XiaoMi AX3600 AX1800 AX5 Vlan tagging

SUSnonamer
post Jul 15 2020, 10:02 AM

224 posts

from reading at acwifi.net, seems that current wifi 6 routers not support mu-mimo in wifi 6 mode, so unless u plan to use it just for wifi 5, running a 4x4 in wifi 6 would be just waste of electricity
SUSnonamer
post Jul 15 2020, 02:42 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(heidarren @ Jul 15 2020, 10:35 AM)
"waste of electricity"...... a bit too much to say like this bro, 4x4 not just meant for MU-MIMO, but also coverage. MU-MIMO is always tricky part to test, unless u use some device like SmallNetBuilder do to test, or else u can't really tell it's AP problem or client problem, especially when u only tested by using some models of phone. Btw, with OFDMA, MU-MIMO isn't as important as wifi 5 era anymore.
i saw it has many antenna and assumed it is 4x4, but just relook and found it is actually "2x2@160mhz / 4x4@80mhz", so it actually same 2x2 as huawei and tplink (maybe it is the so called 80+80 while others are true 160mhz...need research), all priced around rm300, so the advantage of this xiaomi besides maybe performance is mesh capability and modable firmware

This post has been edited by nonamer: Jul 15 2020, 02:48 PM
SUSnonamer
post Jul 15 2020, 04:50 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(heidarren @ Jul 15 2020, 04:19 PM)
It’s Qualcomm special technology, to have 2x2 160MHz and 4x4 80MHz running simultaneously, normally if u have 2x2 160MHz client in the network will make ur 4x4 80MHz client stays in 2x2 80MHz, but Qualcomm make it possible to run both at the same time, u may do some research of it.
no...it is similar to the issue in redmi ac2100, capable of 160mhz in wifi 5, but comes at the expense of turning it from 4x4 to 2x2 mode, achieved by combining two 80mhz channels, u can search to find out more about this

SUSnonamer
post Jul 18 2020, 06:21 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(NooBiE888 @ Jul 18 2020, 03:41 PM)
I am really interested to get this router since there is a way to use it on UNIFI.

But the issue mentioned has made me stumped.

I have a Asus PCE AC68 wifi adapter which is 3x3.

If pair with this router, will I still get the 3x3 link speed of 1.3Gbps?
should be no problem if u set the channel width to only 80mhz and not 160mhz

SUSnonamer
post Aug 3 2020, 02:42 PM

224 posts

i wonder does the 2.4g capability of ax5/ax1800/ax3600 (2x2 and 1ghz+ processor and FEM) enable the auto selection of 4k resolution in youtube in android boxes?

my previous router which is '2x2 1.0ghz' not able to autoload 4k, now change to '3x3 1.2ghz' only can, wondering is it because of the faster wireless chip or processor or both?

because if buying these latest routers and not able to autoload 4k is losing a feature

This post has been edited by nonamer: Aug 3 2020, 06:12 PM
SUSnonamer
post Aug 4 2020, 06:07 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(KyEap @ Aug 4 2020, 02:22 PM)
Video quality assignment is based on your wan bandwidth and wireless connection.

Assuming your WAN bandwidth is not an issue.. 5GHz wireless connection in house definitely would get you to 4k selection.
the android box wifi chip is rtl8189es (1x1, 2.4ghz, 802.11n), not support 5ghz, not even 802.11a

i think is because of increased throughput from faster processor and from 2x2 to 3x3 configuration

according to following article, even though client antenna remain same, going from 2x2 to 3x3 can increase performance by 10-30%

https://pakedge.wordpress.com/2015/11/17/2x...matterfind-out/

but the question is, is the 2.4ghz 2x2 router able to? (autoselect 4k youtube in android box)

or maybe with closer distance it is possible? have not tried that

bandwidth not issue as 4k only need like 30mbps my internet is 100mbps

This post has been edited by nonamer: Aug 4 2020, 06:32 PM
SUSnonamer
post Aug 12 2020, 09:50 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Aug 11 2020, 06:15 PM)
Tried connecting ExpressVPN using L2TP protocol and surprisingly it worked. LA3 didn't work but NY2 worked. Maybe you can try it out.
if it is able to continuously reconnect dropped connection it is improvement over original openwrt's l2tp client which couldnt so the only practical choice is to use openvpn
SUSnonamer
post Aug 25 2020, 10:46 AM

224 posts

this router even though the NPU seems attractive but it still cant really replace a single board computer as main router because it doesnt have storage space to be able to run a torrent capable router that complement 100mbps line allowing downloads to run nonstop / overnight / during work hours

This post has been edited by nonamer: Aug 25 2020, 05:43 PM
SUSnonamer
post Sep 15 2020, 08:33 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 15 2020, 04:20 PM)
Sifu, what is the advantage of Xiaomi AX1800/Redmi AX5 compared to local TP-Link AX20? Other than price. Thanks.
xiaomi's qos will actually work compare to tplink's qos which probably doesnt work and just for show

but ax20 have faster processor which can be better for gaming

ax20 have alexa which turn your router into another surveillance node for cia

SUSnonamer
post Sep 15 2020, 08:58 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 15 2020, 08:39 PM)
How about signal strength? I am trying to convince myself to save rm50 to get something from oversea without warranty compared to local unit that more expensive but with 3 years warranty.
no idea about ax20 but ax1800 signal strength is quite good as far as i can see...acwifi.net point D measurement 65 mark for 5g and 40 mark for 2.4g...5g range slightly better than mine (70 mark for 5g) which already cover whole double storey bungalow...so i know ax1800 will be enough for most normal size home

https://www.acwifi.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/D.jpg

SUSnonamer
post Feb 17 2021, 11:31 AM

224 posts

ax6000 with 1ghz processor is not really attractive for home user is more meant for business enterprise networking to connect to 2.5gbe backbone
SUSnonamer
post Feb 17 2021, 01:25 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Feb 17 2021, 12:43 PM)
Reviews said that it is enough for most user. And It use 14nm processor,so the performance is still winning 90% of consumer router.
(But of course mi wifi rom still need improvement for more stable and higher performance power)
The only shortcoming is switch bandwidth only max at 1gbps but for most users 1gbps is enough.
enough for most ordinary user but for the same money home user will choose xdr6030 with 1.8ghz and 4x4 2.4g all rounded router
SUSnonamer
post Feb 22 2021, 09:38 PM

224 posts

processor speed other than determine the response speed is the most important thing to determine how the 3d game graphics will look

that is why archer c1200 despite the strong signal is still not good enough for 3d gaming

tp deco with 700mhz processor (even quad core is useless because code runs on single thread) is also a kind of joke with slow processor but strong wireless chipset still many jokers paying hundreds for it

ax6000 is at least better than deco but compare with the choices available for that price in china only clueless people will go for it for home usage
SUSnonamer
post Feb 24 2021, 10:37 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Feb 23 2021, 04:45 AM)
router cpu and even npu speed is for high speed connection processing, multiple user usage and high usage single or multiple user, and QoS and router VPN processing, etc. gaming use very little bandwidth, gaming is more latency than bandwidth based, unless updating games. higher speed router cpu/npu doesn't really improve gaming latency unless that router has heavy usage, or change isp provider that provide better 1st hop and destination latency.

some router provide cpu usage, user can check it out during their multiple application usage.

multiple cpu core fast or slow would higher latency alittle bit around 1ms or few ms, same for desktop cpu, but higher speed single core cpu has limitation due to temperature, etc, multiple core is the way of the future.

modern cpu would downclock cpu speed during low usage, that would also higher latency alittle bit.
just to clarify

last time i use a 1.6ghz x86 softrouter with C1200 as AP, now i use a 1.2ghz single board computer softrouter, the visual quality in CSGO remain the same in both, so the visual quality depend on the AP speed than router speed

i have since changed to tenda-realtek ac1200 (1ghz) and now settle with tp1900 (1.2ghz) and each time the visual quality is noticeably improved in CSGO

my setup is one tenda ac23 as general purpose AP covering whole house placed at middle staircase, together with another adhoc (turn on when needed) AP dedicated for gaming placed at upper floor

0.0355sec    1.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:38 PM