"Noise" from speaker after installing DSP/Woofer
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 10:54 AM, updated 3y ago
Hi i went to a shop yesterday to install a DSP (with built in amp) + active sub
After installing / tuning i notice there is noise coming out from all speakers (even with the HU off). whenever i start the car there will be noise.
This has become really annoying. I brought the car back to the shop just 2 hours after installing, they say they cant do anything other than reducing the master volume to a minimum (then there is no point to upgrade audio in the first place).
The explanation given by them is, the amplifier amplified the stock amp current (kenwood stock amp) so they cant do anything.
Tried to get a return+refund (with a loss of course) but they havent bothered to reply me.
Any sifu can suggest any solution to this?
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(motherker @ Jul 13 2020, 11:03 AM) hi bro, i've been through the same route. 1) Does the noise increase with ur rpm? If yes, most probably the signal lines are too close to the power cables. u can try isolating it. In my previous car, i ran the power cables and rca on opposite sides and it solved the issue. no. with 0 rpm there is still sound. i notice the boss of audio shop try to rev the engine but didnt notice any difference. its very annoying as i can hear the sound through the background of any music i play (worst when the HU is off)
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(t3n @ Jul 13 2020, 03:25 PM) how much damage to ur wallet? 2.5k
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 03:45 PM
I'm back at the shop now they are trying to bypass the stock amp now
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(finalazy84 @ Jul 13 2020, 03:45 PM) Awave.. 5 channel with built in amp
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 03:56 PM
Long story short, they told me they solved it by "upgrading" to other brand dsp. Ask me top up 1.5k. I ask them to fly a kite and revert back to stock.
Rugi labor cost
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(finalazy84 @ Jul 13 2020, 04:05 PM) i think it caused by the stock amp. what car is this? does ur car has active noise control? sometimes it produce weird noise as well. btw other brand is it helix match?  Ya it's helix match X70 premium
TSEdEd
Jul 13 2020, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(t3n @ Jul 13 2020, 03:59 PM) Just name the shop here. Gila top up 1.5k... I think 1.5k can get u a new DSp with amp already... I say don't want then they reduce to 1.3k..haha.. Then I say don't want again they say ok try another cheap one which is also awave. Didn't work. So revert stock Not really about the money really. Not happy with their attitude
TSEdEd
Dec 28 2022, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(Darkspreader @ Dec 28 2022, 03:03 PM) What shop is this? Come name & shame it here so we know what shop to avoid. ML Automart puchong
TSEdEd
Dec 28 2022, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Darkspreader @ Dec 28 2022, 04:59 PM) Thanks, but if u ever want to visit a reliable car audio shop, go to Pete's car audio in Subang USJ 3A. Highly recommended If u not happy with the car audio he offer full refund sure. i sold off the mentioned car in this tered. maybe i will visit when i get another car