Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

josh5671
post Jul 4 2023, 10:34 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jul 4 2023, 10:30 AM)
Anyone's battery lasted more than 2 years?
me?
2020 Aug before Merdeka.
now 2023 Jul. coming 3 years.
josh5671
post Jul 10 2023, 10:09 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jul 10 2023, 08:44 AM)
Not sure but Chery Omoda will surely give X50 a run for their money. Definitely making a lot of buzz over the past weeks, and they have just launched a couple of sales centre over the weekend.
nah...some netizen mostly just selective reading on that, they just read what they wanna to read. i already meet few
example:
sales low: shit car surely low sales
sales high: surely proton fake the report

win liao lo. i loled so hard.
josh5671
post Aug 9 2023, 01:39 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(janszmatt @ Aug 9 2023, 01:33 PM)
Er.. you macam dunno how ICE car works with batteries
Your X50 isnt an EV that can die halfway while driving

what the technician did wasn't risking your life in anyway
nowday all car community too much of troll. showing fake 'facts' and the worse people believe it.
Just like most of rubber seal circling around the door literally causing rust...but still people apply it later complain paint ciplak.
josh5671
post Aug 9 2023, 03:02 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 9 2023, 01:57 PM)
so the battery dead early is due to battery manufacturing defects or the car need some update/ recall from proton?
battery dead for x50 i think got few point:
1. alternator rip
2. batches of battery go wrong

so far cant tell who legit who troll. but can sure this two point. if got point 3 probably is 'other', like the dramatic BCM, random dashcam that draw until battery dead or whatever the reason.
especially when you see people remote no battery also call flatbed...you know there mixed in all kind of people.
josh5671
post Sep 4 2023, 10:50 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Sep 3 2023, 11:57 AM)
It’s common but any chance to get it fix?
QUOTE(johnchen @ Sep 3 2023, 11:59 AM)
It’s not a problem, it’s a feature 🤭 jks aside, you just need to adapt yourself and get used to the pedal, no problem after that. Hill assist is there to help you as well.
QUOTE(daus92 @ Sep 4 2023, 09:57 AM)
Been driving this car for 1yr 3mths now, mileage 29k, daily drive to work. Executive variant.
i. 3 cylinder engine - no issue. so far so good. bising? inside car not bising at all. vibrate? NO!
ii. support & service - depends on where you go. 4 SCs i went, 3 were good, 1 SC (Proton Regal Motors PJ) SA & pomen super rude.
iii. service cost - can refer the cost on Proton app, just follow the app, if they want to add on service/item, just say NO!
iv mechanical issues - mine no problem. apart from battery cap unta kaput less than a year, but I cant claim warranty bcs mileage more than 20k. warranty cover 1 year, 20k mileage only  bangwall.gif now my car aircond issue. not cold, only blower. i suspect gas bocor. this wednesday got appointment, see what's the problem.
v. spare part price - not sure  sweat.gif

since this is my 1st car, so i cant judge other cars apart from my dad's kancil & my sister's saga.
all in all, nice car to drive. paling laju i drive 160km/h je, no vibration, & stable.
but sometimes when want to overtake, can feel a bit turbo lag.
Want fix the lag?
Simple je, pasang internet shared a lot de throttle control and adjust it, keep it certain rpm.
Just like sikit padel will keep the throttle open wide. Dont looking for me after install.

josh5671
post Sep 5 2023, 11:19 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(LiQuID2 @ Sep 4 2023, 08:53 PM)
Since the wind noise are caused by side mirror aerodynamic, can we install this to reduce wind noise? Anyone fix it before?
the primary wind noise coming from your pic, left side sandpaper like rough surface scratch proof de plastic area...not side mirror.
ahbo you tot how all these FB accessories shop ask to buy to cari makan?whistling.gif

This post has been edited by josh5671: Sep 5 2023, 11:19 AM
josh5671
post Sep 5 2023, 12:16 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 5 2023, 11:26 AM)
Luckily x70 dont have this issues. Put sponge, rubber inside the side mirror interior casing can solve this or not?
not from my knowledge. but able to minimise it.
now FB group's update their windnoise solution already, sharing windscreen both side A pillar cover/liner.
they claim the X50 R3 and china version have that, so they believe Proton/Geely long ago already know that causing windnoise... lol you bet that work or no? whistling.gif

i lazy to say too much like last time i point out sidemirror cover, otherwise I am the one kene kencam.

This post has been edited by josh5671: Sep 5 2023, 12:17 PM
josh5671
post Sep 5 2023, 05:06 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(LiQuID2 @ Sep 5 2023, 04:35 PM)
Any links to refer?
You feel free to try, i will bet it wont solve anything.
josh5671
post Sep 25 2023, 09:56 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(psyduck989 @ Sep 25 2023, 09:23 AM)
I am currently on my 2.5 years ownership roughly 54,000km so far so good on the engine (still smooth although I think it sounded slightly noisier compared to brand new) while the upside is that the interior still good with no noticeable rattling noises while driving normally & all still stock items apart from Car Battery. However I'm still plagued by on-off brake noises which I'm glad some got it sorted while the driver's side mirror angle & sound I guess I can live with it after so long. Of course with the worsening traffic the fuel consumption also takes a beating and I seriously wonder how often do X50 owner fills up their tank on an average 350km weekly journey.

Did anyone check out the latest servicing prices provided by Proton SC lately and some of the increases are staggering updated below. In all, the constant replacement of 20,000km oil & air filter does take a toll on the SC price and those are not cheap when compared to previous non-Geely ones.

Petronas 5W-30 EO - from RM162.50 to RM189.00 (16% increase sometime in Aug22)
Drain plug gasket - from RM3.88 to RM5.26 (35% increase sometime in 2023?)
Wheel Alignment & Balancing - from RM68 to RM127.20 (87% almost double increase also recently)

Also I did not realise SC offers the Engine Oil Flush I wonder if anyone tried it before or what brand does it uses. Surprised they did not go the extra $$$ by offering Oil & Fuel treatment.
agak same time take car with you. agak 3yr 49K now.
vibrate definitely 'worse' than day 1. but surely not like old 3cyl car and way way better.
for my interior wise, only the silver trim around the middle AC have some noise due to my wireless charger clip on airvent and put some downward pressure to the trim.

I probably will go 50K for last time Proton SC..after that should be outside service.

Will i buy proton again?
Probably no lol. because they cant even help to warranty/replace v2 side mirror assembly that fix some windnoise. due to proton side no memo for 'recall', and checked dosen people who claimed, seem like their SC didnt put any reason on the remark nor anything...so my SC cant do anything.
if you gonna buy it from SC (i don think you can buy V2 version from taobao) it cost 8xx per each side.

josh5671
post Sep 25 2023, 03:33 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(zero12 @ Sep 25 2023, 03:00 PM)
Hi all, I need some advice here.

Last month my wife car got battery issues and we called up Proton road assistance. Towing sent by Proton did a bad job and made damages to the gearbox when bringing her car to the service center. The towing company don't wanna admit they did wrong.

We raised up this issue to Proton customer service, Liberty insurance (the insurance partner) and even made a police report. We sent multiple emails demanding for them to take responsibility but they kept saying it's under investigation without any specific PIC given to us. This issue has been dragging us for a month with no progress and I'm getting nervous.

The only thing we haven't done is report to Tribunal. My question is, what can I do to make this process faster without us claiming our insurance?

Note : the police investigation report is 'refer to the court'. Since no accident happened so they cannot intervene and we may need to the criminal dept instead of traffic.
Forward that police report to KPDN aka tribunal
I bet proton will call you shortly whistling.gif

because i be proton side trying to taichi the issue
josh5671
post Oct 15 2023, 11:46 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Oct 15 2023, 08:27 AM)
Asked the shop that able to change the X50 HU, price quoted is RM2.3k, HU comes with AA/CP wireless, 360 Camera and other functionality, worth it?
whats spec they give you?

i got survey from china, and this in my wishlist
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?_u=t2dmg8....6bbc37decvK64i
good spec. but you need switch out every camera for 360 work probably need some calibration too

i wont take the shoot. unless there someone know what they doing and do it first...AND AND success. so i wont broke my car.

*additional remark:
Just now i search again on taobao. somehow no more 'Binyue' related HU show up.
and that link i provide you actually months ago i make the survey, in my favorited list
now literally no related result show up.....dont know why

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Oct 15 2023, 09:24 AM)
Will void warranty?
with no offense, wht question this is..surely it will.
unless you gonna switch all back including the cemera blablabla to stock before go back SC whistling.gif
ofc.. you can do it after 60k service where warranty end? (btw...how we disable the service notification on car if service outside)

This post has been edited by josh5671: Oct 15 2023, 04:28 PM
josh5671
post Oct 16 2023, 03:07 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 16 2023, 02:58 PM)
Hi guys, my car battery is on the last legs, cranking taking longer. Can you recommend a good replacement battery? What's the stock battery?

Mine still stock from factory, 21,000km done, car manufactured and received in October 2021. Executive variant with zero modifications.
no need over thinking.
as long as the spec fit or size fit. it should be working.

josh5671
post Oct 16 2023, 03:53 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 16 2023, 03:15 PM)
Still some guidance would be good. Proton SC quoting me RM459.

Last time back in June they told me need to change urgently since SOH just 3%
just change outside. any brand you believe..then good to go.
josh5671
post Oct 21 2023, 05:03 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ApexEnthusiast @ Oct 21 2023, 04:47 PM)

Took the plunge. Head unit from taobao. Made for X50/Geely Binyue. Compatible with car controls
what spec? 360 work too?
josh5671
post Oct 22 2023, 10:46 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(reubenster93 @ Oct 22 2023, 09:29 PM)
Nope it's not. I think this is the one BTW Accessories are R&D-ing. If you notice the bezels on the slides are different than mine. Looks similar to the BMW aftermarket HU
interesting.

btw..as i never remove the IHU from my FS.
it is single din underneath?

also more interesting how it work on stock equipment that come with FS.
like stock 360, reverse parking etc.
josh5671
post Oct 23 2023, 12:45 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 23 2023, 08:50 AM)
so all function? Understand the Hi Proton not working right?
maybe thats one of the reason some FS user change it leh? whistling.gif
josh5671
post Nov 2 2023, 09:55 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Nov 1 2023, 11:34 PM)
Depends your need, I would say current version is the better version VS older batch which prone to wind noise at high speed.

Currently in SUV market for B-seg SUV around this price range, no doubt the engine is really powerful.
The critics about 3 cylinder just gonna say haters gonna hate, it was pretty nicely managed, you only felt the vibration when you purpose go and feel it, but it was among the best 3 Cylinder in term of vibration felt in car. I tried Ativa/Almera they did worse in this aspect.

So far my 2 years ownership is all doing fine no issue with breakdown.

Current closest contender to X50 is the Cherry Omoda 5 with CVT gb.

For Corolla Cross my gripe will be the super outdated 1.8 VVT-i engine, more forgiving if they gave the DF engine like the other countries, but some people don't mind about it.
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Nov 2 2023, 08:08 AM)
u using flagship? or standard?
addition:

comparing 3cylinder of ativa with X50 literally a joke at the first place.
Only proton/x50 hater claim ativa 3cyl better than x50...and you not even saw any x50 owner complain about the engine vibrate but ativa group flooded with engine vibrate post.
ativa's engine really exact match how malaysian 'known' about 3cyl engine...
almera i didnt try it as my local nissan salesman just B*llcrap only will condenm other brand's feature, but own nissan giving nothing.

me flagship, so far only 2 complain:
- drive shaft 'krok', asking some people seem like its boot problem. after checking with proton SC they 'fixed' it, but coming back weeks later. (thats why i suspect driveshaft boots)
- flywheel noise (yea, my flywheel come up noise already, already ordering parts...date unknown)
josh5671
post Nov 2 2023, 12:16 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Nov 2 2023, 10:55 AM)
Flagship 25k mileage, 2 years ownership
Well, although their 3 cyl is more inferior, they will still crush u with RV, fuel consumption and quoting X70 X90 catches fire to your face and in the end label u ccp supporter.
Anyway most of these people don't own any or probably not even tested any of those models they are comparing with.

By the way how the flywheel noise sounds like? any occasion it gets loud? I want to try to simulate that maybe its some noise I did not pay attention to since the sound insulation is quite good.
ahaha until now, they not even dare to bottle test the ativa lolol

flywheel noise?
hmm, its sound like 4wd track car (tamiya?), krikkrik gear noise when accelerating.
but it only happen on like 30~80..over that speed unable to hear it (maybe due to tire/road noise gone over it)

josh5671
post Nov 2 2023, 12:19 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Nov 2 2023, 11:03 AM)
While I am giving opinion about Corolla Cross and Omoda 5 in my previous reply, I unintentionally missed out the HRV then I did a search in HRV thread seems like it wasn't active..
did the popularity for HRV fell so much? for what reason? Corolla Cross at least I still hear about news it overtake X70 in term of sales.
cross really a good car, overall. maybe just not fancy as X50, omoda 5.
worth to buy if no need turbo or fancy accessories .

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Nov 2 2023, 11:07 AM)
HRV waiting time too long.. how I know because I surveyed this model as well.. need wait until 1 year.. also the infamous steering rack issue is also notorious for HRV

X50/X70 at least ready stock

i do am interested in X50 , but sked of the aftersales/ QC issues. hence asking opinions of fellow owners here
buy car really 'tengok face' aka by luck.
but with now, you concern already before buy, i will suggest not to buy....for peace of mind.
josh5671
post Nov 8 2023, 10:18 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(lance87 @ Nov 7 2023, 10:18 PM)
Did anyone encounter front windshield wiper keeps sweeping even there's no rain when auto mode is shifted for FS model?
My windscreen just changed and new silicone gel is applied on the rain sensor. Light sensor is working fine.
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 8 2023, 08:07 AM)
You need to go back to the windscreen shop. Maybe some error when installing the rain sensor back. It is supposed PNP back the rain sensor without any need to put gel or anything
wiper/rain sensor shouldnt 'glued' to windshield. it should slot into specific slot without extra tool (like tuck in a stopper to a door)
i changed my windshield this august.

This post has been edited by josh5671: Nov 8 2023, 10:19 AM

29 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:43 PM