Buying Advice Olympus e-510 is it a good buy

TShellfire8888
post Aug 5 2007, 02:14 AM, updated 19y ago

3,196 posts

Hi I plan to get my first dslr. Is olympus e510 a good buy?

where can i get the cheapest price?

thanks for the feedback.
calvin_gsc
post Aug 5 2007, 02:18 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 5 2007, 02:14 AM)
Hi I plan to get my first dslr. Is olympus e510 a good buy?

where can i  get the cheapest price?

thanks for the feedback.
I think it's a fine camera. What made you go for this cam?

And not canon/nikon/sony ?
cjtune
post Aug 5 2007, 02:28 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

I love this bugger. Only the occasional funny faint stripes in ISO 1600 bugs me (and also the "ISO 1600" is actually ISO1250... sad.gif).
Image quality has significantly improved over all previous Olympus models. Its noise looks very much like film grain - very pleasing to the eye.

For the price you pay it's a good camera to have. Kit lenses are optically better than previous kit lenses (and some say even over other manufacturers' kit lenses... but this is controversial).

If you're into macro or like to take photos at odd angles or above eye-level, the Liveview will come very useful.

In-body IS gives up to 2 (or even 3) stops of extra usable shutter speed to your 4/3rds mount lenses (even non-Olympus ones). Sadly IS doesn't support the old legacy manual-focus-only lenses (unlike the Pentax K10D which does).

However, Olympus gear is relatively uncommon compared to Canon, Nikon, and so trying to get 2nd hand gear or to sell off your gear will be more difficult. Third-party lens and accessories are also rare for Olympus mount.

For more in-depth info, try reading DPReview's review on the E-410, then imagine having Image Stabilisation on it.

yaliqiu
post Aug 5 2007, 03:47 AM

15 posts

i tried the E-510 yesterday at pc fair... hmm... the feeling not good as canon/nikon (may b the size n weight)... n i noticed tat the AF/MF is set in the body not the lens itself.. a bit weird lo... tat's my opinion only no offence.. smile.gif but the price really cheap RM3799 with twins lens + 2G.. if u buy DSLR i think better go try out all the brand 1st only decision which 1 u prefer..

This post has been edited by yaliqiu: Aug 5 2007, 03:48 AM
TShellfire8888
post Aug 5 2007, 08:30 AM

3,196 posts

I choose this model because it according to dpreview it has the features below which interest me:-

1. better quality kit lens.twin kit lens cover both wide angel and tele
2. liveview
3. build in IS
4. dust removal mechanism(not sure wat tehyc al this)
5. now the price is only rm3400 for twin kit lens.

but whenever i goto shop they just say buy canon and nikon la wihtout telling me pro n cons...emm most probably they will just tell me canon quality much more better and got more accessories..thats all..

hope the sifu here will teach me. smile.gif

Added on August 5, 2007, 7:20 pmhehe just went to sg wang and bought one e510.

total cost rm4000

1. e510 and twin kit lens
2. 2 hoya 58mm filter
3. 1 bag
4. tripod
5. screen protector
6. 1 extra bl-1 battery
7. 2gb memory card

This post has been edited by hellfire8888: Aug 5 2007, 07:20 PM
cjtune
post Aug 5 2007, 10:31 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(yaliqiu @ Aug 5 2007, 03:47 AM)
i tried the E-510 yesterday at pc fair... hmm... the feeling not good as canon/nikon (may b the size n weight)... n i noticed tat the AF/MF is set in the body not the lens itself.. a bit weird lo... tat's my opinion only no offence..  smile.gif  but the price really cheap RM3799 with twins lens + 2G.. if u buy DSLR i think better go try out all the brand 1st only decision which 1 u prefer..
Hmm, normally most reviews I've come across seem to favour the E-510's ergonomics over the D40, 350D, 400D... but maybe because the mat salleh reviewers' hands are bigger than asian hands. So good to try out the various models on-the-spot.

Changing AF to MF to CF (servo continuous focus) is really easy on the E-510. There is one dedicated button for it. Just press that and turn your dial. You choice will be displayed inside your optical viewfinder window. Same with White Balance, Metering, and ISO.

Some bugger here managed to get a price of RM3100 for a twin lens kit for the E-510!! Not sure true or not.

TShellfire8888
post Aug 5 2007, 11:33 PM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Aug 5 2007, 11:31 PM)
Hmm, normally most reviews I've come across seem to favour the E-510's ergonomics over the D40, 350D, 400D... but maybe because the mat salleh reviewers' hands are bigger than asian hands. So good to try out the various models on-the-spot.

Changing AF to MF to CF (servo continuous focus) is really easy on the E-510. There is one dedicated button for it. Just press that and turn your dial. You choice will be displayed inside your optical viewfinder window. Same with White Balance, Metering, and ISO.

Some bugger here managed to get a price of RM3100 for a twin lens kit for the E-510!! Not sure true or not.
yeah possible to get at rm3100 but + other stuff will make it close to 4k

it is damn easy to use.especially for noob like me
piscesguy
post Aug 6 2007, 08:48 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

I saw this model at pc fair. selling for 3799. body + 2 lens + Olympus carrying case (metal) + lots of ascessories.

Very impressive features.
TShellfire8888
post Aug 6 2007, 08:38 PM

3,196 posts

metal case? for mine i got get a nikon bag which look very nice...heheh...olympus slr in a nikon bag...smile.gif
low6860
post Aug 18 2007, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 5 2007, 08:30 AM)
I choose this model because it according to dpreview it has the features below which interest me:-

1. better quality kit lens.twin kit lens cover both wide angel and tele
2. liveview
3. build in IS
4. dust removal mechanism(not sure wat tehyc al this)
5. now the price is only rm3400 for twin kit lens.

but whenever i goto shop they just say buy canon and nikon la wihtout telling me pro n cons...emm most probably they will just tell me canon quality much more better and got more accessories..thats all..

hope the sifu here will teach me. smile.gif

Added on August 5, 2007, 7:20 pmhehe just went to sg wang and bought one e510.

total cost rm4000

1. e510 and twin kit lens
2. 2 hoya 58mm filter
3. 1 bag
4. tripod
5. screen protector
6. 1 extra bl-1 battery
7. 2gb memory card
hai ! can you give me the name of the shop,is it the cheapest price you can get.i want to buy a camera next week.by now my choices is e510.
TShellfire8888
post Aug 20 2007, 03:46 PM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(low6860 @ Aug 18 2007, 02:45 PM)
hai ! can you give me the name of the shop,is it the cheapest price you can get.i want to buy a camera next week.by now my choices is e510.
i bought it in Bo eing Sg Wang. Make sure you buy the extra battery.. smile.gif

cjtune
post Aug 20 2007, 05:12 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 6 2007, 08:48 AM)
I saw this model at pc fair. selling for 3799. body + 2 lens + Olympus carrying case (metal) + lots of ascessories.

Very impressive features.
Hope one of the free accessories is a free original battery...
The E-510 seems to eat less power than my old E-330 but even with the E-510, you'll need 2 batteries for a full day (say, whole morning, and whole afternoon) or shooting from my experience.

AbangCorp
post Nov 6 2007, 03:50 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Aug 20 2007, 05:12 PM)
Hope one of the free accessories is a free original battery...
The E-510 seems to eat less power than my old E-330 but even with the E-510, you'll need 2 batteries for a full day (say, whole morning, and whole afternoon) or shooting from my experience.
i heard the olympus system has the most effective dust removal system
not sure tho i dont have one

just some info
regards

soulfly
post Nov 6 2007, 09:30 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(AbangCorp @ Nov 6 2007, 03:50 AM)
i heard the olympus system has the most effective dust removal system
not sure tho i dont have one

just some info
regards
sony has dual dust removal system.... filter coating + ccd shake
AbangCorp
post Nov 6 2007, 11:04 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 6 2007, 09:30 AM)
sony has dual dust removal system.... filter coating + ccd shake
well, it is not about how many

its about how effective. i think effective is better than many with a little effect. you know, just like new nikons to have dust removal system, that seems to be just to have it there, not to be better
soulfly
post Nov 6 2007, 11:43 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

well, it is effective to me since i'm using it.
AbangCorp
post Nov 6 2007, 12:58 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 6 2007, 11:43 AM)
well, it is effective to me since i'm using it.
well, if that's the case, i hope nikon will have effective as nikon too
you know when they share many things in common, sensor, lcd screen, etc...

0.0158sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:01 AM