SOS - 5.25" Floppy Disk Drive (Reader) Needed, Service provider / hardware needed

TSbryanwkteh83 P
post Jun 27 2020, 02:06 PM, updated 4y ago

Probation

Dear Sifus,

I'm currently helping a company to reconstruct 32 years of old company records.

Those data in the 80's are stored in 5.25" floppy disk.

Any where I can source for the hardware or service provider to retrieve the data?

SOS.

Thank you.
Satori 14118a
post Jun 27 2020, 02:21 PM

938 posts

Well past record retention period for any existing company.

precept66
post Jun 28 2020, 02:49 PM

1,054 posts

This will be a tough ask. If ever you can find a service provider, it will probably be very costly.
TSbryanwkteh83 P
post Jun 29 2020, 10:41 AM

Probation

It is tough indeed. Tq for the reply.

Why^Me
post Jun 29 2020, 10:44 AM

551 posts

too bad i throw away my super old pc last 2 year including 5.25" floppy drive.
fireballs
post Jun 29 2020, 10:51 AM

5,627 posts

can try get from recycle shop, computer shops from summit usj.
laksamana
post Jun 29 2020, 10:57 AM

1,278 posts

Not even sure how to connect those old floppy drives to a modern system, as the connectors are no longer the same. Does the BIOS / OS still recognize the 5.25" floppy?

There is also a high chance the 30 year old floppy disks will be damaged due to moisture, making them unreadable ....
lamode
post Jun 29 2020, 12:48 PM

anything could happen!
3,797 posts

QUOTE(bryanwkteh83 @ Jun 27 2020, 02:06 PM)
Dear Sifus,

I'm currently helping a company to reconstruct 32 years of old company records.

Those data in the 80's are stored in 5.25" floppy disk.

Any where I can source for the hardware or service provider to retrieve the data?

SOS.

Thank you.
try contact Iron Mountain.
MeToo
post Jun 29 2020, 12:52 PM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Jun 29 2020, 10:57 AM)
Not even sure how to connect those old floppy drives to a modern system, as the connectors are no longer the same. Does the BIOS / OS still recognize the 5.25" floppy?

There is also a high chance the 30 year old floppy disks will be damaged due to moisture, making them unreadable ....
I still have those drives, connector no issue got adapters.

Problem is the disc itself, fungus etc would have destroyed them long long loooong ago...

Even when 5.25 was being widely used, disc fail on regular basis..
WiiPS3_74
post Jun 29 2020, 04:11 PM

I simply just don't reply
653 posts

5.25 " old drives are pretty finicky, the company who needs the disk transferred to modern disks might try;
https://www.floppydisk.com/transfer
PJng
post Jun 29 2020, 04:23 PM

10,531 posts

even windows 10 does not support floppy disk now
weissPC
post Jun 29 2020, 04:29 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 29 2020, 12:52 PM)
I still have those drives, connector no issue got adapters.

Problem is the disc itself, fungus etc would have destroyed them long long loooong ago...

Even when 5.25 was being widely used, disc fail on regular basis..
Now this is a legit old timer....

TS's problems doesn't end with getting a 5.25" drive. It's endless amount of alcohol and also many more 5.25" drives, since fungus would most likely destroy both the read head and the floppy drive's magnetic materials, and still no guarantee of getting the data off the floppy disk.
greyshadow
post Jun 29 2020, 05:12 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,826 posts

sourcing for an old 5.25" drive isn't an issue, those old PCs are easy to find if you know where you are looking.

the main issue here is the medium, the 5.25" floppy disk, which are known to be very unreliable, but if it's stored properly, ie: air tight sealed container, there's a good chance you still can read from it, else you shouldn't waste your time.

also there's an issue of the original software that used to write those records on those floppies, if it's from the 80s, there's a good chance those are propriety software that you can't find it today, not even online, so you might end up with a file or data no one can read

TSbryanwkteh83 P
post Aug 8 2020, 11:21 AM

Probation

Thank you so much!
andrekua2
post Aug 8 2020, 01:21 PM

12,488 posts

I have doubt your 5.25" disks are readable at all. I have used 3.5" disks regularly till about 4-5 years ago because the disks failure rate are crazy high.

I have depleted almost 200 pieces of 3.5" over 5 years with an old-dated cnc machine. I eventually gave up and installed a usb floppy drive emulator.

0.0126sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 07:01 PM