[2020] iOS 14 Discussion Thread, we've rethought some of the core element

TSwestlife
post Sep 20 2020, 06:44 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Sep 20 2020, 06:08 PM)
3D Touch is gone.. kill by apple? Anyway to restore it back?
serious? then i dun want to upgrade my iphone x to ios 14 already.
TSwestlife
post Sep 20 2020, 07:13 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Sep 20 2020, 07:10 PM)
Just try to adapt lo... need press and hold to replace 3D touch.
IPhone X will become my secondary iPhone after I upgrade to iphone 12 pro max.

Would want to keep the function of 3D Touch as it is the only iPhone I have that has 3D Touch so far.

Just a bit regret for not upgrading to 13.7.1 before iOS 14 is out. Still on 13.6.1.

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 20 2020, 07:14 PM
TSwestlife
post Sep 23 2020, 12:06 PM

14,227 posts

no chance to downgrade back to iOS 13.7.1 anymore once upgraded to iOS 14.
TSwestlife
post Sep 23 2020, 03:18 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 23 2020, 02:53 PM)
Only got iOS 13.7 laugh.gif
yeah. mine is still on 13.6.1. did not manage to upgrade to ios 13.7 before i stop.
TSwestlife
post Sep 23 2020, 04:38 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 23 2020, 04:33 PM)
Guys. Does PiP works for u guys for embedded video in safari? It doesn't work for me. Can u try to play this embedded video and see if PiP works?

youtube stops it.

iOS 14 Picture in Picture No Longer Working With YouTube's Mobile Website in Safari [Without Premium]

https://www.macrumors.com/2020/09/18/pictur...youtube-safari/

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 23 2020, 04:39 PM
TSwestlife
post Sep 23 2020, 05:54 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 23 2020, 05:45 PM)
Article says embedded still can.

"YouTube videos embedded on third-party sites such as MacRumors.com appear to be able to play in Picture in Picture mode"
YouTube web version cannot.
TSwestlife
post Oct 10 2020, 01:51 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Oct 10 2020, 11:28 AM)
Guys, the YouTube app finally allows us to watch in 4k resolution (2160). My iPhone 11 liquid retina screen (sub HD) shows this option. Just thought of letting everyone know.
QUOTE(choosingname3 @ Oct 10 2020, 01:01 PM)
For what? Ur screen display not even 4k
QUOTE(sramesh @ Oct 10 2020, 01:28 PM)
True that...but there are efficiency gains due to non down scaling of content. Placebo effect the video looks more crispy in 2160 res. LOL.
The content will still look crispier the technically. Iphone OLED has over 1080p display so if u just play a 1080p technically not all the pixels are filled so it will be be doing scaling up to fill up the pixels. Becos of it is scaled up, it will still not as crisp as full resolution content.

If 4K content you have content that can fill the full pixels of the OLED display although not in 4K. But due to this it will look crispier too.
TSwestlife
post Feb 8 2021, 01:32 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 7 2021, 02:02 PM)
I'm running 14.4 on my 6S too, and it's all good so far as well. Pity this is the last OS version for 6S and SE 1st gen though.
considered very good already. iphone 6S has 6 iOS versions like iPhone 5s. iphone 6 only has 5 only. haha. tongue.gif
TSwestlife
post Feb 8 2021, 01:33 PM

14,227 posts

i did not dare to upgrade my iphone X to ios 14 yet. anyone has upgraded his and mind to share his experience?
TSwestlife
post Mar 9 2021, 07:38 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(Valerius @ Mar 9 2021, 03:33 AM)
iOS 14.4.1 is out to patch an urgent vulnerability.
updating now. tongue.gif

but my iOS has funny problem with the home app. i have my homepod mini setup using the home app before to recognise my voice etc.. i had completed fully the setup.

but every time i opened the home app, it prompted me to go thru the same old process again and again.
damn irritating. anyone has the same issue too?
TSwestlife
post Apr 27 2021, 07:37 AM

14,227 posts

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/ios-14-5-is-her...0&cid=643765933
TSwestlife
post Apr 27 2021, 08:41 AM

14,227 posts

TSwestlife
post Apr 29 2021, 08:31 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(sasuke8678 @ Apr 28 2021, 02:26 PM)
so far ok? any issue mou?
no issues at all. so far so good. haha.
TSwestlife
post May 8 2021, 09:19 PM

14,227 posts

anyone knows how do i find out the actual file size of a video file which is inside my camera roll?
TSwestlife
post May 8 2021, 09:32 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ May 8 2021, 09:25 PM)
I use Metapho app check photo and video info which includes file format, size, location and etc.

i see. thanks for the sharing. will try it out.

tried it, however it does not work well. it took forever for it to check the video file i have which is 31 mins++ in length. doh.gif

This post has been edited by westlife: May 8 2021, 10:42 PM
TSwestlife
post May 8 2021, 10:38 PM

14,227 posts

recently started to use HEIC format on my iphone for photo taking. compare to JPEG format, it is indeed much smaller in size (1.52MB vs 2.46MB) and compare side by side, can tell that HEIC format indeed looks better. but if using windows 10, it is really troublesome to view these files natively.
TSwestlife
post May 8 2021, 10:57 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 8 2021, 10:46 PM)
Using windows 10 on both my laptop and desktop, no issue viewing HEIF / HEVC format biggrin.gif
U paid usd0.99 for the HEIV file extension?

Ur 4K 60fps video taken with ur iPhone appears as what file extension in ur windows 10?
TSwestlife
post May 8 2021, 11:38 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 8 2021, 11:34 PM)
i got this but it still did not open the photos heic files.

i tried many apps, such as Photos or Windows Photo Viewer, both do not work.

What app in windows did you use to open it?
TSwestlife
post May 25 2021, 06:00 PM

14,227 posts

wah. after upgraded to the latest ios 14.6. now the folder names in windows while connected via usb changed to these.

TSwestlife
post May 28 2021, 10:10 AM

14,227 posts

Did you notice the change of the new Facebook app?

Previously when uploading photos, no matter what is the no, also no need to select anything prior to select the photo.

Now they add this multiple button, super irritating.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0319sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:27 PM