4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Work remotely, live in Malaysia?

TSeXTaTine
post Jul 8 2020, 09:51 PM, updated 6y ago

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

This Covid is possibly a great opportunity to earn USD or SGD and live in Malaysia. Lots of companies moving completely to remote working. If you score one in a similar time zone, essentially you may have the option to work from Malaysia and earn foreign currency. SG is probably the ideal once the borders open back up since you can just fly in whenever you need to be in SG and the rest of the time stay in MY. Earn SGD and live in MY? What's there not to like? Maybe I should apply for a job in Fujitsu since they going to allow full remote working.
soulz69
post Jul 8 2020, 09:52 PM

:: LoveHate ::
1,973 posts

ada karja kosong tak bang
wotvr
post Jul 8 2020, 09:53 PM

177 posts

SG outsource to MY, MY outsource to Bangladesh, Bangladesh outsource to Rohingya
waghyu
post Jul 8 2020, 09:57 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Jul 8 2020, 09:51 PM)
This Covid is possibly a great opportunity to earn USD or SGD and live in Malaysia. Lots of companies moving completely to remote working. If you score one in a similar time zone, essentially you may have the option to work from Malaysia and earn foreign currency. SG is probably the ideal once the borders open back up since you can just fly in whenever you need to be in SG and the rest of the time stay in MY. Earn SGD and live in MY? What's there not to like? Maybe I should apply for a job in Fujitsu since they going to allow full remote working.
Great idea. Pay also should revise based on location. They will do this eventually.
SUSCandy12
post Jul 8 2020, 09:57 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Jul 8 2020, 09:51 PM)
Yes bro, just like Youtube payouts even US$1-2k is big money in Malaysia.

Got friends in logistics handling for Malaysian operations work remotely from home with US based company.
Paid close to USD$2k but need to work early morning shifts follow US time.

Malaysian managers also don't earn this much.
tatmeng
post Jul 8 2020, 10:00 PM

191 posts

How about income tax? Pay Singapore or pay Malaysia?
damonlbs
post Jul 8 2020, 10:01 PM

487 posts

alot of mat salleh doing that
SUSCandy12
post Jul 8 2020, 10:02 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Jul 8 2020, 09:57 PM)
Great idea. Pay also should revise based on location. They will do this eventually.
Failures of globalization. The whole idea about globalization is that if you're an engineer wherever you work in the world, your salary must be the same. If you earn US$8k, salary in Malaysia must be at least RM24k/mth.

Sadly, this idea is exploited by globalists corporation who enslaved 3rd world countries and pay them peanuts but their prices everywhere in the world for their products is similar.

Starbucks costs US$3-5 a cup in USA, how much they sell in Malaysia for same cup of coffee? RM15 min?

Why salary is not matching but products and items must par with their US pricing or more because of export?
SUSDaylight2018
post Jul 8 2020, 10:04 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 8 2020, 10:02 PM)
Failures of globalization. The whole idea about globalization is that if you're an engineer wherever you work in the world, your salary must be the same. If you earn US$8k, salary in Malaysia must be at least RM24k/mth.

Sadly, this idea is exploited by globalists corporation who enslaved 3rd world countries and pay them peanuts but their prices everywhere in the world for their products is similar.

Starbucks costs US$3-5 a cup in USA, how much they sell in Malaysia for same cup of coffee? RM15 min?

Why salary is not matching but products and items must par with their US pricing or more because of export?
Capitalist kata jangan
SUSCandy12
post Jul 8 2020, 10:08 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(tatmeng @ Jul 8 2020, 10:00 PM)
The employer side must report to his own country for taxes. Still they pay Malaysian side cheaper salary but our locals find it worth the exchange value, because net pay still higher than local managers.

The whole idea about globalization is flawed. If you want to be considered a globalized citizen, your salary must be also on globalized scale, not RM2-3k as an engineer or manager in Malaysia.

Your salary must match that of Europe and USA counterparts even if you work in Africa, Asia or South America.

That should be the true meaning of "GLOBALIZATION".

TSeXTaTine
post Jul 8 2020, 10:08 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

SG since you earn in SG. Which is good, since SG has lower taxes.
SUSCandy12
post Jul 8 2020, 10:11 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Daylight2018 @ Jul 8 2020, 10:04 PM)
Capitalist kata jangan
When times were good, I believe only certain industries such as O&G and banking were paying globalized salary scale.

If Malaysians were smart enough to demand, we won't be getting such low salaries and our economy still moves.

If you dealt with China suppliers and dealers before, they all quote their prices in USD currency everywhere in the world. RMB only for local trading. That is what we meant as globzalization.
max_cavalera
post Jul 8 2020, 10:23 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Ts can fren fren with liamness

Earn in sgd but stay in malaysia
tatmeng
post Jul 8 2020, 10:38 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Jul 8 2020, 10:08 PM)
SG since you earn in SG. Which is good, since SG has lower taxes.
Wah Malaysia rugi then. Use the facility here but no pay tax
waghyu
post Jul 8 2020, 11:08 PM

3,389 posts

This is very true. Pre-Covid as example they pay you lump sum salary for working in Singapore after considering living cost tariff, hardship to get to SG, factor in their saving of no need to pay living in SG allowence. But now if you can be stationed in India or Malaysia, they will scale down the benefit as per living cost in Malaysia or local place. The overall idea of salary is to cover ones living expenses and plus some margin for other stuffs. Many demonstrated ability to work from home with near similar productivity without having need to travel or with slight reduction in productivity but yeah opportunity to save cost for employer and employee save cost on travelling and time.
SUSLiamness
post Jul 8 2020, 11:09 PM

445 posts

Salary derived from sg. So I pay tax in Singapore.
SUSLiamness
post Jul 8 2020, 11:15 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 8 2020, 10:08 PM)
The employer side must report to his own country for taxes. Still they pay Malaysian side cheaper salary but our locals find it worth the exchange value, because net pay still higher than local managers.

The whole idea about globalization is flawed. If you want to be considered a globalized citizen, your salary must be also on globalized scale, not RM2-3k as an engineer or manager in Malaysia.

Your salary must match that of Europe and USA counterparts even if you work in Africa, Asia or South America.

That should be the true meaning of "GLOBALIZATION".
Ah.. but u are conveniently forgetting that the cost of living in countries and places vary too. For instance, it is at least 1/4 cheaper to live in KL than it is to live in New York..

Likewise, it is cheaper to live in Vietnam than it is in Malaysia.

Cost of living impacts salary imo.
L.Torreira
post Jul 8 2020, 11:17 PM

76 posts

again supply and demand
SUSCandy12
post Jul 8 2020, 11:29 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jul 8 2020, 11:15 PM)
Ah.. but u are conveniently forgetting that the cost of living in countries and places vary too.  For instance, it is at least 1/4 cheaper to live in KL than it is to live in New York..

Likewise, it is cheaper to live in Vietnam than it is in Malaysia.

Cost of living impacts salary imo.
It only matters for the cheap wage earners locally who is constraint by borders and local laws.

The whole idea of GLOBALIZATION is rigged to favor the rich and their multinational corporations.
Being globalized means unrestrained markets, more cheaper labor sources and a bigger selling market.
At the end of the day, they still sell and market their products with the same price everywhere using the USD as a benchmark.

If not, the locals will get subpar quality items with cheaper and lesser ingredients.

Just compare our local Maggi mee packaging and the Korean ones. Our Maggi mee is just about half the size, with packaging cover that is thinner than paper, just poke and already punctured.

We are actually getting less while doing the same jobs as these overseas peers with same titles.They can afford to buy houses, cars and spend cheap vacations in Malaysia but Malaysians can't otherwise.

Think of it, we're being shortchanged and cheated.

If only we follow the way how China and Cambodia trades with the West using the USD as the bargaining price for their products sold overseas and salary payouts.

Costs of living in Malaysia is not cheap either unless you still look for cheap RM1 nasi "kueh" lemak and settle for less quality. You are still buying cars that matches prices of those western countries.
SUSCandy12
post Jul 8 2020, 11:34 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Jul 8 2020, 11:17 PM)
again supply and demand
Supply you say oh maybe our local grads aren't as deserving for the same equivalent job titles as other countries counterparts.We need to keep the locals satisfied with jobs to win their votes and hearts even if it means less?

If a sedan car costs USD$30k cash, can I get the same car at MYR30k if we earn dollar to dollar?
You can buy a landed home in US for somewhere $100k in the suburbs, can you do the same with MYR?

The only connection with supply is that ours is subpar and undeserving.Meaning it's an insult to Malaysian locals.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:24 PM