17 2020, 04:07 PM) That's why I was saying if the Executive model is below RM80k, it makes a lot of sense for many ppl. Not everyone needs L2 autonomous driving and sun roof. Small SUV also no need 360 camera in the Premium. Executive already has sync leather seats and reserve camera. 17" wheel is cheaper to maintain and more comfort. 1.5T with MPI on the lower end model makes more sense on longevity. Yea I agree it actually values around 70-80K for Malaysian to buy a slightly advanced local car. Not more than that. 1.5T on longevity I’m not so sure if it makes any significant difference between MPI and direct. We will see in 3 years span
TSexdtan
Sep 18 2020, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(TheSecRet @ Sep 17 2020, 10:32 PM) If is 103k is really overkill. The binyue in China only cost around 11k rmb which is like 73k? Lol. While I really like both x70 x50 , I really hope Proton remain the price competitive and provide us a bargain. After all we are one of the very first market being penetrated Proton clarified it’s fake news, so are they telling us it’s gonna be higher than that or lower ? That’s the question they throw to us and keep us on the edge of the seat, OR keep you on your toes to brace for impact 😂
TSexdtan
Sep 18 2020, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 18 2020, 11:00 AM) Anyone already booked the car but didn't receive the sms confirmation? SA booked around 1pn and I received around 9.30pm
TSexdtan
Sep 18 2020, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 18 2020, 12:30 PM) malaysia only 45% is local, so 55% of the parts subjected to excise duty and import tax. Does that mean we won’t get 100% sales tax exemption ? Because even for X70 CKD that costs 100K, sales tax is only 7K
TSexdtan
Sep 19 2020, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(tifosi @ Sep 18 2020, 03:51 PM) Yeah, I don't know why they had the sunroof option as probably I would say 9/10 people wouldn't use it. Don't know about the Philippines or China, but there's no market in Malaysia. They should already know from the x70 CKD. Rather they save the cost and pass down to consumers. I do appreciate it having sunroof. I been complaining about my car feeling stuffy whether it’s Alza or old e240 or the F30 318i. Able to glance through the sunroof to get sunlight or look at the sky enlighten the atmosphere in the car
TSexdtan
Sep 19 2020, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 18 2020, 03:35 PM) if the shade is piece of plastic like x70 then that one i think still can feel some heat radiated inside the car. Just get it tinted, a 5-7 years durability tint cost about 90-180 in ss15
TSexdtan
Sep 19 2020, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(steven789 @ Sep 18 2020, 08:44 PM) Initially I booked a Premium variant, thought it comes with a 4 cylinder engine. But later immediately changed to flagship after knowing all are 3 cylinders. I think at least 50% booked are all flagship judging by the comments made here and Facebook group 😂 seems like most demanding variant
TSexdtan
Sep 20 2020, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(sonotme @ Sep 19 2020, 05:14 PM) Man I hope Proton dont back down on ambient lighting because it is one of the item i signed up for !
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 20 2020, 11:27 AM) i no see ada this, binyue also macam tak ada. oh wai, macam coolray and binyue ada. ok thats cool man. https://www.chinapev.com/geely/geely-binyue...ing-experience/but why see malaysia punya video all macam tak ada wei.. maybe cut cost, damn... Really knn man if 103K is the price they really ask us to pay but removed ambient lighting Should be like Coolray ! But I guess that’s why proton don’t call it cool ray because without ambient lighting it’s not cool anymore 😭
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 20 2020, 12:10 PM) damn.. aftermarket can install ambient lighting ka? that one can switch based on the instrument panel one. should retain that one for perceived quality up price ma.. sohai proton lagi. the sunroof don need ma.. fuk them. ambient lighting ppl here will have more wow effect than the knn sunroof. After market installation Ambient lighting won’t look original and nice because in Coolray the ambient lighting sits between door panel and glove compartment. This post has been edited by exdtan: Sep 21 2020, 08:05 AM
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(ayonan @ Sep 20 2020, 11:10 PM) Btw noticed that every time see the 360 camera performance on x50, it looks very poor. Got slight green-ish tint. Low quality camera? It’s memang like that already Proton cut cost until like that so they have to swap in local cheap camera and call it ‘HD’. Good news is though it’s cheap quality but since it’s HD, you still get at least 720p video quality.
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(Ryou @ Sep 21 2020, 08:13 AM) I'm wondering, is the dual-tone interior the same among all variants? Dual tone interior only in Flagship variant
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(sonotme @ Sep 21 2020, 09:51 AM) I think the idea must be that people don't really use 360 camera often. It's just there as a feature.. i think vios/yaris 360 also not so clear I think what is more disappointing is that if it has dashcam feature like Coolray, it won’t record in good clarity and quality.
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 21 2020, 09:59 AM) Since you guys are talking about the cameras, does the car come with dashcam though? Thinking of getting a pair of dashcam for the front and back... The features of the car is so much more than the whatever the car is lacking of. No dashcam, according to sources like Facebook group and no indication of it from Paultan and Wapcar
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(ayonan @ Sep 21 2020, 10:55 AM) My concern here is not really on the camera quality, rather than the quality standards in proton. If you see from this link, the parking lot is a lot darker wheres the X50 preview is in a very bright hall, but there is no green-ish tint on the 360 camera view screen like the one we see in the X50 from some of the local youtube videos. The question is, what else do they cheap on? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Zl8fp3F33Q...el=StarkFloridaOn parts that are under the hood where you can’t really see bro. There is only so much they can cut cost externally without people making noise. Which now we already are.
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 09:00 PM
Leaked info from one of the SA. Flagship is seriously 103 800 ringgit  follow by 95 8, 85 8, 75 8
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 21 2020, 09:13 PM) after sales tax reduction? Before any deduction. They mentioned its the price they memang want to charge us but after getting all our roars they believe there is a reason to revise the price. But it wont run too far away from this price range.
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 21 2020, 09:24 PM) maybe got 3-4k sst rebate; maybe flagship@ 99.8k  Highly possible but that would mean no other discount and we are buying x50 net price at 99.8K
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(sonotme @ Sep 21 2020, 09:47 PM) They should reduce la since people already book to support proton.. they will be shooting themselves in the knee.. 103K...no ambient lighting....cheap camera....no dashcam....cheap speaker.....no paddle shift....no S sport spoiler..... People pay over 100K for these options can you imagine ? I cant believe i may be one of them
TSexdtan
Sep 21 2020, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 21 2020, 10:27 PM) How about focusing on the positives instead of nitpicking: 177hp, 255m torque Real world 8.5 sec 0-100km/h acceleration Level 2 autonomous driving assistance with ICC & ACC, AEB, blindspot warning, etc Lovely interior with a 10.25" infotainment screen with 360 camera Panoramic sunroof No other car within the same category and price range that can match the specifications of the Proton X50. Agree with the positive points. But hey, this is Proton we are paying almost 100K for. This is not a foreign car bro. If you are comparing Geely Binyue to similar category then 100K is too good to be true. But we are talking about a national local brand car.