Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> How to verify this transaction ? Genuine or scam ?

ksl279
post Aug 4 2007, 06:25 AM, updated 19y ago

364 posts

Guys, need some advice here.

Now i got a buyer call it "A" (newbie with 0 posting) and claim it he was in overseas, and he is buying a Creative Mp3 from me. The payment were done, but the item need to ship to his gf, "B" in Selangor and she will send it to him. Everthing seems fine, untill he told me the fund was transfer from another girl, "C"... hmm.gif

This remind me the trick/scam some ppl use here.

So, how can i verify his claim ? although i didn't lose anything in his but i don't like to involve in any scamming matters.... biggrin.gif

advise pls.

arafat
post Aug 4 2007, 08:58 AM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

How can he told you the money was from another girl?
Call B and ask if she knew anything.
goldfries
post Aug 4 2007, 09:32 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

get the contact number of "C". call up "C" and verify that the transaction WAS done on behalf of A and that it was for whatever he was purchasing.
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 4 2007, 09:36 AM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 4 2007, 09:32 AM)
get the contact number of "C". call up "C" and verify that the transaction WAS done on behalf of A and that it was for whatever he was purchasing.
Yup...besides that.....

Make sure all that trouble is worthy for your item value...and when u're suspecting something, its better to find another buyer....
U have no solid reason to continue on unless that person is offering u the price more than what it worth, so u might not think twice why u should miss the extra money..
goldfries
post Aug 4 2007, 09:43 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh and another thing. when you ask - DON'T ask like "Did you bank in money for <THE ITEM>?"

either you ask a trick question like "Did you bank in money for <NOT THE ITEM>?" or even better "WHAT did you bank in the money for?". smile.gif
sunauto
post Aug 4 2007, 10:56 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Yeah, better clarify with 'C' asap because if it's a scam, it will land you in hot soup since the account involved is yours. I'm most uncomfortable when a transaction involves a few persons, like 'A' asking 'B' to bank in because for example, 'A' claims that he doesn't have a Maybank account so he asked 'B' to bank in for him (not a good excuse really since Maybank or any other banks have a cash deposit machine) or it could be more complicated like asking you to send to 'C'. Sometimes as a seller, I have to do double work to check whether 'B' is really aware that the transfer was made on behalf of 'A' but if I couldn't verify this, I'll rather stop the deal immediately to avoid unnecessary complications later on.
ksl279
post Aug 4 2007, 03:49 PM

364 posts

ok, thanks for many inout here..

now the concern is, how and where i shall get the "C" contact number to verify ? Maybe i can get the number given by "A" ? but how genuine is the number "A" give ? hard to justify leh...

in this case, am i the party need to be blame if this is a scam ? sad.gif
duo8668
post Aug 4 2007, 04:42 PM

327 posts

Any transaction date and time u have ?IMO,

A/C Scan the receipt,camera photo,if they no keep receipt then ask the girl C go bank and request a transaction slip printed from bank and verified by that bank and take a photo or scan to u.

If all they duno , just need the girl C contact , wat ever u ask her , u juz request bank slip from the bank. The bank can assist account holder in getting own account details as well as the amount go into whose account and so on. No matter she bank in by check or wat sure can get full details. If he said cant contact with C , thn " ASK HE WAIT TILL CAN CONTACT C"

So bear in mind , C is the important ppl. And u can go ur bank ask for a particular monthly bank record and thn compare with her bank slip.

0.0138sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:10 PM